We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge freshwater aquarium”
Review of Tennessee Aquarium

Tennessee Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.59*
and up
Historic Downtown Chattanooga Segway Tour
More Info
$37.79*
and up
Bike Rentals in Chattanooga
Ranked #1 of 148 things to do in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: More than 9,000 animals swim, fly and crawl through this aquarium dedicated to educating visitors about freshwater ecosystems.
Meadowview, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Huge freshwater aquarium”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

You don't see a lot of freshwater aquariums, but this one is huge. The jelly fish exhibit is stunning. The freshwater takes a lot longer than the salt water, as you explore different levels of the same tank. Very well done.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,883
    1,199
    303
    30
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hickory, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It was wonderful! Especially because of the handicapped accessiblity!!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I like to take my handicapped friend on "Mystery Tours" and this time we went to Chattanooga, TN. The Aquarium was wonderful. We especially enjoyed the River display and how we could go at our own pace, take the elevator to the top and just roll down the ramps and see the displays at different levels.
Looking forward to going back with my grandchildren!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank NLSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TNAquarium, Social Media Specialist at Tennessee Aquarium, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We're so happy you enjoyed your experience and look forward to having you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unknown
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I love the aquarium. You get to visit two different buildings. One has salt water fish the other has fresh water fish.
Most of the shows were between 11- 2:15. So try to get there early. Also wear comfortable shoes there will be a lot of walking.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank unknown u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A triplets adventure with parents in tow”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Tennessee Aquarium is a great weekend getaway for that spur of the moment, get-outta-town with the kid’s activity, but it's also great for a planned out weekend trip. We live in Nashville, and we've done both, so here’s the in’s and out’s of what you can expect.

The aquarium itself is a great attraction with good interaction for the kids and parents alike. It includes a butterfly room, a “pet the stingray” tank, and other interactive exhibits. The Ocean and River exhibits boast an array of fish, birds, mammals, and reptiles that rival most any aquarium. This time around, we braved the IMAX Theater with the kids (6-year old triplets) and they’re still talking about the realism of the 3D experience. If you tour just the aquarium exhibits, plan on an hour or two for each, assuming you take it all in. If you include an IMAX movie into your visit, allow another hour for the movie.

I will premise this by saying we haven’t really gone for the food, but we have sampled, I can’t say much for the choices. There is the Aquarium Foods Catering food court on site that serves pizza, burgers, etc… not really recommended. The Cheeburger Cheeburger is within walking distance and the kids enjoyed that. There is also a Buffalo Wild Wings within walking distance, but that whole idea got ruined by the one in Nashville (another story for a different review) as well as a TGI Fridays. Check out the map (http://tinyurl.com/jwv6z95 ) and zoom in for a list of other restaurants close by and decide for yourself.

If you live close by, let's say within a two to three hour drive, it's worth your while to plan an over-night to make the most of your time in Chattanooga and take in the sights. If you look hard enough for deals, hotel accommodations can be found for a bargain (insert subliminal message to check out Embassy Suites Hamilton Place here). There’s plenty to see and do in Chattanooga such as the Inclined Railway that takes you to the top of Lookout Mountain, Ruby Falls, and Rock City which make this city and the Tennessee Aquarium a great family weekend.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank tross1N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A family favorite”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We love the Aquarium! It's so well done - beautifully built, the staff is knowledgeable and friendly. The critters are great fun - the penguins are our favorite, especially if you catch them during "nesting season" - better than a comedy television show. The butterfly room is a wonder - beautiful and zen like - could spend a good hour in there. Always something going on outside, too - concerts, art vendors. The kids love playing in the fountains.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TNAquarium, Social Media Specialist at Tennessee Aquarium, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks so much for the wonderful review! Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tennessee Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Tennessee Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing