We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Friendly, Family-Run Hotel That Simply Oozes Charm and Character!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Caryville - I-75 / Cove Lake State Park
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Caryville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2009

We traveled up I-75 to attend a wedding in Ohio and once again stayed at the wonderful Hampton Inn in Caryville. This place simply can't be beat if you want a charming place to stay that has both character and history.

About the only thing that can be said in the negative is that this place is so popular for overnight travelers that some rooms could be considered a little tired. But they are kept clean and the atmosphere more than makes up for the fact that it's not a 5-star getaway. It starts when you pull off the highway and turn up their drive. Keep an eye out for the llamas walking around the steep hills around the hotel. (Or are they alpacas?) There are antique cars out in front of the lobby, as well as some interesting metal statues. Inside this family-owned and operated hotel, you'll find a friendly staff ready to help you. They just couldn't be more accomodating! Pay attention on your way to your room, because the walls are lined with family photos and memorabilia that are fascinating. You can even see the jacket that their ancestor was wearing when he was shot by revenuers!

Our room was perfectly fine and comfortable, and my entire family had a nice sleep.

In the morning, if you don't get up for the complimentary breakfast in the lobby, you're missing out on one of the best parts of the stay! They have a wonderful assortment of food both warm and cold, fruit, pastries, juices, etc. But best of all is that the guests are tended to by the patriarch of the family, who simply enjoys mingling and talking with the guests. You'll learn a lot about the family and the hotel, and you'll find yourself telling him all about where you're from and what brought you to their hotel.

As I said, this place is charming and full of character. My family enjoyed all there was to see here, and I felt very safe and secure stopping here. Probably safer than nearly anywhere I've ever stayed. If you're traveling late in the evening, call ahead to make sure you get a room because this place can fill up quick once evening falls. But better still, just make it a point to stop here and make a reservation in advance.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neerdowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (766)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

750 - 756 of 766 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2009

We came upon the Caryville Hampton Inn by luck - looking for a place to spend the night on a longer road trip. The hotel now ranks at the top of list of our "stopover" hotels - and we take a lot of roadtrips. The good: Incredibly friendly service, clean rooms, free breakfast buffet, great quirky, historic memorabilia of the Ayers family (who still own the hotel today). The current owner attended the breakfast buffet in the morning and chatted with guests, offering recommendations on sites to see, history on the hotel, etc. The hotel is up on a hillside and has neat touches such as "swings" out back which overlook a nice mountain view (and the swings are actually old ski chairlifts). The hill the hotel sits on is "mowed" by llamas who live on the hillside (but apparently also can make their way to a small stable above the hotel, whenever they want). The llamas were the highlight of our morning. The bad: I am struggling to come up with bad for this hotel. I guess the only con is that it's not the newest - if you are looking for brand spanking shiny new accommodations this may not be the place. But again, it's extremely clean and one of the things we remember most from our 2009 road trip.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caribou52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2009

We stumbled upon this place late at night. We loved the view and were quite surprised by the quality of our room. The morning breakfast was great as well. Would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmcityplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2009

There was a little confusion upon check in concerning the room requested but that was rectified. The room was very comfortable and very clean and had a beautiful view of the mountains as well as a balcony. There was a pool and although the weather was hot the pool was not open (because it doesn't open until Memorial Day) That was very disappointing. Breakfast area was clean and well stocked. They actually have good coffee.
Liked: the view
Disliked: pool not available, windows did not open and the air conditioner was noisy.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cedmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2008

I highly recommend this hotel. We often travel from Ohio to Florida and ALWAYS make sure that our overnight stop is the Hampton Inn Caryville, TN. Over the last couple of years, we have stayed at this hotel several times. We've always enjoyed the Llamas, the "ski lift" swings, the view of the lake and the nice clean rooms with "cloud nine" beds, but what we're impressed time and again is the friendly staff! On our most recent stay we asked the staff about a good place for dinner. They couldn't say enough about Rickard Ridge BBQ which is located in Cove Lake State Park, just down the road. WOW! We've never tasted BBQ in such a way that we couldn't stop eating it. The portions were great along with the prices and selection. They even had some relaxing entertainment.

You can't go wrong when staying at the Hampton Inn in Caryville, TN. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bgd12032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2008

When you are heading South on I 75 and it is getting late, you can not go wrong by stopping here. The experience starts with the 1928 Model A roadster and 1930 Model A Ford truck that are parked at the front of the hotel and really never stops. There are old chairs that overlook the valley that are made from ski lift chairs and many historical things through out the hotel. The main thing that you are looking for in a hotel is a clean room and friendly people. This place has both. I do not know what else to say. In this day and time it is nice to find a name that you can trust like Hampton and also find such nice people there. It is a shame that I was only there for such a short time, I am sure there is more to offer, that I did not get to see.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dynaflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2008

This was a very comfortable Hampton Inn. They have a few Lamas at the back of the hotel, which was a pleasant surprise to wake up to. People who work there are friendly and breakfast was served in a pretty homey breakfast lounge. If you happen to be in the area, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetotravelhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caryville
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Caryville
5.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 1 in Pioneer
89 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Caryville
Red Roof Inn Caryville
#3 of 4 in Caryville
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Caryville TN
Super 8 Caryville TN
#4 of 4 in Caryville
205 reviews
23.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Knoxville North
11.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Knoxville/Clinton I-75
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Caryville - I-75 / Cove Lake State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Caryville - I-75 / Cove Lake State Park

Address: 4459 Veterans Memorial Hwy, Caryville, TN 37714-3165
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Caryville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Caryville
Price Range: $100 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Caryville - I-75 / Cove Lake State Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Caryville - I-75 / Cove Lake State Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Caryville - i-75 / Cove Lake State Park Hotel Caryville
Caryville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing