We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not the usual standards for a hampton property”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #40 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“not the usual standards for a hampton property”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

This is obviously an older hotel but appears to have been maintained well. The location isnt that great but not bad either! It is located on a one way street but isnt hard to access and is a block from the interstate on ramp. (there is now a Hampton located in the heart of downtown so this hotel isnt actually the closest to downtown) It is cheaper than most of the downtown hotels, which I feel is a big plus. The lobby is warm and inviting. I found it sad that they had a funeral spray and a photo in the lobby where an employee had passed away... kind of difficult to explain to my child. The breakfast area is small but adequate for a hotel with 90 rooms. The hostess was friendly and helpful. My room was located on the ground floor. It was clean and decent sized. The first thing I do upon check in is go into a room and check for signs of bed bugs... no signs or evidence of the creepy pests!! The only issue I had was the refridgerater was small and not cold. I realize often housekeeping turns them down or off to defrost so I turned it up and figured it would cool down. It never did. The toilet stopped up easily. I had to get a plunger from desk while we were there (of course, this is probably a temporary problem once maintenance snakes it). The front desk staff was friendly enough and my stay was pleasant!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank byrdchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    123
    62
    19
    11
See reviews for
112
92
19
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bothell, WA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We were on a family vacation and needed a place to stay for one night in Chattanooga. When I called to make the reservation I was informed that this was a "Downtown" Hampton Inn. Well, don't believe that nonsense. We showed up very tired after a long day at the Brand New Downtown Hampton Inn, which was really nice. When trying to check in they said "Sorry, you're reservation is not here - you're at the wrong Hampton." and sent us to this place. It's not at all near the downtown section. Also, it's near impossible getting into the place because it is trapped between these awful industrial buildings and the freeways entrances and on a 1-Way street. There is nothing located nearby (no restaurants) and it's in a seedy area.

Rooms were typical layout, nothing special at all. Charged us $10 extra for a roll-away bed (we have 3 kids). Beds were not comfortable, either.

But the worst part was that it was very hot and stuffy inside (being August). So trying to get cooled down some, we kicked on the AC. It was late at night, so we had to get to sleep ... but the AC did not come close to cooling down the room. On top of that, the fan in the bathroom didn't run so when taking a shower you got a steamed up bathroom.

Breakfast was just ok. We've had much better at other Hampton Inns.

I informed the front desk that our stay wasn't that great, and I gave them the same details I wrote up here... no apology, generally a non-response. Oh well.

Overall it was a very negative experience and I am not going back to this place again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilyOfFive_98011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

My wife and I booked our room last minute as we were driving to Chattanooga. The check in was fast and easy even though we had booked less than 2 hours before. The rooms were clean and ordinary. This could have been any chain hotel anywhere. The breakfast bar was also ordinary.

The location is conveinent to downtown, but it is not walking distance. The hotel really has no food or shopping in walking distance.

Overall, we had a nice stay for the price.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mnobles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Georgia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

There looked to be some age on this hotel. Staff was ok, but not the usually up beat super friendly type you usually find with Hilton Chain. The location has easy access to I-75. Short drive to aquarium. They were having wireless issues doing our stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank staceyj1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabaster, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

My husband and I wanted to take our boys (7 yo and 23 mos) on a mini-vacation to Chattanooga without breaking the bank. The prices at this Hampton Inn allowed us to do that versus any 'downtown' hotel (within 2 miles of this hotel). I was hesitant due to previous reviews about the questionable area, but we felt safe the entire time. The entire staff was very nice and helpful throughout our visit. This A+ mom packed everything BUT the baby wipes and when I went to ask if they by chance had any at the front desk, the young man checked and they didn't, but he offered to go get me some! We just got some the next day after our trip to the Aquarium, but I've never had this gesture at another hotel. When they ran out of blueberry muffins on our last day there, the server got one out of the machine for our 7yo picky eater. The 7yo loved the pool EVERYday and my husband loved that it was salt water and not chlorine. Our room was on the first floor and it was large enough even with a crib. The bed was not the best for sleeping if you have a bad back, but we were happy overall.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowmom24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

This is the worst Hampton Inn I have stayed at. The air in the room didn't work so we changed rooms. The air in the second room didn't cool either. The hallways had a terrible order. The neighborhood is not the greatest. No place to eat that were close by.

Room Tip: Heres a tip. Don't stay here!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank largemouth0223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
248 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Stayed here for one night on a road trip. The hotel is just a 2 mile straight shot from downtown Chattanooga and half the price of the downtown hotels. The room was your standard Hampton Inn. I loved the typed out directions they provided to restaurants, points of interest, even Walmart. I found this a great perk. Some prior reviewers commented on the location not being great, but I had not concerns at all.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljohns27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ & Suites Chattanooga - Downtown
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites - Lookout Mountain
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Chattanooga-Rivergate
Days Inn Chattanooga-Rivergate
#18 of 96 in Chattanooga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stadium Inn
Stadium Inn
#55 of 96 in Chattanooga
3.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
8.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#34 of 96 in Chattanooga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 2420 Williams St, Chattanooga, TN 37408-2925 (Formerly Hotel Chattanooga - Downtown / Lookout Mountain)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Chattanooga - Downtown / Lookout Mountain Hotel Chattanooga
Downtown Chattanooga
Chattanooga Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing