We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended: Clean, friendly, quirky hotel + they have llamas!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Caryville - I-75 / Cove Lake State Park
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Caryville
Certificate of Excellence
aurora, illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Highly recommended: Clean, friendly, quirky hotel + they have llamas!!”
Reviewed July 15, 2009

We came upon the Caryville Hampton Inn by luck - looking for a place to spend the night on a longer road trip. The hotel now ranks at the top of list of our "stopover" hotels - and we take a lot of roadtrips. The good: Incredibly friendly service, clean rooms, free breakfast buffet, great quirky, historic memorabilia of the Ayers family (who still own the hotel today). The current owner attended the breakfast buffet in the morning and chatted with guests, offering recommendations on sites to see, history on the hotel, etc. The hotel is up on a hillside and has neat touches such as "swings" out back which overlook a nice mountain view (and the swings are actually old ski chairlifts). The hill the hotel sits on is "mowed" by llamas who live on the hillside (but apparently also can make their way to a small stable above the hotel, whenever they want). The llamas were the highlight of our morning. The bad: I am struggling to come up with bad for this hotel. I guess the only con is that it's not the newest - if you are looking for brand spanking shiny new accommodations this may not be the place. But again, it's extremely clean and one of the things we remember most from our 2009 road trip.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caribou52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    104
    21
    8
    1
See reviews for
232
241
49
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2009

We stumbled upon this place late at night. We loved the view and were quite surprised by the quality of our room. The morning breakfast was great as well. Would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmcityplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soo, mi
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2009

There was a little confusion upon check in concerning the room requested but that was rectified. The room was very comfortable and very clean and had a beautiful view of the mountains as well as a balcony. There was a pool and although the weather was hot the pool was not open (because it doesn't open until Memorial Day) That was very disappointing. Breakfast area was clean and well stocked. They actually have good coffee.
Liked: the view
Disliked: pool not available, windows did not open and the air conditioner was noisy.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cedmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fostoria, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2008

I highly recommend this hotel. We often travel from Ohio to Florida and ALWAYS make sure that our overnight stop is the Hampton Inn Caryville, TN. Over the last couple of years, we have stayed at this hotel several times. We've always enjoyed the Llamas, the "ski lift" swings, the view of the lake and the nice clean rooms with "cloud nine" beds, but what we're impressed time and again is the friendly staff! On our most recent stay we asked the staff about a good place for dinner. They couldn't say enough about Rickard Ridge BBQ which is located in Cove Lake State Park, just down the road. WOW! We've never tasted BBQ in such a way that we couldn't stop eating it. The portions were great along with the prices and selection. They even had some relaxing entertainment.

You can't go wrong when staying at the Hampton Inn in Caryville, TN. Can't wait to go back.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, convenience to I-75, comfortable, clean. NICE
  • Disliked — We only stay one night at a time.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bgd12032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norcross GA
2 reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2008

When you are heading South on I 75 and it is getting late, you can not go wrong by stopping here. The experience starts with the 1928 Model A roadster and 1930 Model A Ford truck that are parked at the front of the hotel and really never stops. There are old chairs that overlook the valley that are made from ski lift chairs and many historical things through out the hotel. The main thing that you are looking for in a hotel is a clean room and friendly people. This place has both. I do not know what else to say. In this day and time it is nice to find a name that you can trust like Hampton and also find such nice people there. It is a shame that I was only there for such a short time, I am sure there is more to offer, that I did not get to see.

  • Liked — The old cars
  • Disliked — internet issues, however they may be my computer and not the hotels fault
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dynaflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
178 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2008

This was a very comfortable Hampton Inn. They have a few Lamas at the back of the hotel, which was a pleasant surprise to wake up to. People who work there are friendly and breakfast was served in a pretty homey breakfast lounge. If you happen to be in the area, a great place to stay.

  • Liked — Comfortable and clean
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravelhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2008

We stayed at this hotel when travelling through the area.
I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone. The staff was friendly, the hotel was very clean and comfortable.
It was quite evident that the owner takes great pride in this hotel. There is historical memorabilia throughout the hotel. There are llamas roaming around the hotel which the kids liked seeing. At 6pm they had freshly baked cookies and popcorn available for the kids (adults too I guess).
We left before the free breakfast was to start in the morning, but there was coffee and fruit in the lobby to take and some muffins were out also.
The view of the state park across the road is quite nice.
The high speed internet access worked well and was not sluggish.

  • Liked — Very comfortalbe beds. Lots of neat historical memorabilia to look at in the hallways.
  • Disliked — It's hard to complain about this hotel. If they were to upgrade anything they may want to consider the addition of an indoor pool.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RKKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caryville
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Caryville
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Caryville TN
Super 8 Caryville TN
#3 of 4 in Caryville
180 reviews
5.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 1 in Pioneer
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Knoxville/Clinton I-75
23.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Knoxville North
11.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Knoxville Clinton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Caryville - I-75 / Cove Lake State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Caryville - I-75 / Cove Lake State Park

Property: Hampton Inn Caryville - I-75 / Cove Lake State Park
Address: 4459 Veterans Memorial Hwy, Caryville, TN 37714-3165
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Caryville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Caryville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Caryville - I-75 / Cove Lake State Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn Caryville - I-75 / Cove Lake State Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Caryville - i-75 / Cove Lake State Park Hotel Caryville
Caryville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing