We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Chattanooga Hotel”
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Inn
Ranked #45 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Reviewed January 1, 2011

This is an "average" Hampton Inn - good hotel, good price, and good rooms. The service is excellent. The staff has always been pleasent and helpful to me. I've stayed here on numerous occassions.

The lone drawback is location. If you want to go to a casual restaurant to have a steak and a beer, you will have to drive to downtown. If Cracker Barrel is more your speed, there is one nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elcid89tn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 324 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2010

This particular Hampton Inn is older and feels like it. The beds looked like the Hampton bed, but the room seemed very worn otherwise. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. I really like Hampton hotels for basic travel, but I probably would not seek out this location again. It really needs to be updated. The parking is not adequate or well lit. However, the price definitely reflects whatever this hotel is lacking and I cannot complain about that.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
Thank lusciouskiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

I have stayed at this Hampton before, and its conditions are slipping. The rooms are smelly and needing updating. The carpet needs to be replaced. I had a no smoking room, but you couldn't tell. Fortunately, my wife and I weren't in the room very much! We passed on the free breakfast because it wasn't worth eating. You've seen those kind of free breakfasts before- you know what I mean.
It was better than camping, but we paid a lot more than a campground price.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stlanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

We had to stay overnight at a hotel before arriving at our final destination. This hotel was on the way and looked like a good spot to rest. Upon arriving we had a hard time finding parking in their tiny lot. We found a parking spot in the back corner lot and were pulling in when we saw the SUV next to us with a broken window! It seems like someone had broken into their SUV. We pulled back and contacted the front desk to report the incident. Richie, the night shift worker helped us find a parking spot and addressed the incident to the police and owners right away. We then went up to our room which was fine for one night's stay. Wi-fi worked and the comforter on the bed was on the heavy side, the pillows were big and hard as well. Breakfast was ok, the usual waffle, cereal, eggs, coffee. The pool is located outside next to their parking lot. Maybe they should've just extended the parking lot and not put in a pool. No one was in there anyway. It's a fine place for just one night... no more than that.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

If you stay here, get a room on the 2nd floor. We stayed for 2 nights on the first floor and couldn't sleep because of very noisy upstairs travelers. The first night, we tried to call the front desk in the early morning, and the phone didn't work! They did come right away to replace it the next morning, as someone came right away when we checked in because the TV didn't work. Room was clean, that was very important to us.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PackerJoJo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

The best parts of my stay, Scott who checked me in was fast and efficient, very nice. They provide a lapboard to use with your laptop and free wi-fi, which worked good. Bed was good, linens good, couch in room was worn, carpet not real clean. My biggest beef is location was poor, seemed to be a lot of vagrants walking back and forth to liquor store across the street. I had my worst nights sleep worrying that my car would be broken into.
The breakfast was not great, cooked a waffle, egg omeletes were burnt on edges, sausage looked under-cooked. Do yourself a favor if your going to stay in this area, go to the Holiday Inn Express. I liked the area it was in much better. I have no interest in the other chain, other than it was newer looking and better area.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigHarleyDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

Ok...first and foremost we often stay at Hampton Inns and have come to expect certain standards within this chain. We went on an overnight trip and yes, I did read the reviews here but thought it would still be ok....its a Hampton Inn!

The hotel staff were very nice and what I have experienced at all Hampton Inns. It is in the older style but the rooms are located w/in...not exterior.

The room was smaller than average. The bedding was older style given that it is just a pad on the mattress (much like you would find at Best Westerns/Days Inn) with a newer comforter on top like what you would see in the newer Hamptons. The pillowcases were smaller than the pillows. The floor was dirty and my feet actually were dirty from walking on it. There were chips in the side of the sink in the bathroom and in general the room just had an "old" feel. The sheets looked older and had some staining. To top it all off there was something questionable on the comforter (hint---it comes from one's nose!) We stayed in room 129 this past Friday.

Breakfast was just "ok." Much less than what we usually see at Hamptons but edible.

I did not complain to management since they were very nice and I do't think it would have helped anyway. I'm sure the rest of the rooms are generally the same.

We would NOT stay here again but I do recommend going to Lookout Mountain and Rock City. We had a great time there!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmomof3Kentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#46 of 96 in Chattanooga
42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Royal Inn
Best Western Royal Inn
#34 of 96 in Chattanooga
561 reviews
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#38 of 96 in Chattanooga
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Arbour Inn & Suites
3.7 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ & Suites Chattanooga - Downtown
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chattanooga I-24 West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Address: 3641 Cummings Hwy, Chattanooga, TN 37419-2312 (Formerly Hampton Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#30 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range: $86 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from everywhere you want to be and everything you want see in Chattanooga and Lookout Mountain. We are at the bottom of beautiful Lookout Mountain with easy access to the interstate to get to all the parks, sports fields, downtown, and North or South on I-75 if you are traveling. We are just a few miles to Ruby Falls, Incline Railway, and Rock City. Enjoy the area without the worry of spending too much. Complimentary breakfast buffet, quiet outdoor pool, and close to a variety of restaurants some in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Chattanooga-w-i-24/Lookout Mountain Hotel Chattanooga
Hampton Inn Lookout Mountain
Chattanooga Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing