We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Lookout" for this older Hampton!”
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Inn
Ranked #43 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"Lookout" for this older Hampton!”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this location on Oct 9th for one night. Disappointed in the overall appearance (old, dark, outdated) and VERY small king size room on the first floor. The small room had very dark, old carpet. The bathroom door was cut at an angle which made the little bathroom seem even smaller. Hardly enough room to close the door to sit on the toilet. Due to the small bathroom, the shower sprayed water onto the toilet, over the side of the shower curtain. Previous guest's bathroom garbage had NOT been emptied when we checked in to the room. As Diamond members/Hilton Honors, we did NOT receive complimentary waters or snacks upon check-in. Had to climb under the desk to find an outlet to plug in our laptop computer; slow internet also. The window view consisted on staring at the front bumper of someone's vehicle in the parking lot. Didn't take any photos, just wanted to check out quickly and leave the next morning. Just don't understand how Hilton/Hampton lets some properties get so outdated. Staying in another Hampton tonight in Alabama -- get location, water and snacks in the room when we arrived, clean bathroom, spacious room. Also, same price as the one in Chattanooga! We will NOT stay in the Lookout Mt Hampton Inn on future visits to Chattanooga.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbreezer53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel54946, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We really appreciate your feedback and are very sorry you were disappointed in the condition of your guest room and amenities. We will take your comments under consideration as we work to improve our guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    121
    64
    30
    15
See reviews for
120
104
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I stayed at the Hampton Inn while visiting Chattanooga on business because:

a) It was close to a meeting.
b) It was cheap.

In retropsect, Chattanooga is a fairly small city and every place is relatively close to every other place and for the lousy night sleep, it really wasn't worth the price. A few things to note:

1) This is an older hotel. The rooms are older and a lot of noise and comes through them.
2) The rooms are not dirty but they are not particularly clean either.
3) Wireless service is available but the connection is pretty weak.
4) Breakfast is your standard Hampton Inn breakfast fair.
5) I don't know what service there was beyond being checked in.

I heard a rumor after I stayed that Hilton was going to strip the place of its Hampton Inn brand because it failed to meet standards. If that is true, it isn't suprising - and hopefully the threat of it has prodded management to try a bit harder.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank GJK11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel54946, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We really appreciate your feedback and are very sorry you were disappointed in the condition of your guest room and amenities. We will take your comments under consideration as we work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will come visit us in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed on the first floor on a Saturday night, the room was very clean, quiet, comfortable and had a nice hot shower. The free hot breakfast offered many delicious choices including eggs, sausage, fresh cut fruit, fresh coffee, waffles, toast, bagels, assorted cereals, need I say more? For what we paid for the room I was expecting something a little less impressive. We were within minutes of Rock City, Incline Railway, Ruby Falls, and downtown Chattanooga. It is a very quiet and convenient location, less than a half mile from the interstate. This isn't the place to stay if you wish to be withing walking distance of shopping, restaurants and the urban scene, but I highly recommend it if you like to be within driving minutes of the local area attractions plus downtown, yet sleep somewhere a bit more rural and quiet.

Room Tip: Our room on the first floor in the left end of the building was very quiet and has a direct route to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel54946, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for commenting on our hotel. I appreciate your valued feedback of our accommodations and service. Thank you for your business and the opportunity to serve you. I hope we can serve you on future trips to our area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
129 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed one night recently. Our first room was small and dark, the window opened to the outside of the upper part of the lobby wall (hard to explain but little light came in). I noticed that there was not a mini-fridge which we need and I forgot to request when I made the reservation. I called the front desk and was quickly assigned to a much larger, brighter and better room almost right next to where were. The new room had Jacuzzi in the room (I never do understand why hot tubs sometimes show up in the living area of a hotel room) and the bed in a large alcove. All-in-all very nice and much larger. It did cost a few dollars more but well worth it.

By the way the bath and bedroom of the room were adjacent to the elevator but the noise was minimal and didn't disturb us at all.

A few minutes after we were in the new room, the front desk clerk came to the room and returned an item we has accidentally left in the first room. This is very attentive service.

As others have mentioned this is an older facility. It was clean in all places - the bath, bedroom, public areas, etc. but a bit frayed.

The breakfast was typical Hampton with some pre-made omelets, ham, and the regular items such as waffles, fruit, breads, etc. The two hostesses were very friendly and kept the food area and tables clean and organized.

We didn't go out to eat but I saw several chain restaurants in the area but none within walking distance.

This hotel is very convenient to I-24 and fairly priced, I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel54946, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for commenting on our hotel. I appreciate your valued feedback of our accommodations and service. Thank you for your business and the opportunity to serve you. I hope we can serve you on future trips to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This building is in need of a little updating, but very comfortable and clean. The staff was excellent and there were almost always free chocolate chip cookies in the lobby. Cracker Barrel is nearby and the complimentary breakfast in the lobby was good. This was a pretty typical Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel54946, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for commenting on our hotel. I appreciate your valued feedback of our accommodations and service. Thank you for your business and the opportunity to serve you. I hope we can serve you on future trips to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
115 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Overall this is a nice enough hotel...rooms are on the small side compared to other Hampton Inn's we have stayed in, especially the overall room size. Service is very professional and friendly. There aren't very many food eateries nearby - but they do have a Logan Roadhouse which is average at best... The room was clean and bed was comfortable so for a one night stay it wasn't too bad...

Room Tip: get a room with a couch/sofabed....it makes all the difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fltam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel54946, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for commenting on our hotel. I appreciate your valued feedback of our accommodations and service. Thank you for your business and the opportunity to serve you. I hope we can serve you on future trips to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
450 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stop over night at this location in the way to see Lookout Mountain. The room was clean and very nice. The location was great to go see Lookout Mountain and Rock City and then get back on x-way to Florida. Breakfast was also very nice. We Injoyed our stay...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rock61Rock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel54946, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for commenting on our hotel. I appreciate your valued feedback of our accommodations and service. Thank you for your business and the opportunity to serve you. I hope we can serve you on future trips to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Royal Inn
Best Western Royal Inn
#39 of 97 in Chattanooga
509 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites - Lookout Mountain
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#46 of 97 in Chattanooga
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Chattanooga Lookout Mountain West
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chattanooga I-24 West
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Chattanooga-Lookout Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Property: Clarion Inn
Address: 3641 Cummings Hwy, Chattanooga, TN 37419-2312 (Formerly Hampton Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#30 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from everywhere you want to be and everything you want see in Chattanooga and Lookout Mountain. We are at the bottom of beautiful Lookout Mountain with easy access to the interstate to get to all the parks, sports fields, downtown, and North or South on I-75 if you are traveling. We are just a few miles to Ruby Falls, Incline Railway, and Rock City. Enjoy the area without the worry of spending too much. Complimentary breakfast buffet, quiet outdoor pool, and close to a variety of restaurants some in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Chattanooga-w-i-24/Lookout Mountain Hotel Chattanooga
Hampton Inn Lookout Mountain
Chattanooga Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing