We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This was an amazing get away.”
other travelers have booked this property
Your View from your private hot tub!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your View from your private hot tub!
Front of Bass Bungalow facing Watauga Lake just steps from the water. Watauga Lake Front Bass Bungalow
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
9 reviews
Your View from your private hot tub!
Front of Bass Bungalow facing Watauga Lake just steps from the water.
Watauga Lake Front Bass Bungalow
Boat slip, where you are welcome to keep your boat or rent one thru the local Marina.
Great evening campfires, roasting marshmallows and telling stories.
View, Deck and Large gas Grill.
Comfy Queen in the Master Bedroom. Linens provided. Full Bath.
Living Room with Sleeper sofa for any extra guests that may be joining you.
Table with four chairs to dine inside.
Sit down and enjoy a meal together. Make some time to enjoy the ones you love.
Kitchen with all the appliances from home.
Beautiful Watauga Lake, 80% of the Lake is Cherokee National Forest.
Complimentary Canoe, life jackets and paddles provided.  Canoe into the Cherokee Nation Forest.
Beautiful Hiking Trails.
The Appalachian Trail crosses Watauga lake.
Lake and river access. Where the river and Lake intersect so you have the best of both worlds.
Bring your boat and dock it in the front yard.
Decking
Bass Bungalow sits on the shore line. Offers lots of amenities; WIFI, Hot tub, boat slip & Canoe.
Firepit right beside the water
Overlooking the lake ... Ahhh, now its time to relax and kick back.
Kitchen Area. Pots, Pan, Paper products provided.
Gather around the bon fire.
Great Area Restaurants.
Open floor plan living room to kitchen. TV/DVD. Free WIFI.
Make a meal or just a cup of java. Enjoy the day with someone special.
Nice, neat and clean. Full size washer and dryer.
Full bath with a tub/shower combo.
Sleep well in this queen bed. Sheets, linens pillows all provided.
Casual to Classic dining experiences from $5 to $50 an entree.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Butler, Tennessee

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Julie S
Camden, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Try another place first.”
Reviewed June 15, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The scenery is beautiful as promised, but the cabin not so much. The cabin advertised a pull-out couch/bed but it the springs were broken or missing and the mattress was falling apart. An ant problem was beginning - they were under the windows, on the counters, floors and in the sink. Fully furnished kitchen? Not so much :( We found a cookie sheet that was blacker than a freshly paved road and a cast iron skillet that looked as if it had never been seasoned. That was it. We ended up going to town to buy cookware. The grill? Um, no again. There was so much grease in the bottom of the grill that I was not about to cook food for my child using that grill. I called the housekeeper the day before we left to make sure of some little things and I asked her if there was specifically anything I needed to do clean-up wise as that I had brought my dogs. I was planning on sweeping, but then she asked me if I would mind throwing the sheets in the washer. Of course I mind! I paid a $95 fee for cleaning and the cabin was cleaner when I left than when I got there. While I hope to visit the lake again one day, I will only do so if there is another place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the scenery.
Liked least: The cabin.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2016
Yes, the scenery from this property is absolutely beautiful. Mountains and water views in every direction. The area is mostly Cherokee National Forest so your views are of woods and wilderness. Once the weather warms up a bit ants start to come out. Know we have our place sprayed monthly with regular pest control & guests can find 'hot shot' ant spray under the sink. The kitchen does offer a stove, fridge, micro, coffee maker and has pots and pans. This guest requested a double boiler and no we don't have one of those - We're not even too sure what that is. But guests can rest assure that regular 'to be expected' cook ware can be found there. The cookie sheet has been replaced too as it had seen better days. Yes, there was a tremendous amount of dog hair left after your stay. Housekeeping came prepared since they knew dogs had stayed and got the mess cleaned up. There was even a bit of damage to a chair with some chew marks but we didn't charge you for it as we understand things happen. Our housekeeper went out of her way several times during your stay to help you. Guests are asked to start a load of laundry before departure. Beside having to haul off and burn all trash (no city trash service out here), mop, swept etc ... housekeepers have a pretty big job to do. This place is great for those searching for lake frontage just steps from the water, moderately priced & priced for those on a tight budget. Complimentary canoe, wifi, and a nice new hot tub. You can't go wrong staying here as long as your expectations are in order with what you paid.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystal P
1 review
“This was an amazing get away.”
Reviewed May 13, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I booked this for our 3yr anniversary and it held up to everything I expected. The first two days were kind of rainy and cold but waking up to looking outside over a beautiful lake made up for the weather. The hot tub was perfect with such an amazing view! And the amount of wild life we got a experience was amazing as well! Can't wait to stay again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 14, 2016
Yes, the view is amazing from that property, especially from the hot tub! Thanks so much for your kind words. Know you all area always welcome back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron J
Lake Wylie, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Right on the water with great views”
Reviewed December 8, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

This is not the Taj Mahal, but it was a very nice, clean cabin right on the lake. Definitely a great value for the price. You can fish three steps from the front door surrounded by some of the nicest scenery east of the Rockies. Quiet, relaxing, enjoyed the hot tub with a bottle of wine. We made friends with a goose who came by the dock daily for some bread crumbs. Also caught a monster 25 - 30 lbs carp night fishing but threw him back to live another day. I would definitely recommend this place to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, location, location
Liked least: size of cabin
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 11, 2014
Thanks so much for your kind words. Yes, this little place is right on the water, with a boat slip, complimentary canoe, hot tub and gas grill. Just a little piece of heaven for those looking to enjoy both lake and mountains. Rent boats from the local marina's or bring yours. One of the best views and fishing around. Look forward to hearing from you again, one day soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuzanneFH
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cabin was not what was represented in description.”
Reviewed November 18, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The scenery was absolutely beautiful, mountains and lake!! The cabin, however, wasn't as great. The mattress was sunken in the middle which made for restless nights. CD player had broken buttons so unable to play CDs. Minimally appointed kitchen. In bad need of renovation and sprucing up.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 21, 2014
Yes, this place has awesome views and as it is advertised is a modest, inexpensive bungalow. Great for any couple or small family looking to get a way on a budget. As we explained to you and every potential guest we talk with we offer 11 properties in our rental program ranging from the largest, five star cabin with new amenities to smaller, less elaborate accommodations that are clean but not as fancy. If you are on a budget, want clean accommodations with great views, a hot tub, wifi, complimentary canoe, boat slip then you have found the right place.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brad S
Huntersville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small space, but with a nice view.”
Reviewed November 11, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Not much goes on around here in November. Cell service is next to nothing so bring a calling card if you want to communicate. Internet was one of the reasons I chose this location, but between the owner not knowing the password to the Wi-Fi and the Internet going out for a total of three days it was disappointing. It was nice being able to fish right in front of the cabin, but don't go expecting to catch trout, it's pretty much catfish, bass and bluegill. There's not much space inside, it's pretty much a dressed up mobile home. The hot tub was nice, but because the water is well water and there is no filter, sand gets in and makes the water appear murky.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2014
Being out in the Cherokee National Forest is very quiet and why folks choose to stay here. Cell reception does depend on your carrier and age of phone. Thats why we provide a land line inside the cabin. The internet works most all the time, but sometimes can go in and out depending on weather conditions. We received emails from lots of guests (including this one) during their stays and communicated back and forth. Sending emails is easy but trying to send a lot of documents and run a business can be challenging. It is a small place at a very reasonable price, perfect for any couple looking for a romantic get away. We have larger more expensive cabins in this area as well but if you're on a budget then this place works for most. Watauga lake is the 3rd cleanest lake in the country and offers great fisihing from the shore line and even better from a boat. If you really want to get serious about fishing then bring or rent a boat at the local marina The hot tub was clean but because it sits right on the shore line it gets a little sandy. Like the beach but even cleaner. We welcome all guests looking for a mountain get away who are ready for little vacation, little fishing and a lot of rest and relaxation.
watauga lake & river vacation cabins
alakecabin4u
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtneyK...
Gate City, Virginia
2 reviews
“Right on the lake! Perfect for 2!”
Reviewed July 9, 2011 for a stay in June 2011

My "friend" and I stayed at Bass Bungalow for 2 nights (Sun and Mon). Directions were to the T! Cabin was right on the lake, great spot! Cute little factory made cabin. We tried out the pull out couch so we could watch TV late at night, but it was not comfortable at all. So, don't plan on bringing friends. Satilite TV was nice, but there were alot of channels we coulnd't get, which was dissapointing. No ice maker, so plan on picking up a bag of ice, unless 2 ice cube trays will get you by. Outdoor hot tub is huge, but some of the jets didn't work, but that didn't keep us from not using it. FYI, there is another cabin located right next to the hot tub, but the hot tub is enclosed by lattice. If you plan on really "enjoying" the hot tub, keep this in mind. ;) The cabin has 2 air conditioners, central and window. The central air conditioner blows so forcefully it blows up a vent cover in the kitchen!
We enjoyed the canoe every evening. The cabin is located in a small finger off the main lake, so not much lake traffic. Beautiful calm lake in the mornings! Each day we were visited by 2 ducks, one white and one black. We saw them everywhere together!
Over all, beautiful location for enjoying nature and that "special" person. I would stay at the Bass Bungalow again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 8, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind words and am so glad you would return. Know too you'd be offered a return guest discount. Yes, this time of year there's lots of wildlife on the water, ducks, geese and beautiful birds of prey. We are so glad you enjoyed them all. The cottage next door is separated & secluded by pine trees, is vacant and has been for years so not much to worry about next door. Yes, your hot tub is very secluded in a gazabo/lattice structure too to insure privacy. The sofa/sofa bed has been reported to the owner. He's bringing over a automatic blowup mattress to place on top to make any additional guests stay more comfortable. I've also recommended an upgrade to movie (HBO Cinamax etc ..) we just want to keep the TV family friendly and sometimes these movie stations aren't appropriate for young children.
Again we thank you so much for your stay and look forward to haveing you as a guest in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Reviewed May 16, 2011 for a stay in May 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 16, 2011
Thanks so much for the kind words. So glad you enjoyed your stay. Look to see you for a return trip one day soon and know we'll offer you a return guest discount too.
Melody
www.alakecabin4u.com
803-415-4714
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing