We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Ranked #33 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
159 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

It started when we walked into the room, turned on the TV and it didn’t work. It had huge stripes of green across and the channel numbers appeared to be programmed wrong. We called the desk and they said they would send someone. We waited about half an hour and had to leave to make an appointment. As we walked out the door we saw the maintenance person tutoring the front desk person on how to “fix these kinds of problems with the TV”.

When we returned 3 hours later the TV still wasn’t working. We called the desk again and there had been a shift change and both the maintenance person and the desk person on duty had left and no one knew anything about our problem. SO the new desk clerk got the assistant maintenance person to check out our TV and he too confirmed that the TV was totally hosed. We were tired and wanted to relax so I asked the maintenance person, could we just change rooms? It was Thanksgiving night and the hotel was empty so even though we had a lot of luggage we figured, no big deal, maybe we could make a close quick move. After much confusion (the front desk person was trying to call us on the bedroom phone and the ringer wasn’t working) the front desk person and the maintenance man finally connected on the radio and he went down to get us keys to another room. We waited for another half hour. They moved us to another floor on the other end of the building.

After repacking (we were staying three nights for a special occasion), loading everything on the cart, going back up the only elevator, dragging everything to the new room and unpacking again, we were finally in place for the night and ready to relax in our room, 5 hours into our special occasion vacation.

In the room they moved us to there was a problem in their TV setup. The TV in the bedroom is separated only by a thin wall from the TV in the living room so you can’t use the remote on both TVs because if you change the channel in the bedroom the channel changes in the living room, and vice versa. You can’t even change the volume without it affecting the TV in the other room. It’s funny but can be frustrating when there are two of you trying to watch different channels.

At this point we were still O.K. with the property overall. We were wary because of the confusion on the part of the staff for dealing with problems, but they were friendly and the location was as good as we had hoped and the room had a certain charm. The rooms are smaller than the pictures indicate but you have your own dishes, glass wine glasses, a cooktop, microwave, even popcorn for your enjoyment. We loved that. The room décor colors are very nice and the room is homey, not as cutting edge as their promotional pictures indicate, but cozy and … homey.

Unfortunately we found the bed to be uncomfortable. My husband and I kept tossing and turning and waking each other up, for three nights. We are used to sleeping in a king bed and this hotel only offers queens which I suspect was a big part of the problem. I was also disappointed in the balconies that I had seen in pictures of the hotel. We enjoy sharing a glass of wine on the balcony but the balcony windows in this hotel all say, “Only for emergency use”.

We had special plans for Friday and Saturday night. We were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary so we wanted something special. This property is a Marriott Reward Level 5 which is supposed to be a superior hotel. However, I think the level in this case the rating is based on location. The property is very convenient to the ballpark, aquarium and all things downtown but there are no river views from this property, all views are blocked by the Courtyard next door. I now believe Marriott has awarded a Level 5 to this property based mostly on its location. Outside of location, the property and its amenities is somewhere between a Level 3 and a Level 4 compared to other similar Marriott properties.

Saturday morning we got up and there was no hot water. The front desk told us that they were driving to Nashville for a ‘part’ and hoped to have hot water by that evening. We had plans for the day so my husband washed his hair in cold water and I did a sink bath, both of us looking and feeling our very best. That night they still didn’t have the hot water up before our planned special dinner.

After dinner we wanted to enjoy the hot tub but it too was down. Hot tubs should be able to generate their own heat so I called the front desk to inquire. He told me that they have been having trouble for many weeks getting the hot tub to work.

The hot water came back on for a few hours late Saturday night. My husband was tired and chose to wait until Sunday morning. Big mistake. Sunday morning, after another restless night, no hot water. We drove home from our special vacation, exhausted, stinky and unshaven.

We called Marriott.com to complain and they promised that the manager would call us to discuss our complaint. He emailed us instead, a very indifferent email. He didn’t give us a chance to discuss with him the problems that we had besides the hot water; it was like he just brushed us off. He said he would send us a certificate for one night at Residence Inn but made us feel like we were being petty and that the management of this property doesn’t care about its guests.

We love Marriott properties and have stayed in them all over the world. This property isn’t THAT bad but it’s not really a Class 5 hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LifesaBanquet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChattanoogaCourtyard, Manager at Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Lifesabanquet,

I would like to thank you for selecting our hotel during your recent travels to Chattanooga.

I appologize for the situations that occured during your stay that interfered with your time with us. Unfortunately, like in our homes some things arise that are out of our control. I assure you that the entire staff did everything in their power to try to correct the issue with the boiler as quickly as possible and with the least amount of stress to our guests.

I hope you have gotten the chance to redeem your complimentary night voucher & have had a relaxing visit to a residence Inn of your choice.

I again appologize, and would greatly appreciate if you and your family would give us another chance to prove that our hotel and staff strives for an excellent guest service experience.

If your travels bring you back to our beautiful city, please contact me directly so I can ensure all of your expectations are surpassed!


Nathan S.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    70
    37
    14
    12
See reviews for
142
47
1
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, TN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2012

My husband's high school reunion was the same weekend as the Three Sister's Bluegrass festival. Unfortunately, all the hotels downtown were booked solid. I kept checking anyway hoping for a group to cancel or something and Residence Inn was the only hotel with an available room for the night. We were so very pleased with our room. We had a 1 bedroom suite; large kitchen area, nice living area, and a separate bedroom. It was nice to feel like we were at a home instead of a hotel.

Because of the festival the parking area was full. The front desk clerk was very happy to hand me a ticket for free parking at a sister hotel across the street. He was very attentive and willing to help.

I look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChattaJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChattanoogaCourtyard, Manager at Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear ChattaJen,

I would like to thank you for selecting the Residence Inn during your travels to our beautiful city.

We are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We strive to ensure that every guest has a memorable stay while in our care. We all look forward to seeing you again!

Nathan S.
Operation Manager
Residence Inn & Courtyard by Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Play, South Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was my first trip to Chattanooga in almost two years and the hotel was exactly as I left it; except they removed all the clothes hangers. Still, it was clean, the staff was friendly as always, and you just can't beat the location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChattanoogaCourtyard, Manager at Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Tim R.,

We are all very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, and that you plan on coming back. The staff loves hearing great feedback like this, and we can't wait to see you again!

Thanks again,

Nathan S.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for a wedding in Chattanooga. We stayed one night in a queen studio. The room was very clean and large. Walking distance within several restaurants, the children's museum and the aquarium. Has an indoor pool which we didn't use because we forgot our bathing suits. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Greta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChattanoogaCourtyard, Manager at Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Sparksjr,

On behalf of the entire staff at the Residence Inn we would like to thank you for staying with us during your trip to Chattanooga

We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and can't wait to see you again.

We also love the location!

Nathan S.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
200 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just got back from a 2 night stay here. The staff was very curtious and helpful. Parking is reasonable and if their lot is full you get to use the garage across the street. Our room faced the garage and was on the top floor. The view was really the only thing that was bad about the room. It faced the garage and there was a very small balcony that wasnt good for much. Not a big deal for us, but just to make you aware.

The room was very clean and spacious. It was updated nicely and the bed was comfortable. If you are looking at a long stay, it seems like it would be a good choice. Breakfast was just OK, it was really crowded this weekend as there was a rowing regatta (sp?) going on. Again, not a deal breaker as we dont really expect much from free breakfasts.

The best part of this hotel in my opinion is the location. it is close to everything downtown. There really isnt anywhere you cant go within a half mile walk. Except for the guy running a blower in the parking garge Sunday at 8am, there isnt much traffice/city noise to worry about either.

We get a dicount through work, so the value was good compared to the other hotels downtown. A few others offer us a discount but they were full due to the rowing I assume. When we go back, this hotel will definately be on our short list again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparksjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Very nice hotel with friendly, helpful staff. The Operations Manager, Chris, went out of his way to help us (repaired the whirlpool timer so we could use it after a long day's travel in the car.) All other staff were also friendly, efficient, and helpful, making our three day stay enjoyable, creating a very welcoming atmosphere. The hotel's location is basically across the street from the free CARTA electric shuttle and a short walk to the Walnut Street Walking Bridge and the Aquarium and the IMAX and several of the City of Chattanooga Bike Share stations; this was a big plus. Our room included the breakfast which was exceptionally good, beyond what you would normally expect. Food at the evening meal time was provided free for all guests on Sunday, Monday, and Tuesday (which came as a surprise to us) and also exceptional in taste and variety. Gated parking provided at an additional charge.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BevnJer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChattanoogaCourtyard, Manager at Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Bevnjer,

I would like to thank you for selecting our hotel during your travels to our beautiful city.

We are all very pleased to hear that you had a memorable experience with us. We all strive for excellent guest service, and are appreciative that you took the time to tell us.

We can't wait to see you on your next trip!

Nathan S.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Within a 5 minute walk to the Aquarium, IMAX theatre, Pedestrian Bridge. Downtown is pet friendly. Rooms are remodeled exquisitely. Front desk staff is very helpful and readily available. The parking is behind the hotel off the main street. The entry door to the elevators at the back entrance is awkward. There should at least be a handicap button to press, especially for large luggage entry.
The 2-room suite is well worth it. Having a full size kitchen is handy to eat indoors. The fireplace heats up quickly!! Close to the baseball stadium too.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2-BornToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChattanoogaCourtyard, Manager at Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Born to travel,

Thank you for selecting our hotel during your travels to Chattanooga.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. The entire staff strives to provide great guest service, and it is greatly appreciated to hear that we hit the mark.

We are all looking forward to seeing you back real soon!

Nathan S.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Chattanooga Downtown
Courtyard Chattanooga Downtown
#26 of 97 in Chattanooga
417 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Address: 215 Chestnut St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-1014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chattanooga Downtown Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanooga Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing