We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carrots were funky!”
Review of Shoney's

Shoney's
Ranked #3 of 8 Restaurants in Caryville
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
221 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Carrots were funky!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We got the dinner buffet (9.39 before tax) and dessert and spent 23.78. The carrots on the salad bar were funky not sure whether they weren't cooked all the way or old. I wish buffets would list what is there to choose! I almost got what I thought was tapioca pudding as it was by other puddings and luckily I asked since it was tarter sauce. At least there is a gas station nearby!

Helpful?
Thank AliceDilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    14
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaver Springs
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Should be better”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Had the buffet, salads were fresh, but meats were deep fried way too long; high school (?) waitress was talking with 2 girls at a booth about personal business for the whole hour we were there and they were being nasty to another girl who was doing all the work at the food bar. Bullying ? Didn't see anyone who looked like a supervisor.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tuddcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“ood”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Staff friendy food great. Foiod served in timley matter. The restaurant was clean. Would recommend this for a place to eat.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracey, VA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not much nice to say”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Buffet food was warm at best. Everything was way too salty. The service was good but the waitress could not overcome the bad food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank braceytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
131 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Just Your Average Shoney's”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

FORGET THIS PLACE...unless you want mostly bland food. We ate the senior buffet for lunch. It was clean and fresh and at the correct temperature, but most of the food was nothing special and selection lacked. However, the meatloaf and catfish were delicious. I have had breakfast here before and it was definitely better. If all Shoney's buffets are like this, they better stick to promoting their breakfast.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ForgetThisPlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shoney's also viewed

 

Been to Shoney's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing