We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and relaxing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Henry Horton State Park

Henry Horton State Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
126 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Quiet and relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed at this park with our 4 young boys, dog, and camper. The site was nice. We ate at our picnic table for our meals, and hiked in the woods. The area was very quiet, and we were able to put our dog on a run. We left to go out, and our bikes, chairs, and such were left untouched. The roads were a bit bumpy, but all in all, it was a nice relaxing stay. Tons of nature, playground for the kids. We stopped at the Henry Horton State Park Inn Restaurant on our way home. Decent Southern buffet. No frills, but perfect for us! We would definitely stay again!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank TN_Mamato4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    25
    11
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very poor hiking trails and facilities”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

We drove out to the Henry Horton State Park to do a short day hike on one of the wooded trails. We were attracted to the park because we expected that it would (like most TN parks) be well kept and offer great scenery. Unfortunately, we were sorely disappointed.

The first problem is that the park has very few signs directing travelers to the hiking trails. We entered the park and drove around for 15-20 minutes trying to find a trailhead. No signs anywhere -- except for directing people to the inn or campground. So, I went into the front desk area and asked the clerk. She informed me that the main trail was actually BEFORE you get inside the park and that the other trails were at other places (which were equally hard to find) inside the park. After receiving these directions, I drove outside of the park and, sure enough, there was the trail.

Once on the actual trail, the scenery was rather unremarkable. It traversed through flat evergreen areas and did not have any interesting elevations or points of interest. In my view, the trail at Crockett Park in Brentwood is much better and has better scenery.

Overall....this was a major bust. It's really not any better than your average city/town park and clearly falls short of the standard set by other state parks in TN. The only redeeming feature of the park was the playground for small children. While it was fairly typical setup, our kids had fun on it.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank streamvista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“worst park ever!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2011

We booked a cabin for a family of 5. We got there at 10p because we both work. The entrance is so misleading we almost ran over the grass. Worst still the front desk made a huge mistake and booked us in the inn.. we have young kids! Then they started arguing and saying it was miscommunication. I am not the one to argue but they rubbed me the wrong way. The supervisor staggered out of bed and did nothing to solve the issue. we got the 3 bedroom #8( hard to find too) 'deluxe' cabin.. that's was anything but deluxe. The phone jack was hanging and we actually installed a new one for them. Then a courtesy call @ 8am came through for the wrong occupants and that we never asked for!! This was a wow! ugly moment! Yes all other parks were booked and this was the only one available..NEVER AGAIN!! btw it was poorly stocked.. no paper towels etc. I'm on a tour of all TN state parks and glad to double delete this one from my to-see list!! ugh!!

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank njeri77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulaski, TN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Campground is Not for Me”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

We decided to give this campground a try when the other surrounding parks were all booked up. Now I know why it still had spaces on a holiday weekend. Upon entering we noticed how secluded the spaces really are - not from each other but from anything else to see or do. We love scenic walks or bicycling, but nothing worthwhile was there. The only scenery we saw in this park was poorly maintained pavement and campsites and nothing else but trees. If you're into golf then this park might be worthwhile, but if you're looking for scenery then go to any of the nearby state parks. They all have this one beat by a mile.

Helpful?
2 Thank anoldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
139 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 466 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2008

HHSRP is located about 30 miles south of Nashville close to I-65. Lodging options include an inn (w/ restaurant), cabins, and tent/RV camping. They offer two golf courses: traditional and Frisbee. In terms of accommodations, there are ball fields, picnicking pavilions, a pool, recreation hall, and some nature trails. While all this may sound very ‘cookie cutter’ the charm of this state park is the river. Whether you choose to sleep in a bed or tent, curl up with a book next to the lodge fireplace or the river banks, or stay 1 hour or 1 night I recommend Henry Horton SRP.

Helpful?
3 Thank jake_brake2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henry Horton State Park also viewed

 

Been to Henry Horton State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing