We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just passing through Chattanooga”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #40 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
key west, fl
Level Contributor
152 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Just passing through Chattanooga”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

We called ahead and booked for one night on our way through town. Asked for a non smoking room and since we were coming in late (about 9PM) and requested a room as far away from the other smoking rooms in the hotel. Reservations said they would try to accommodate me. I suggested that they take full payment over the phone to assure me a room as far away from the smoking section as possible. As luck would have it the room had been smoked in. I asked to change rooms as was told that she only had a couple rooms left and they were all smoking rooms. She said she'd bring up a spray and that it really helped. I hold her no that we would spray some Lysol and it wasn't too bad. I wrote management that spraying a room is not the same as thoroughly cleaning the room (cleaning the walls, curtains and most important the AC system) and have not heard back yet. Also, mentioned that the comforter were a winter comforter and much too heavy for a 90 degree night that it was at check in. We had to put the AC down to 68 and it was still too warm to sleep. I figured while I was writing a book I would mention everything...even the bad wax seal on the toilet.

The staff were all very nice but I'm not often in Chattanooga, though I love the city, I will just stay elsewhere next time. Again those darn smoky non smoking rooms. Some places just don't see it as a problem.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank collye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    122
    59
    19
    11
See reviews for
110
91
19
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this location for two nights with both the kids. Our room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was included and delicious! The location of the hotel, however, left a lot to be desired. It was on a one way street which made it difficult to get in and out easily. It is also a little ways from the city.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

The room was clean and well stocked with towels and tp. The employees were friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

I found this, like most Hampton Inns, to be very clean.
The employees were ok and seemed to know what to do but did not really make an impression.
I will stay here again due to the location.

Room Tip: Check out downtown tourist areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Clean updated standard hotel rooms, parents in laws king room wasn't quite what we expected it was just a hotel room with a king bed and no barfridge. While other Hamptons have a 1 bedroom apartment style with kitchenette for the same price. Glad we didn't pay the extra for just one night. Queen beds in standard hotel room felt more like a double a little squeeze for me and my 6"4' hubby although ours did have a barfridge. Great little snack vending room for those midnight cravings. Breakfast was great with a great variety of options. Location was annoying with many one way streets surrounding resulting in many trips around the block to get back to hotel. Its not too far out of the city but there isn't much around the hotel and would need to drive everywhere.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustralianAmerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel is awesome. You are a few minutes drive from downtown. The rooms are spacious and clean. There is an excellent breakfast. The pool is nice and clean. It is close to everything. The front staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DisneyGeekMarietta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croton on Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Got in early even though fully booked. Outstanding hotel in great location. Good value overall.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsnow5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ & Suites Chattanooga - Downtown
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites - Lookout Mountain
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Chattanooga-Rivergate
Days Inn Chattanooga-Rivergate
#18 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stadium Inn
Stadium Inn
#55 of 96 in Chattanooga
3.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
8.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#37 of 96 in Chattanooga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 2420 Williams St, Chattanooga, TN 37408 (Formerly Hotel Chattanooga - Downtown / Lookout Mountain)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Chattanooga - Downtown / Lookout Mountain Hotel Chattanooga
Downtown Chattanooga
Chattanooga Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing