We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A real gem in Kilkenny”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ballyragget, County Kilkenny

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lesquier
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A real gem in Kilkenny”
Reviewed September 7, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We chose to stay a week at Cherryfield Cottage, Ballyragget as it was conveniently located to Castle Durrow where we were attending a wedding ceremony. What we initially chose as a matter of convenience turned out to be a real gem. The cottage is cosy and simply furnished with all modern conveniences on a farm owned by Liam and Breda Murphy. It would be rated as good but what makes it excellent, is the warm hospitality we enjoyed from Liam and Breda. This included complimentary freshly baked bread on our arrival, accompanied by apple pie and cream. The invitation to collect fresh farm eggs from the chicken coop each day at no extra cost. The very helpful advice given by Breda on visiting local attractions and the Wicklow mountains. Liam driving to Castle Durrow at 10.30 pm to kindly collect two of our party from the wedding being unable to drive and my wife being allowed to assist Liam in milking the cows in the Dairy. The experience was nothing short of excellent.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warm welcome and great hospitality
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSJS
Level 3 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed August 6, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I can 100% endorse what other reviewers have said. This place is simply amazing - Breda and Liam are the nicest, warmest, most genuine hosts you could wish for. The cottage is comfortable, well-equipped and spotless and the gardens are wonderful. Our two teenage boys had the best time ever helping Liam on the farm, playing football with the fantastic dogs - none of us wanted to leave. We will be going back next year. Judging by the number of guests returning, looks like a busy 2017 at Cherryfield! Perfect location, perfect accommodation and perfect hosts.

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2016
Thank you for sharing this thoroughly lovely review with us all, we are absolutely over the moon that you enjoyed your time at Cherryfield. To hear you describe it as 'simply amazing' is music to our ears, the owners have obviously done a fabulous job with the place! We will be sure to pass your compliments along to them and hope you join Cherryfields returning visitors club!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan R
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed July 3, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Thanks to the wonderful hospitality provided by owners Breda and Liam, we had a fantastic stay at this lovely cottage, which was comfortable and cosy. Arriving fairly late on our first day, we were met with a very warm welcome from Breda (and two lovely dogs!) who proceeded to show us all the facilities and even provided a delicious supper with home cooked pie so that we didn't have to worry about cooking or food shopping, a lovely touch. We woke to nothing but the sound of birdsong each morning and loved being able to collect our own fresh eggs from the chickens. The cottage is very well equipped with all you need in the kitchen including dishwasher, washing machine and tumble dryer etc. Living room is lovely with comfy sofas, fireplace and sky TV / DVDs etc. Breda kindly provided a travel cot, high chair and baby bath for our young daughter and our five year old visiting nephew absolutely loved playing with the dogs in the enormous garden (complete with mini stone castle!). Wonderful people and a wonderful property, we wouldn't hesitate to book again next time we're in the area.

Date of stay: July 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 5, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share this lovely feedback, we couldn't be happier that you enjoyed your stay at Cherryfield. Waking each morning to birdsong sounds like perfection to us, what a way to start the day! We will be sure to pass your wonderful comments along to the owners and hope you return for another visit very very soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph B
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed June 25, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent our 55th Wedding Anniversary at this beutiful cottage, the host Breda was absolutely fantastic, nothing was to much trouble for her, she is so helpful, and also spent a lot of her valuable time showing us around their lovely farm, we had fresh eggs from the chickens on the farm, you can go anywhere on the farm, however I would suggest that children are supervised. There is such a lot to do whilst you are there and the cottage has to be, in our opinion, the best ever in Ireland. It's got everything you could wish for and Breda and husband Liam are so friendly and helpful. Would we go again..........most definitely and we have booked already for next year
Great place at the right price.

Date of stay: June 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2016
We couldn't be happier that you had such a wonderful experience at Cherryfield, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay. It certainly sounds like the owners have done a fabulous job with the place, and how generous to give their time to really help you get involved in the farm experience! We will be sure to pass your compliments along to them and hope you are looking forward to your stay next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickWGeel...
Geelong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Comfortable place with lovely hosts”
Reviewed June 21, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Breda and Liam are fantastic hosts - couldn't ask for better. This is a lovely cottage on a working farm, with a supermarket just a few minutes away in Ballyragget. We found it a great location with places of interest within an hour's drive at all points of the compass.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoorsoP
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Place to Stay and I Will Book Again”
Reviewed May 23, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We booked this cottage accommodation as part of a week long biking trip through Ireland to the Ring of Kerry and Wild Atlantic Way. We stayed for three nights here to take in the gorgeous countryside and Kilkenny itself.

The cottage is located within easy driving distance of Kilkenny, but is set in peaceful and tranquil countryside. The quietness at night was what we all craved.

The accommodation is fully kitted with 'mod-cons' and one of the bedrooms is also en suite. It is spacious and ample. The residents also have free use of the substantial gardens which includes a games room in the former stable yard.

The owners (Breda and Liam) were exceptionally welcoming and helpful, and their two lovely dogs were doted on by us during our stay. We were able to light the wood burning stove which simply added to the comfort level!

I would highly recommend staying here.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The ease that it offered and peacefulness of the location
Liked least: Genuinely have no complaints
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
658graham...
Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Fabulous”
Reviewed April 12, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderful Cottage - Most Generous Hosts - Excellent Location - Happy Holiday!!!
Where do I start - the welcome from Breda and Liam Murphy was lovely with freshly baked bread and a pie along with some nice tea. Cherryfield is a lovely cottage which is presented beautifully with everything you might need. Breda and Liam were always ready to help with anything as well as offering advice on travel, shopping, restaurants and things to do in the Kilkenny area. We felt like members of the family and very much enjoyed being in Ireland, making many new friends along the way. We will return (many times) and thoroughly enjoyed staying at Cherryfield and meeting the Murphy family. Thank you.

Date of stay: January 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 16, 2016
Thank you ever so much for taking the time to share this lovely review, we couldn't be happier that you enjoyed your time at Cherryfield. That welcome does sounds fabulous, especially the fresh baked goodies! We will be sure to pass your compliments along to the owners. Feeling like part of the family certainly sounds like the best way to really experience Ireland and we are so glad you found that at Cherryfield! We certainly hope that you return again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing