We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding attraction”
Review of Tennessee Aquarium

Tennessee Aquarium
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$37.79*
and up
Bike Rentals in Chattanooga
Ranked #1 of 148 things to do in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: More than 9,000 animals swim, fly and crawl through this aquarium dedicated to educating visitors about freshwater ecosystems.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding attraction”
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised by the outstanding quality of the exhibits. The are 2 separate buildings. One focuses on Rivers; the second features Oceans. The organization of both buildings is very well paced. Visitors start at the top and work their way down to the bottom. There is much information, but visitors are able to go at their own pace and spend as much or as little time as they choose. There is much variety in the exhibits and we found ourselves repeatedly absorbed. Volunteers are stationed at various places to supervise Hands On experiences with various fish and to provide information and answer questions.
It was actually very enjoyable being able to enjoy it without children! Though we did find ourselves watching the excitement expressed by children making their own discoveries. Clearly a Must See attraction for all ages.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank GalavantingGrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,781
    1,174
    295
    30
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ellijay Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I enjoyed it as much or more than the kids did!”
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We went on a pretty busy Saturday during the week before our school here started. We did the Ocean side first. It was very crowed and the outside ticket kiosk was broken so it took a while to get our tickets. It was hard to see all the exhibits, kids were running around unsupervised, hooting and hollering. We went back to our hotel and did the River that night- MUCH better experience as the crowd had thinned out a lot. We were able to take our time and actually read the exhibits. My advise- go in the late afternoon/early evening and park at the street behind the building, not in the $5.00 lot. There was a food court on site but it was closed when we were there.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank lonesomepaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
132 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great Aquarium”
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Two senior retirees with two grandsons ages 9 and 11 had a very educational and enjoyable visit. The boys are very well traveled and have done so many things. They say the TN Aquarium is not not quite as nice as the one in Monterey, CA; however both agree they want to return to the TN Aquarium on their next visit.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyGran1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodruff, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Place”
Reviewed August 13, 2011

This aquarium was awesome. This place sits on the Tennessee River and has a beautiful view. The aquarium itself was wonderful, especially the shows. I have nothing bad to say. It was all good. Many things extra to do out side the aquarium. We joined for the year, as it was actually cheaper to do this and we can go back free anytime during the year. Great place to visit. Will go again.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ktydidkng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable”
Reviewed August 12, 2011

I've been the quite a few aquariums around the country including the Monterey Bay Aquarium in California and the Georgia Aquarium and this one was not bad compared to them. Their main focus is fresh water fish as the aquarium was originally meant to display the flow of the fresh Tn. river into the salty Gulf of Mexico and the Ocean building was est. in 2005/2007. I expected a bit more from the aquarium but it was amazing none the less!

Helpful?
1 Thank Brwilliams08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tennessee Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Tennessee Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing