We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient Location - Just not a Great Comfort Inn” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Comfort Inn & Suites
Ranked #37 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
304 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Convenient Location - Just not a Great Comfort Inn”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Traveling through Chattanooga, TN we stopped at the Shallowford Villiage Comfort Inn without reservation. The hotel is very convenient to I-75 and the attractions of Chattanooga. There were five or six franchise restaurants across the street within walking distance.

The hotel has been on site for several years and is ready for some renovation. The lobby furnishing looked like late '70 modern. The king bed in our room was ready for replacement and was not at the Comfort Inn normal high stardard. The bed spread had cigarette burns... in our non-smoking room and the floors were stained or just dirty. The bathroom had no order which was determined to be a dirty shower curtin.

The hotel was quiet but was just not up to what we have come to expect from a Comfort inn & Suites.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesD20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    51
    25
    31
    13
See reviews for
74
46
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had been to this local in 2007 and were not disappointed on our return, although in 5 years the hotel has aged significantly. Hotel staff however are very friendly (especially the breakfast ladies). Breakfast was great, fresh, fridge was stocked with lots of yogurt, eggs, etc, coffee available at all times, and the eggs and bacon were constantly being added to.
We didn't use the pool, but it was open in September. This location is next to the big mall, so it is ideal for easy dinners, as Charley's, Applebees, Pantera, are all across the road and you can walk there.There is also a liquor store at the lights - also very walkable. Only downside is that this is a very very busy area for traffic.

Room Tip: Nice rooms, quite large. Ours was overlooking the upper level at the back, and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathleenw920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmetto, Florida
Level Contributor
279 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

This unit is located right at an exit on I75. It is convenient to town and the local attractions like Lookout Mountain, Rock City, and Ruby Falls. Although our room was clean it needed some maintenance. The dresser was broken and drawers could not be used. The mattresses were extremely soft and were probably due for replacement. It was not a bad place to stay however it could use some work. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernando, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

I usually stay at Comfort suites when travelling. This will not go on my favorites list. King Suite was smaller than most. AC ran nosily all night. Unit would switch off for 30 seconds, come back on. Requested & got extra hand towels because the set in the room was worn & frayed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jerseytish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homosassa, Florida
Level Contributor
198 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

We had reservations for two nights at tthe Comfort Inn - we made the reservation in response to a the Chattanooga Visitor's Website which had a coupon for a reduced rate which the hotel did not honor. Said that it was good only for walk-ins. We agreed to stay and when we checked into our room on the second floor we entered the floor through an outside door that was unlocked and was fully accessible from the exposed and open parking garage - a garage that anyone could have walked up the ramp and entered this door. I asked the desk clerk at what time was the door locked and only accessible with a room card and was told that it was unlocked at all times. This to me posed a genuine secuity problem as anyone could enter the second floor at anytime of day or night. We checked out immediately and went to another hotel. I believe this is a major security problem.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank RippleManatee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizella
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a ball tournament, and it was ok. If it hadn't been for the promotion that Choice hotels was running at the time, I probably would have picked a better place to stay.

Positives first:
Beds were extremely comfortable
Good Location within walking distance of several restaurants
Close to the interstate so I really didn't have a lot of traffic to deal with
Rooms were clean decent at check in (we only used towel service after that)

Negatives:
Poor Security - back door to the hotel and pool area are not locked. The pool area faces the road so any "Joe Blow" can walk off the street into the pool area and into the hotel. We didn't need our key card for any door. This was a concern for me especially since my room was right by the pool.

Ice Machines didn't work

Front Desk staff wasn't particulary friendly. One staff person was outside smoking and I saw a customer just standing at the desk. When we approached her later about the ice machine, she maybe gave one word where it was and we told her it wasn't working, she seemed to care less.

Toilets are better suited for a preschool not a hotel room. Very low to the ground.

No laundry facilities - this might only be a big deal for me since I was there for a 4 day ball tournament and needed to wash uniforms. I ended up washing my daughter's uniforms and hung them by the pool to dry.

Again all I can say about this hotel, is OK! Unless Choicehotels is offering a promotion that you feel you can cash in on, then stay at one of the other hotels right near this one because it really isn't worth the money again unless you can cash in on a promotion.

Room Tip: Unless you are cashing on a promotion with choicehotels, stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Both the staff at check in and check out could have been more friendly. The pool was bigger than I expected and the hot tub was a nice bonus. The pool area felt a little stuffy but it was indoors. I didn't get a Suite but the regular room was pretty nice. The bedroom with 2 queen beds felt much bigger than a King size bedroom. The shower was bigger than expected which was nice. The 5th floor offered a decent view but there wasn't much shopping or eating nearby. Breakfast was the usual waffles/eggs/sausage, fruit/cereal/pastries. I would stay here again if it was just for a couple nights.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coco_bubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chattanooga at Hamilton Place Mall
0.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Chattanooga Near Hamilton Place
0.2 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#23 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#40 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Chattanooga-Airport/I-75
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chattanooga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites
Address: 2341 Shallowford Village Drive, Chattanooga, TN 37421
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel recently underwent an extensive renovation, with many attractive and practical improvements. We are located on Shallowford Village Drive just off I-75 exit 5. The Comfort Inn & Suites(R) in Chattanooga, TN is a 100% nonsmoking hotel just a short walk from Chattanooga's largest shopping venue, the Hamilton Place Mall. A refrigerator and microwave are standard in all the rooms. Additionally, each room holds a coffee maker, hair dryer, iron, and ironing board. Our large suites include an extra sitting area, a work desk, sofa sleepers. Also available are rooms with large whirlpool tubs. Large, flat screened television sets with expanded cable service as well as access to a wireless, high-speed Internet connection are available free of charge in every room and suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Chattanooga
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn Chattanooga
Chattanooga Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing