We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Falls”
Review of Ruby Falls

Ruby Falls
Ranked #9 of 148 things to do in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Visitors are wowed by this thundering 145-foot underground waterfall, a natural wonder within scenic Lookout Mountain.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
wv
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Falls”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The whole trip was centered around the falls. What a site. The falls was more than I expected and it was great.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ramjabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,923 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,340
    1,527
    699
    208
    149
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Great Tour Guide”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Susan was the best tour guide. We loved our tour of Ruby falls and even tho we were rushed once we got to the Falls, we still love seeing this and enjoy the walk down throught the caves. It was a good time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MediaShon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
176 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Awesome falls - well worth the trek to get there”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Yes it is very commercial and if you have been down caves before you won't learn a lot about the formations - the whole trip is about the waterfall. And is it worth it just for that - well yesit absolutely is. The falls are just awesome with the natural rock formations around them. Yes you only get a limited amount of time at the falls but it is plenty to enjoy them and take a thousand pictures. So I would strongly recommend you go and be patient until you get to the main attraction. We had Megan as a guide and she was great with a quirky sense of humour.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pacuthbertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“exploring a cave”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

the falls was only one fall and not much water at that. weather and current rainfall have something to do with that I was told.
pathway is slippery in places. Not worth the 1 mi. walk

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank GeneaResearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Was ok”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Found this place to be very commercialized. Groups are way too large and when you make it to the fall they tell you, you got seven minutes to look and thats it the lights go off. You have to wait while groups to come by at least three times. The tour guide was just ok. Enjoyed raccoon mountain caverns much more.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank laurie0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruby Falls also viewed

 

Been to Ruby Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing