We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware of this hotel. They will stick you in a smoking room.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Chattanooga
Ranked #10 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beware of this hotel. They will stick you in a smoking room.”
Reviewed November 10, 2009

We should have expected problems when we pulled up at the front door and found two overflowing trash cans.

We booked through Hotwire. Bad mistake. We were assigned a smoking room and told no other rooms were available and all the other hotels were full. A flight attendant put there for the night had the same problem.

Front-desk staff untrained and ill-equipped to handle problems. No resolution from Hotwire staff after 20 minutes of discussion. Are you reading this, Ryan?

"Is Hotwire satisfied that we have received nothing for our money, can't get a refund, that we will never use Hotwire again, and will tell our friends the same?"

"Yes, we are."

Finally, Reagan at the front desk lied to us about other rooms in the area. A nearby Hampton Inn was able to accommodate us and had plenty of rooms available.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eaaesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    295
    116
    45
    25
See reviews for
378
275
37
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
alabama
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2009

It was hard to find a place to stay for our vacation that allowed smoking. When we came across Wingate they had smoking rooms. We took it. I didn't know what to expect. The staff was very friendly.The room was cleaned daily with clean towels and sheets,which I expected the towels but not the sheets.Didn't realy expect the bed to be made every day,but it was.The breakfast bar was neet and kept clean,with a varity of food to chose from. If we go back to the area I would not hesatate to stay at Wingate again. It defently made my first visit to Chattanooga a more pleasureable trip.
The Carrs

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alabama039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2009

Stayed 2 nights at the end of June for a business trip. It is in a nice, safe area just off I-75 and close to several restaurants and a mall. Speedy check in and check out. I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the room and hotel overall- absolutely spotless. Breakfast was just ok- standard continental fare. My only complaint is that the internet was a little slow, however I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrspopeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2009

This is a very nice hotel. My husband & I stayed for three nights while in town for a wedding. Our room was very clean and spacious. The bed was very comfortable and had nice soft bedding. The breakfast was good and had a nice variety of items. All staff members were friendly and helpful during our stay.
The hotel has a convenient location near I-75 but without the traffic noise. It is also very close to a large shopping mall and other activies.
The business center was also nice, although not there on business, I did use it to research a few stops for our trip.
Overall this is a very nice hotel, and with wyndhams promotions, can be very affordable.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BTravel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2009

I have been staying at this motel for over 6 years on business trips to Chattanooga. I travel the state of Tennessee and some into Georgia and NC and of all the different chains and motels that I have stayed in (except for a couple of Luxury Hotels) the Wingate in Chattanooga is my favorite place to stay! After only my second stay, the desk clerk greeted me by name when I entered the door! The staff is great and the owners/managers are terriffic. Unlike other motels even others in the Wingate chain, I never have to wipe off the tables or bath counter when I arrive. They never leave polish residue all over the phone and tables like other motels. No left over food or trash hidding behind the furniture! The biggest problem I have ever had was a burned out light blub or TV remote that was on the blink, and those were fixed very quickly. The towels are nice and thick and the beds very comfortable. I do like the recently upgraded bed system. This motel would be perfect if I could just get them to change out the standard desks with an ergonomic computer desk, but the ones they have are no worse than what you find at all the other chains. Oh, and I also like the Neutrogena bath amenities.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TennesseeTraveler044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level Contributor
115 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2008

I chose this hotel mainly because of the good reviews on Tripadvisor and I didn’t regret it. Of course, primarily used to staying at bed & breakfasts, a chain hotel is always something different. This is slightly above average but not exceptional in any way for the room rate paid. Nevertheless, the room was spacious, clean, and comparable quiet. You cannot open the windows but the ac is not too noisy. Breakfast was o.k., the breakfast area is a bit “loveless” but this is not untypical for chain hotels so you would expect nothing different when staying here. The staff at the reception was friendly but not too helpful. The guy at the reception wasn’t able to locate places downtown on the map what you would expect in a local hotel with lots of tourists.

If you plan to choose this hotel as a tourist, you must be aware of the following fact: This is not in walking distance to Chattanooga downtown, it’s about a 10 miles drive. If you want to go to the waterfront, you can park your car at the parking garage of Chattanooga Choo Choo and they have a charge free shuttle that takes you to the waterfront. So no problem to us but again, you need to know it because you most likely would like to go downtown. The area of the hotel is not very nice, basically only streets, fast-food restaurants, business. Definitely no area to leave your hotel or to take a walk.

So even if I rate a bit against the current, I would classify this hotel as good choice and o.k., but no exceptional experience for the rate paid.

Please note: This is a review of our trip to the USA from 18.5.2008 until 9.6.2008.
This was accommodation # 2 of that trip
If you want to follow the trip, the hotel/bed&breakfast before this was Laurel Hill Bed and Breakfast, Atlanta (GA), the hotel/bed&breakfast after this was Braeside Inn, Sevierville (TN)

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank joeycoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, MI
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2008

A very nice, well located hotel, good breakfast, free Internet, friendly staff, etc. Near lots of shopping & restaurants. However, we are used to a "sleep-number" bed set at 90. They are proud of their new "pillow top" beds. For us, they are much too soft to sleep comfortably. We mentioned this to the front desk and they said that all of the beds had very recently been replaced at this property and all Windham hotels.

I just wish that I had known this so I could have stayed elsewhere. That's why I'm posting this review.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rcowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga/Hamilton Place
1.7 mi away
Best Western Heritage Inn
Best Western Heritage Inn
#20 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga / Hamilton Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Chattanooga/Hamilton Place
12.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Chattanooga West/Lookout Mountain
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chattanooga/Hamilton Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Chattanooga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Chattanooga

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Chattanooga
Address: 7312 Shallowford Rd, Chattanooga, TN 37421-2626
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#14 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wingate by Wyndham Chattanooga 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make the most of your trip to Tennessee at Wingate by Wyndham Chattanooga hotel. Conveniently located off Interstate 75 and just 15 minutes from Chattanooga Metropolitan Airport, our non-smoking hotel in Chattanooga, TN, offers thoughtful accommodations for both leisure and business travelers. Wake up to a free hot breakfast, and use free Wi-Fi Internet access to plan your day from the comfort of your hotel room. Our hotel near Ruby Falls features a full fitness center and hot tub. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Chattanooga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Chattanooga Hotel Chattanooga
Wingate Hotel Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing