We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Inn
Ranked #42 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Floodwood, Minnesota
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Needed a place close off interstate Hwy 24 after 11 1/2 hrs.drive. Checked in to this hotel first time guests. Pleasantly surprised by neatness, cleanliness, how quiet it was and close to eating, shopping,yet accessible. Desk clerk gentleman very friendly and courteous. Room had very comfortable beds and top comforter. Flat screen LCD TV, wireless & WI-FI usage. Priced right. Good breakfast, variety of foods except no bananas which I eat every morning. Bathroom clean, plenty of towels, good lighting, hairdryer. Could have used a refrigerator and microwave. I wanted to get to the fitness center but the bed looked too inviting. And best of all, no smells. My husband's only complaint was the parking lot. He thought it was too sloping and spaces between cars too tight together.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moberglake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    120
    59
    29
    14
See reviews for
116
100
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Twin Cities
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

The room was clean and odor free. The bed was comfortable and the TV worked well. The bathroom was clean and the tub/shower drained well. The desk clerk was very friendly and recommended an excellent restaurant for dinner. We had a room at the front of the hotel, so there was a lot of road noise until around 11:00 pm so you might want to request a room in back.
Very convenient freeway access to I24.

Room Tip: Request a room in back to avoid road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Travelling back to Michigan. Ask Onstar to direct us to a place to stay. When we walked in, the hallway carpeting was smelly. But, the room was clean, sheets were clean, and the bed was very comfortable. Glad that we stopped.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DetroitTigerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Al
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

We usually stay at Marriott properties, but all the rooms in our price range were full. We booked 2 months ago to see our daughter row for the Crimson Tide at the Head of the Hooch regatta. The Hampton was full the night we were there,with crews and parents from all over.

Check in was great. The desk clerk was very nice and friendly, and I wish I remembered his name. The hotel is older, and it shows. The hotel is at a major exit off interstate 59, and it shows. And it smells. Our room was a standard Hampton king, with no fridge. The carpet was old, and on my side of the bed, it smelled like someone spilled a bottle of Febreze, a sickenly sweet smell to disguise smoke, I guess. I smelled hat too. There was a sweet yellow sticky note on the headboard, informing us that the linens and duvets had been changed and were clean. Wow.

The funky smells, and lumpy innerspring mattress, kept me tossing and turning all night. The shower had a grab bar that was too close to the shower head. Every time I turned around in the shower I hit my elbow. Breakfast was good. They had omelettes, sausage, Belgian waffles, fruit, hot chocolate, all good for a cold, early morning checkout and long day on the riverfront. We were very happy to be home on our Tempurpedic. Sorry, but we are spoiled, and most chain hotels in this class have them now. We will book earlier next time for Hooch weekend, and won't stay here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BamaRowersMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, VA
Level Contributor
113 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Yes the rooms are a little smaller and the property is not new, but everything was nice and clean, the breakfast was excellent, and the front desk staff and other employees were all helpful. There was tons of free food for breakfast, and since there was a regatta the weekend we were there (Nov. 1-4), lots of young people were taking advantage of it. We heard absolutely NO noise even though the hotel was full! I really even enjoyed the drive to the property, around a bend on the Tennessee River, even though the Chattanoogans drive like maniacs! This hotel is in the Tiftonia/Lookout Valley area, and one of our favorite nearby restaurants is the Cafe on the Corner, up on Lookout Mountain. Alas, my wife's vertigo precluded that drive, but we had a really nice meal at the Fireside Grille a couple of blocks away.

Room Tip: Try to get a room down at the end of one of the corridors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank giorgio11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this location on Oct 9th for one night. Disappointed in the overall appearance (old, dark, outdated) and VERY small king size room on the first floor. The small room had very dark, old carpet. The bathroom door was cut at an angle which made the little bathroom seem even smaller. Hardly enough room to close the door to sit on the toilet. Due to the small bathroom, the shower sprayed water onto the toilet, over the side of the shower curtain. Previous guest's bathroom garbage had NOT been emptied when we checked in to the room. As Diamond members/Hilton Honors, we did NOT receive complimentary waters or snacks upon check-in. Had to climb under the desk to find an outlet to plug in our laptop computer; slow internet also. The window view consisted on staring at the front bumper of someone's vehicle in the parking lot. Didn't take any photos, just wanted to check out quickly and leave the next morning. Just don't understand how Hilton/Hampton lets some properties get so outdated. Staying in another Hampton tonight in Alabama -- get location, water and snacks in the room when we arrived, clean bathroom, spacious room. Also, same price as the one in Chattanooga! We will NOT stay in the Lookout Mt Hampton Inn on future visits to Chattanooga.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbreezer53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel54946, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We really appreciate your feedback and are very sorry you were disappointed in the condition of your guest room and amenities. We will take your comments under consideration as we work to improve our guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

I stayed at the Hampton Inn while visiting Chattanooga on business because:

a) It was close to a meeting.
b) It was cheap.

In retropsect, Chattanooga is a fairly small city and every place is relatively close to every other place and for the lousy night sleep, it really wasn't worth the price. A few things to note:

1) This is an older hotel. The rooms are older and a lot of noise and comes through them.
2) The rooms are not dirty but they are not particularly clean either.
3) Wireless service is available but the connection is pretty weak.
4) Breakfast is your standard Hampton Inn breakfast fair.
5) I don't know what service there was beyond being checked in.

I heard a rumor after I stayed that Hilton was going to strip the place of its Hampton Inn brand because it failed to meet standards. If that is true, it isn't suprising - and hopefully the threat of it has prodded management to try a bit harder.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank GJK11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel54946, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We really appreciate your feedback and are very sorry you were disappointed in the condition of your guest room and amenities. We will take your comments under consideration as we work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will come visit us in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Inn
BEST WESTERN Royal Inn
#39 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#50 of 96 in Chattanooga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites - Lookout Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Chattanooga Lookout Mountain West
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chattanooga I-24 West
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chattanooga I-24/Lookout Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Property: Clarion Inn
Address: 3641 Cummings Hwy, Chattanooga, TN 37419-2312 (Formerly Hampton Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#30 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from everywhere you want to be and everything you want see in Chattanooga and Lookout Mountain. We are at the bottom of beautiful Lookout Mountain with easy access to the interstate to get to all the parks, sports fields, downtown, and North or South on I-75 if you are traveling. We are just a few miles to Ruby Falls, Incline Railway, and Rock City. Enjoy the area without the worry of spending too much. Complimentary breakfast buffet, quiet outdoor pool, and close to a variety of restaurants some in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Chattanooga-w-i-24/Lookout Mountain Hotel Chattanooga
Hampton Inn Lookout Mountain
Chattanooga Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing