We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The scenery is gorgeous” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lookout Mountain

Ranked #2 of 147 things to do in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The scenery is gorgeous”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

Loved the scenery in the neighborhood. The incline was a bit too steep for me. Wished we would have visited the town of st. elmo a little bit beyond the incline

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank picky10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,782 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,958
    653
    146
    14
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Go straight to the top”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

We drove past Ruby Falls and went to top of Lookout Mtn.
Ruby Falls was too much of a "tourist trap" for our liking.
The view as well as the private residential estates on top of Lookout Mtn our amazing.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank SMorte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

Didn't get to experience much up there but the Incline Railroad was cool. Wish I realized that we could get it from the bottom of the mountain before we drove up though :-)

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank JacksonzMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcy, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“"Great Views of the City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Took "The Incline" to the top of Lookout Mountain. Views of the City of Chattanooga were great! Many nice homes and the Battle of Chattanooga Museum makes Lookout Mountain a must see while visiting Chattanooga.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank SpyderP45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lula
Level Contributor
108 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Rock City and amazing views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Do not avoid coming here! I have lived 34 years and had never been to this part of Tennessee. How lame of me! We had a blast! Loved Rock City, Lookout Mountain and the Aquarium! Great family vacation!!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank EldaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lookout Mountain also viewed

 

Been to Lookout Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing