We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Best B&B in Butler, TN” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iron Mountain Inn B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Butler
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Iron Mountain Inn B&B
Save
You added Iron Mountain Inn B&B to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 1 Butler B&B and Inns
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
“Best B&B in Butler, TN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was a perfect getaway from everyday stresses of life. The views of the mountains were breathtaking. The breakfasts were delicious. Vikki was an excellent host and so informative of places to eat, where to go, etc. Do try the Thai place, Monsoon, I heard excellent reviews and was upset I wasn't able to try it, but other guests raved about it. The beds were comfy and each room had its own private bathroom. This B & B won't disappoint. Go now!

Room Tip: Green room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShanZa607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    12
    6
    0
    4
See reviews for
11
107
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My wife and I ventured into the Tennessee Mountains without knowing anything of where we were going or what we were going to do. We stumbled upon this Bed and Breakfast. The scenery was breathtaking and property terrific; we walked each day on it's own wildlife packed trail, and the inclines helped to burn off the delicious multi-course sit down breakfasts. Vicky was tremendous and guided us into filling the days with the local goings on; biking down the Virginia Creeper Trail, and an authentic Sports Clubs' picnic which was straight out of a movie. We even grilled out in the evenings with other guests. Vicky gave us the run of the house and the friendly environment between all of the guests made for excellent company when we wanted it. We stayed in the larger Equestrian room and particularly enjoyed the Steam shower (we want one in our house now). All in all, it was an experience unlike any other for us and we will be back to do more of the same and try out new outdoor activities (closeby Lake Watauga looks fantastic for some tubing!)

Room Tip: All of the rooms have their own character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Vicki is a delightful hostess. The inn is beautiful. OUr room had both the whirlpool and steamer shower. We enjoyed the many flowers and beautiful grounds. Vicki provides both an excellent breakfast and many delicious treats. She also gave a mostly full wine bottle to have with our dinner at a very nice restaurant in Mountain City. We would highly reccomend a vist to the Iron Mountain Inn. We feel we made a new friend.

Room Tip: All rooms are upstairs and have whirlpool tubs. Two rooms alos have steam showers. Three rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We would never have known about the Iron Mountain Inn if it weren't for Groupon. When we saw that offer and perused the official website, we decided it was the place for us to stay after a 7 mile hike on the AT - one of our "bucket list" activities. The Inn is a log home with 5 rooms to rent. A beautiful setting, on top of the mountain, offers spectacular views from any of the rooms or wrap around deck. Breakfast was served on the deck in the fresh mountain air - enhancing the delicious food that Vikki had prepared. We especially appreciated the amentities in the room (family memories) which included a spa tub and steam shower. We really needed those after our hike and felt much better as a result. The bed was so comfortable and linens above average. We slept with the door to the deck off of our room open and could hear the stream and wildlife. Loved being awakened by the Whipporwill in the morning!

The website for the Inn is very comprehensive, if you take the time to read it. Vikki's communicaton with you is excellent via email. Make sure to copy Vikki's directions from the website and you will have no problem finding the Inn. Don't rely on your GPS in this case. We also were introduced to many other trails and activities on their official site. We rented bikes in Damascus and "coasted" down the Virginia Creeper Trail as recommended by Vikki. The rental company takes you to the top of the trail and you can "coast" either 17 mi. back to Damascus or do the complete trail for 34 mi. It is a beautiful ride, almost entirely in shade, with a great little cafe at about the 10 mi. mark. We were told to try the chocolate cake - fantastic!! We did the 17 mi. ride.

We really enjoyed getting to know Vikki. Her hospitality made for a fantastic stay. She knows so much about the area and can tell you about anything you need to know. She will go the extra mile to make your stay memorable. She even took us down to her lake house (which she also rents out) to show us around there. It is spectacular - on the lake - and very high end amentities, also. We hope to return with our grown kids and their families to the lake house at some point. You could not go wrong staying at the Iron Mountain Inn.

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the house. However, we did appreciate the spa tub and steam shower in addition to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank olderandwiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
186 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

While it is far from certain, I can only imagine it is very unlikely that we would have ever found the Iron Mountain Inn if we had not planned to do so. As it is, we had made reservations in advance, mapped our way there, had it on GPS and still had a heck of a time finding the place. But eventually we figured out the way around the bridge construction (that may or may not have actually been bridge construction), followed a winding route to the inn and made out way to the top. Only to find that the other way down is a whole lot faster.

Regardless, the perch near the top of the mountain is amazing, especially if you should happen to be there in the fall leaf season, as we were. The views across the valley (I do not know if this term is actually the correct one, but it seems right) allows you to see for what seems miles, and the colors on the trees goes on and on.

Inside the inn is perhaps not as huge - you are in what is essentially a large house. It is a nice one for being nestled in amongst the mountains, but it is not a giant place by any means. Much more like a bed and breakfast - of which we passed several (or at least, that is what the signs said). Our innkeeper was very friendly, even offering to tell us where the endless cookie jar was found when someone - who shall remain nameless - could not find it.

Breakfast in the morning was a tasty way to start the day for the next stage of our trip, and finding the way out again was much, much easier than finding the way in. Definitely a worthwhile stop if you are in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayseae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We took a group of ladies from our ladies golf association to the Iron Mountain Inn. We rented the entire Inn. The kitchen was great, the views are spectacular, and the common area is perfect for evening refreshments, fellowship and laughter as you enjoy the pristine mountain setting. We played Red Tail Mountain golf course only 15 miles away, hiked the AT and took a spin around beautiful Lake Watauga. As always, Vicki is most accomodating and ensures everything is perfect...right down to the "bottomless cookie jar."

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jatana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

What a wonderful relaxing weekend! The house was so well equipped, even had spices :-) We hiked, kayaked, and swam. It was all just wonderful! I think two of my favorite things were the fire pit where we spent the evening chatting with our family while making s'mores and the swing/chaise lounge on the deck where you could still enjoy the outdoors while avoiding the sun. We would definitely, definitely rent the lake house again! Oh, I forgot to mention, our dogs had a blast swimming in the lake as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Butler
21.7 mi away
Carnegie Hotel
Carnegie Hotel
#1 of 20 in Johnson City
4.5 of 5 stars 429 reviews
21.6 mi away
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
19.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountain Lodge at Banner Elk
17.5 mi away
Courtyard Bristol
Courtyard Bristol
#2 of 14 in Bristol
4.0 of 5 stars 364 reviews
18.2 mi away
Taylor House Inn
Taylor House Inn
#2 of 7 in Valle Crucis
5.0 of 5 stars 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iron Mountain Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Mountain Inn B&B

Property: Iron Mountain Inn B&B
Address: 268 Moreland Drive, Butler, TN 37640
Location: United States > Tennessee > Butler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Butler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High atop the mountain this log home is THE place to get away from it all, Only bird song and wind song are heard as you enjoy the comfortable tables and chairs on the open decks and covered porches. In cooler months, enjoy a hot toddie in front of the wood burning fireplace. Read, play card and board games or just solve the problems of the world when you share your experiences with the other guests. Full filling breakfast each morning at a time of your choosing.....just before 10:00 a.m. please. Bottomless cookie jar filled with the famous Iron Mountain Inn chocolate chip cookies. Afternoon refreshments. On arrival light supper available, i.e. soup, sandwich, dessert, coffee and a complimentary glass of wine. "Pampering Perfected" service where guests are friends we haven't met. We have hiking trails right on the property and waterfalls abound to explore. Each room has a private en suite tiled bath with jetted tub and two of them also have steam showers. "Feet up comfort" is the mantra at the Inn. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing