We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice suites and convenience to downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Ranked #32 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very nice suites and convenience to downtown”
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

I stumbled on this hotel by mistake and on a last minute decision after a long working day. I was pleasantly surprised by the value of this hotel. You got a full suite with a full kitchen and living room all beautifully decorated. The suite I stayed in was clean and spacious. I would have given a 5 star rating except for the fact that the bed is not a king bed and you have to pay for parking.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 52Overtherainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    72
    37
    15
    12
See reviews for
146
47
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

The location can't be beat- within a few blocks from lots of restaurants, the aquarium, IMAX, Children's Discovery Museum, and the riverfront! I originally booked the Marriott downtown, but the rate here dropped 3 days before our trip and it included hot breakfast and $2 cheaper parking. The room layout (studio) was wonderful and a great use of space. Small kitchen and living area, nice tv, and a restroom with separate sink area. The decor was stylish and the room very clean. The only negative was the very uncomfortable bed. The hot breakfast was very good- eggs, sausage, fruit, yogurt, bread selection, waffle maker, juices & coffee. The 2nd day they added biscuits and gravy. The staff were all extremely friendly, including the maid service. We were thrilled with our stay overall... and did I mention the location is excellent??!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Volgrltn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here with 2 young kids and our dog for Labor Day weekend. Pros: The location was ideal for touring around and taking a nap break in the middle of the day. You can walk to anything downtown from here and even over the pedestrian bridge to the north shore. The free electric shuttle is a block away. Access to the aquarium and riverfront was key. The hotel was clean when we arrived and there were no issues with our dog. Cons: The beds are hard as a rock. Made for a few nights of rough sleeping. The area to walk your dog is rather small around the hotel (as expected being downtown), but was kept nice. The biggest issue we had was the breakfast. It was an overwhelming experience because the dining area is so small it could not accommodate all the guests. It was tough for the staff to keep up with the demand for plates/silverware and food. The food made due and the kids were happy enough, but it felt like it could have been better organized.
Overall the staff was friendly and helpful. The location is good and it is a nice hotel, but I wish they would update the beds! I would probably stay elsewhere downtown next time.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAMPA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I had always paid for the birthday party for our grand daughter. Much to our delight she indicated she didn't want a birthday party but instead wanted to go to a hotel. My son and daughter-in-law selected Chattanooga as a destination and Labor Day Weekend as the time. I got online and looked for a hotel which would accommodate 4 adults and two young children. I settled on the Marriot Residence Inn Chattanooga with past experiences with Residence Inn's always being positive.
This Residence Inn was no exception. We were warmly greeted on arrival and that was the beginning of a great 3 night stay. The two bedroom suite was perfect as it allowed the adults to each have their own bedroom and the children shared a very comfortable sleeper sofa in the great room. Having a full kitchen in the room really worked well for snacks for the children as we ate most meals outside the hotel except for the breakfast. The lobby breakfast was superb with eggs, sausage, potatotes, cereal, fruit, yogurt, pastries, bagels, muffins, and a waffle maker (probably forgot something). All was fresh and continuously refreshed. Additionally there were coffee makers and a juice bar which was available 24 hours per day (this was difference as many hotels with juice machines run them only during breakfast hours). The indoor pool and hot tub were special treats after long days spent out sightseeing and at restaurants. Chattanooga itself had so many great things to do including but not limited to: Ruby Falls, the Rock Garden, the Duck Tour, the old rail road trains and one of the best aquariums I had ever visited.
The hotel was centrally located in the best part of Chattanooga with the Aquarium, the Duck tour and many restaurants within walking distance. Did I mention the tripple A minor league team's stadium was right behind the hotel less than a 100 yard walk. Each night we tried to be around to view the fireworks show following the ball game (Special days I am told but we hit it right and saw fireworks every night of our stay).
I really can not believe that any hotel could have better met our needs on this trip.

Room Tip: They are all good. If you want to see the fireworks ask for a room facing the ball field.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLS5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsburg, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My wife and I were looking for an extended stay hotel to accommodate us for 6 nights in Chattanooga, TN. We definitely picked the right place to stay. The staff went above and beyond to make sure our stay was comfortable and enjoyable. Every single staff member we had contact with was extremely polite and cordial. The hot breakfast bar was wonderful and the location was perfect. It was close (less than a 10 minute drive) to the hospital where we were making frequent visits. The Lookout's baseball park was right behind the hotel parking lot. The IMAX was a stone's throw away from the front entrance and the aquarium was pretty close as well. There were nice breweries and restaurants close by as well as a beautiful pedestrian bridge that took you to a really big carrousel for the kids. All in all, our stay couldn't have been any more perfect. This is the first time I had ever stayed at a Residence Inn and I was thoroughly impressed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Here is the Good
We took a spontanious trip to Knoxville and on our way home we decided to visit the Chattanooga Aquarium. After touring the aquarium we elected to get a hotel room and explore downtown. The Residence in is in a perfect location to expore downtown Chattanooga. (The Courtyard and Hampton Inn would have been very convenient selections as well...they are all within a block of eachother).
The Resience Inn is relatively new and clean. Due to lack of options, we ended up in a Studio Queen room with a fold out sofa, so we requested extra pillows and blankets thinking we would have to make a pallette on the floor for two of our kids. When we got to the room we were pleased to discover that it was very spacious. Two of our kids slept on the fold out sofa, my wife and I were in the Queen bed, one of our kids slept on the large seat cushion from the sofa and our youngest slept in the recliner which laid out almost flat. Everyone was very pleased! As in most properties like this the breakfast is included and the kids were elated to discover a variety of toppings for the waffles including chocolate chips and whipped cream.

Here is the "not so good":
1. Our room had been cleaned prior to our arrival and some very strong air freshener was used. After we left the next morning our bags even smelled like the "freshner" so we ended up having to wash everything. - Avoid Room #310. (We advised the front desk person who apologized, but did not offer any suggestions for resolution)
2. When we got to our room we realized there were no sheets for the pull out bed. There was a blanket and mattress pad in the closet but no sheets. We went down to the front desk and the girl at the desk indicated that they only provide those sheets upon requests.
3. We requested a roll away, but were advised the hotel does not provide roll aways.
4. The rooms have windows with "fake" balconies that clearly state open in case of emergency. Unfortunatly, in an effort to not smoke in thier rooms (thankfully), the fake balconies were spotted with people who must have had "smoking emergencies". This created a certain cigarette smell around the hotel.
5. Front desk staff simply "go through the motions" not sure if staff if burned out or simply overworked. Polite yes, but truly just "there".

We had a GREAT time in Chattanooga and we will CERTAINLY return. However, next time we will select the Marriott Couryard or the Hampton Inn (both on Chestnut Street as well)

Room Tip: Request a room that: Avoid room #310
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett-Christy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We wanted to be right downtown in Chattanooga - this suite hotel was in a great spot. We had a one bedroom suite - perfect for families or small groups, but would prefer it if the washroom could be accessed from the main room. Excellent front desk staff. Clean, great location - met out needs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenwaterloo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Chattanooga Downtown
Courtyard Chattanooga Downtown
#25 of 97 in Chattanooga
425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Address: 215 Chestnut St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-1014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanooga Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing