We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's the PVC pipe for?”
Review of Ruby Falls

Ruby Falls
Ranked #9 of 148 things to do in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Visitors are wowed by this thundering 145-foot underground waterfall, a natural wonder within scenic Lookout Mountain.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“What's the PVC pipe for?”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Yes, this is a typical tourist activity, for lack of a better definition. Our tour guide was very polite and friendly. The cave has sustained significant damage to the many beautiful alive and dead formations. With the inclement weather, we had a small group of seven attendees and often 'stayed back' during the tour to study the environment at our own pace. We had our own flashlights with us to study the formations along with illuminating a 6" PVC pipe at the bottom of the waterfall pool, which may lend evidence to a possible 'pumping system' that recycles the 'waterfall' water. It was incredibly disappointing to hear from our tour guide that the cave was millions of years old. This is a blatent lie that the owner(s) of Ruby Falls subscribe to and instruct their tour guides to teach all of the attendees. Now, stating that fact, it would be fair to say that the Ruby Falls owner(s) have also been deceived by the secular world in the evolutionists' unsubstantiated conjectures. My wife and I kindly corrected our tour guide and he was very receptive. Also, there is literature teaching an 'old earth'; literature portraying the earth to be 'billions of years' old. At the very least, Ruby Falls would benefit from teaching the TRUTH. I would gladly refer them to 'Answers in Genesis' website. Leo, the original discoverer of Ruby Falls, was a Godly man and would surely would not condone the false teachings at Ruby Falls. There is much to consider prior to your potential visit along with a hefty fee of $37 dollars for the two of us and that was WITH the dollar coupon.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Brem M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,894 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,320
    1,524
    695
    206
    149
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, NH
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“We loved it”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We drove through Chattanooga just to see Ruby Falls. It did not disappoint. A fun, winding half mile walk through a cave led us to the 140 foot high falls. The multicolored lighting made the falls look unique. We been to over 200 falls in the last two years and these are in the top 10.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank guicide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful and majestic!”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I loved Ruby Falls. The elevator ride down into the caves is a bit unsettling, but once you step into the caves you will forget and be mesmerizes. The endless stalactite and stalagmites are fun and beautiful...and at the end the cave opens up into a grand room with a massive waterfall. Fascinating! Also, we had a wonderful tour guide!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank amywhetzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful falls”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The line for tickets went very quickly and we were soon descending into the cave. Our guide was very friendly and funny - he deserved the tips we gave him at the end of the tour. Lots of walking on uneven surfaces and turn-taking with other groups to get through some passages. Totally enjoyed the finale with the lighted falls but could have used a bit more time there to get a good photo of our group.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaPeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Must see!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was a wonderful attraction, and I'm so glad we took the time to go see it. The waiting area is so clean and spacious; there are a few shops and a little cafe. We bought our tickets and only waited about 15 minutes then we boarded the elevator and rode down. There was no one else in our group, but our guide, Bill W., was wonderful! He didn't skimp on any of the details as he took us through the tour. I felt that the tour was a little long (I guess I thought we'd walk into the cave, see the falls, and be done) but I learned so much about the origin and development of the cave and passageway.

The Falls itself was spectacular! Bill played music and there was a light show that accompanied the splendor! We took pictures and had other cave features to see on our way back out. Bill joked about his "VIP" tour since it was just my family, but he truly made us feel like VIPs! His hobby is spelunking and caving, so he was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable.

At the end, there is an outdoor play area for the kids and a seating area where you can overlook downtown Chattanooga. Even better, you can climb to the top of the "castle tower" and get a better view! This was simply great, and I really enjoyed myself.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank pammommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruby Falls also viewed

 

Been to Ruby Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing