We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bubble bubble.....”
Review of Tennessee Aquarium

Tennessee Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.59*
and up
Historic Downtown Chattanooga Segway Tour
More Info
$23.21*
and up
Chattanooga Double Decker Bus Tour
More Info
$37.79*
and up
Bike Rentals in Chattanooga
Ranked #1 of 148 things to do in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: More than 9,000 animals swim, fly and crawl through this aquarium dedicated to educating visitors about freshwater ecosystems.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
“Bubble bubble.....”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Well organized and easily navigated self tours. Little expensive but worth it. If buying tickets with cash, you must go inside the office. The kiosk outside only accept credit cards.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deborah0302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,868
    1,195
    302
    30
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great architecture, good exhibits”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This large aquarium has two separate building, each topped with a greenhouse. The buildings are well designed. Visitors start at the top and traffic moves down four floors with a smooth flow from exhibit to exhibit. We loved the butterfly room in the Ocean's building greenhouse.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Okiejer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanton, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Educational and Lots of Fun for the Kids--Very Busy During Spring Break”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great place to take the kids--very educational. Went during Spring Break and it was extremely crowded, so my husband and I just sort of stood back while our daughter explored everything. She doesn't mind crowds, so she enjoyed each aspect of the aquarium very much. This attraction is downtown, so keep in mind you have to pay to park in a parking deck and do a lot of walking. I definitely recommend purchasing your tickets before you get there. The lines for tickets were backed up nearly a block when we arrived. We purchased our tickets ahead of time at Rock City and even got a small discount for purchasing a combo.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MB76_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“very nice aquarium, lots to see”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've been to several other aquariums, so it is hard to impress me. This one is very nice, with lots to see, and things for kids to do. It was a little crowded in some areas, and perhaps they should change the flow or admittance policies, as it wasn't a very busy day there.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank kickie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmill1001
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Other than maybe Sea World, this is by far the BEST museum I have ever had the pleasure of visiting. I highly recommend everyone takes the time to make the trip to Chattanooga to visit this jewel.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank tmill1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tennessee Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Tennessee Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing