We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Can Tell It's Getting Better!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
Ranked #35 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Reviewed January 23, 2014

My wife and I are loyal Choice Hotel members. We look for a Choice Hotel whenever we travel. A few years ago, we stayed at this hotel and found it to be run down, not taken care of, and staff extremely rude. After that, we started staying elsewhere. Last week, we had to drive by this hotel and noticed a huge change to the outside of the hotel. It looked cleaner and better maintained than before. Since we had to stay in the area, we went it to see how everything else was. WE WERE SUPRISED!! A totally different hotel than before!! The girl at the desk was very friendly and allowed us to see a room. My wife and I walked in and you can tell that the room was fresh and clean!! Nothing like before. I am not sure if the hotel changed hands or changed managers, but whatever it is, keep up the good work!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thank you for your kind words!! We are under new management and our staff is working hard to better the hotel. It makes us feel good to see a prior guest come back and see what we have been able to improve and what we are continuing to work on. I hope that you will keep coming back to stay with us again in the future!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 210 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

Booked a last minute stay at this location for my son and me due to early morning errands that we needed to run in Chattanooga. I used 12,000 Choice Rewards points for this stay. Location is great...right beside I-75 and Lee Highway which was the reason for choosing this hotel.

I have to say that Comfort Inn and Suites is not the quality that they were 5 years ago. I'm not sure what has happened to this chain but it is very disappointing. My son and I arrived around 11pm and check in was quick and easy. We were first assigned to room 215, but I quickly requested a change after turning on the heater. When the heat kicked on the unit sounded like an electric saw running. I went to the front desk and was quickly reassigned to room 214. The heat unit in this room was much quieter! This room was the standard room with 2 queen beds, flat screen TV, small refrigerator, and microwave. There were 2 chairs and a table squeezed in between the bed and the far wall. There is definitely not enough space in this small room for all the furniture. One of the chairs had to be moved just to get to the heater. The beds were comfortable enough, but the pillows were cheap and lumpy. I actually went to my car and got a small travel pillow to place under one of the lumpy pillows so I could adjust the height of the lumps. I heard no noise in the halls or outside during the night. The furniture in this room is very worn.

At 7am the next morning, I got into the shower and had about 1 minute of hot water. I had to turn the water off from the shower head and kneel down in the tub to rinse the shampoo out of my hair to keep from freezing to death! The wind chill outside this particular morning was around 1 degree and a hot shower would have felt wonderful, but not at this location! I quickly dried off and dressed and then realized there was no hot water in the sink either. I called the front desk and reported the water problem, and the clerk's response was "Did you turn it off and turn it back on?" Seriously??? I'm 45 years old and should know if there's hot water in the shower and sink!

I can't report anything about the breakfast buffet as we did not eat breakfast here.

I would not recommend this location to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angi1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you for your response. Let me be the first to apologize for ALL the Inconveniences that you experienced. Please know that we are working hard to improve our hotel and make every guests experience a good one. Just so you know, I have refunded your points back to your account as well as added extra to compensate you for your dissatisfaction. I do hope that you will come back and see the changes that we are making and see that we are serious about Guest Satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

What a surprise this little hotel was!! From the outside it appeared rather small and maybe cramped, but inside it was very comfortable. The room was decorated so well - the bathroom was a great size with extra room. Parking was located to make entry into the hotel very safe and convenient. And the lobby with adjoining self-serve cafe, was cozy and comfortable. Hotel location is near shopping and lots of restaurants. And the price was right!! I would definitely recommend this particular Comfort Inn & Suites.

Room Tip: My room overlooked the parking lot, but there was no problem with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you for your comments! We are glad you enjoyed our hotel and hope to see you again on your next trip to Chattanooga!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Room smelled damp, was right off the lobby which was noisy, small room for a "Suite". definitely the worst Comfort Suite I ever stayed in. Look elsewhere. This should be a budget hotel or something else certainly does not live up to the Comfort Inn brand.

Room Tip: Look at other hotels in the area unless your a truck driver..no offense
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

I want to personally apologize for you not having a good stay at our hotel. My staff and I have been working hard to better our hotel and I'm truly sorry that you did not experience a good stay with us. I do hope that you will give us another chance to win you over on your next trip to the Chattanooga, TN area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Michael the general manager was delightful. He offered a warm welcome after a long day of travel. Michael's was willing to assist in any request made. When traveling on I 75 I always plan to stay at this establishment.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

It was MY PLEASURE!! I am so glad that you had a wonderful time at our hotel and look forward to having you come back and see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We were traveling through Chattanooga and needed somewhere clean, neat and safe for the night. This place was well priced for just this purpose. If I were staying ANY longer, I would not choose this location.

The staff did their job, but with no enthusiasm about it.... It appeared to be a chore to be there for each of them.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank KellieTU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Thank you KellieTU for your comment about your recent stay at our hotel. Please let me take a moment to apologize that my staff did not help to make your stay as good as it should have been. Fantastic Customer Service is essential for a good stay, and it saddens me that you did not receive this. Please let me know if you ever come back thru the Chattanooga area again. I would love to have the chance to demonstrate our true service that our guests should receive.

Thank you!
Michael Henderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stopped on our way to west Tennessee. This was our second time staying at this motel. It's location off I-75, exit #5 is very convenient for travelers, with plenty of gas stations, stores, and restaurants nearby. We have enjoyed staying there both times. The lobby is attractive, and homey. We were treated very well at check in, and found the room to be up to standards for what we consider to be a good motel chain. Parking is very convenient with entrances off both the first, and second floor.I have absolutely no complaints, and the price is very reasonable. They also accept motel book coupons, which can save you a considerable amount of money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful words! We appreciate you staying with our hotel and look forward to you staying with us in the future!

Michael Henderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Chattanooga
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chattanooga at Hamilton Place Mall
0.3 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#30 of 96 in Chattanooga
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#36 of 96 in Chattanooga
336 reviews
11.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites - Lookout Mountain
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga / Hamilton Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 2341 Shallowford Village Dr, Chattanooga, TN 37421-6785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range: $82 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel recently underwent an extensive renovation, with many attractive and practical improvements. We are located on Shallowford Village Drive just off I-75 exit 5. The Comfort Inn & Suites(R) in Chattanooga, TN is a 100% nonsmoking hotel just a short walk from Chattanooga's largest shopping venue, the Hamilton Place Mall. A refrigerator and microwave are standard in all the rooms. Additionally, each room holds a coffee maker, hair dryer, iron, and ironing board. Our large suites include an extra sitting area, a work desk, sofa sleepers. Also available are rooms with large whirlpool tubs. Large, flat screened television sets with expanded cable service as well as access to a wireless, high-speed Internet connection are available free of charge in every room and suite. Includes a Free Hot/Cold Breakfast Buffet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Hotel Chattanooga
Comfort Inn Chattanooga
Chattanooga Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing