We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smells musky” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chattanooga Choo Choo

Chattanooga Choo Choo
Book In Advance
More Info
$37.79*
and up
Bike Rentals in Chattanooga
Ranked #26 of 147 things to do in Chattanooga
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Large exhibit for train aficionados.
Ste. Genevieve, mo
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Smells musky”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We visited Choo Choo on a weekday morning. The old trains are nice, but its most;ly arcade shops. the lobby and the arcade area had a very strong moldy smell throughout.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    192
    144
    56
    38
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mich
Level Contributor
706 reviews
294 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“If in Chattanooga, you have to see it!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

What would a stop in Chattanooga be if you didn't go and see the Choo Choo. Thats why they have the song. It's in a nice area of down town, and you can walk around the train by your self.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Fastphilad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
105 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Figured we couldn't leave Chattanooga without checking out Chattanooga Choo Choo. However, I'm sorry to say it wasn't that interesting. The main lobby was impressive to imagine as a classic train station. And there were a few historical displays to look at, but would like to have seen more of that type of thing. It would have been nice if they had a few old train cars to actually tour rather than being hotel rooms. The area around the station is also pretty run down, although there does appear to be some attempt to spruce it up. Gave the appearance of being spruced up several years ago and then nothing happening. Can't comment on the hotel, the restaurant, or the model trains.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank RickT_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
129 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pardon me Boy! Is that the Chattanooga choo choo?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Wow- this was a cool stop in our Road Trip. We got out stretched our legs, used the restroom and made some pictures before we hit the road again. I have to say it's sad to see however that it's kind of run down and it could be a really magnificent place if the right person bought it. The Cafeteria they have in there reminded me of something out of a nursing home and the gift shop was pitiful - it was worse than a truck stop. I have SEEN better truck stops. But all in all if you take in the building and imagine people coming through there 100 years ago to catch a train and snap a few pics you won't be disappointed. Would really love to see someone fix it up to something snazzy! I would never stay in those cars however that they rent. I think it's an AMAZING idea but can't imagine how old the stuff is inside of them. They could really make some money if they sold this right.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Chellebysea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Interesting model railroad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

This is an interesting model railroad. There is something for everyone to see - from Buzz light year train for the little ones to Southern trains and churches, town square and factories to the older ones. Very well laid out.

Helpful?
Thank benjaminj1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chattanooga Choo Choo also viewed

 

Been to Chattanooga Choo Choo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing