We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“undiscovered beauty close to everything, but you...”
other travelers have booked this property
Driftwood Cottage offers a large hot tub & grill with lots of decking over looking Watauga lake WIFI
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Driftwood Cottage offers a large hot tub & grill with lots of decking over looking Watauga lake WIFI
Gorgeous views. This shot taken from your deck, Private & Secluded, heavily wooded just a short  walk to the water, boat slip & Canoe.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Driftwood Cottage offers a large hot tub & grill with lots of decking over looking Watauga lake WIFI
Gorgeous views. This shot taken from your deck,
Private & Secluded, heavily wooded just a short  walk to the water, boat slip & Canoe.
Out door fire pit great for roasting marshmallows.
Nice spacious kitchen with all the appliances & amenities from home.
Looking from the kitchen into the living area.
Evening views and sunsets.
Comfortable Chairs and table
Plenty of room for family pets to run around.
Driftwood cottage offers a lot of amenities, great for small families or couples on a budget.
Lots of glass, comfortable furniture, sleeper sofa
Eat in Kitchen
comfortable queen in the private bedroom.
Linens and towels provided
Mirrored Furniture for your belongings
Boat slip & complimentary canoe.
Watauga lake is simply gorgeous!
Watauga lake is 80% Cherokee National Forest.
Local marina offer you rent boats.
Dock where Driftwood has a boat slip
Boat rentals thru the local marina's
Complimentary canoe, paddles & life vests included.
Canoe trip (From the dock) down the river straight into the Cherokee National Forest.
Ready to see some wildlife?
Nearest neighbors.
Be careful driving especially at dusk and dawn.
Bald Eagles nesting in near by tree.
Snow owls and their young.
Lots of families live in this area.
Local traffic
Near by restaurant.
Near by country store, sells fishing supplies, limited groceries & services breakfast lunch & dinner.
Fine dinning is just a 30 min ride.
Hob Nob Farm cafe is one of the favorites.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Butler, Tennessee

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Do not stay here”
Reviewed September 1, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
3
people found this review helpful

First I have to say that the owner seems like a nice fellow. Attentive. When we drove up my wife and I were pretty disappointed in the overall condition of the trailer. I actually apologized to her and offered to go somewhere else. The pictures in the ad are old and need to be updated.The notebook in the trailer is also out of date and needs to be updated. If you are simply renting the trailer for fishing and it's a guy thing, then this trailer will do. It is NOT a place where you want to bring a spouse or GF. Stains on the couch and dog hair on the bed cover. Somewhat limited on silverware. Bathroom did have an odor as a previous reviewer mentioned and a rock was on the bathroom floor. I guess to keep the door open. Best part was the grill. Old fishing boat in the front yard. Overall kinda dumpy for the price. Should be around $80 a night. Also we didn't mind cleaning the dishes but we were asked to start the washing machine for the maid. We paid a cleaning fee. That is her job. This is the second property that we rented over a 3 week period and the other property was also in poor shape. I firmly believe that reviewers need to be accurate in their comments and that owners need current pics and to highly maintain their properties. If the property is not in tip top shape...don't rent it! I am sure that the owner will offer some excuses for the condition but there really aren't any that justify the price and the inaccurate ads need to be corrected. My review on Home Away, this owner said that we met, which was not true. A warning, the pictures are not current.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 14, 2016
Thank you, our entire team tries to be very nice to each and every guest. Wish you had of brought all these disappointing comments to my attention at the time so we could have moved you to a different property and done something, now after the fact there's just not much we can do.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannah
Reviewed September 12, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2013
Thanks so much for staying with us. Driftwood is a cozy one bedroom cottage with a full size sleeper sofa for extra guests. It offers great views of the Cherokee National forest mtn range and views of the lake. The complimentary canoe makes it easy to row directly into the Cherokee National forest, right from your dock. Pontoon rentals thru the local marina's are available anytime of the year and make it easy for you to explore the lake. Driftwood Cottage also offers a hot tub, gas grill & wifi, so you can stay connected with a few luxuries. So glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Know too you'll be offered a return guest discount when ready just let us know.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Baton Rouge
Reviewed May 1, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
toledo
Reviewed April 4, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 4, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your weekend. It is a relaxing place surrounded by peaceful environment.
Its a great place to recharge at a very reasonable rate.
Look forward to hearing from you in the future one day soon.
Remind us that you are a returning guest discount so we can offer you a discounted rate.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Boston
Reviewed October 1, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2011
Glad to hear you all enjoyed yourselves and took advantage of the canoe ride. Look forward to your return trip soon.
Melody
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mulemobil...
Deer Park
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Relaxing getaway”
Reviewed September 2, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

over all a good getaway if you want to be away from it all. Will need to remember to bring ALL the essentials at this property. Including double ply toilet paper, kleenex and Ant spray. The new Bar B Queue needs to be repaired and matches would be a good staple not only for cooking but in case of a power outage. Lots of ants visiting inside the home. Needs a little TLC.
Relaxing area, great views of the mountains and the lake, hot tub was perfect, no cell services but there is a great internet connection. If we are ever in eastern Tennessee we would consider staying again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beautiful mountain setting
Liked least: No dish cloths foil. Bar b Queue not working.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2011
Carmen,
Thanks for the kind words and the constructive ones too. So glad that you enjoyed the views and the Hot tub. Ants usually aren't a problem.We have exterminators come monthly and provide each cabin with Ant Spray under the kitchen sink (some times it gets pushed back behind the other cleaners). Know for your next trip a new gas grill was just delivered! No need to worry about a power outage all our cabins have back up generators. Yes, we are one of the few that provides toilet paper, paper towels, garbage bags & detergents. One reason we do this is to lighten the load of what a guest has to bring. The other reason we provide Toilet paper is to insure it is septic safe, sorry if it wasn't what you were used to. Housekeeping and maintenance are always standing by to assist our guests & provide their contact phone numbers in an extensive welcome package that every guest receives. We are so glad you would return and when you do expect a return guest discount and a big welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Reviewed November 11, 2010 for a stay in September 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 11, 2010
Thank you so much for your complimentary remarks. Know that we look forward to your return visit when you are ready for another mountain get away here on Watauga Lake.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing