We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fair food, poor service”

Pei Wei Asian Diner
Ranked #70 of 141 Restaurants in Brentwood
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Fast Food, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fair food, poor service”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

The lunch crowd overwhelms this place. The staff can't keep up with the orders, and the wait for us was well over 45 minutes, leaving us with little time to go back to work. My Pad Thai was kind of bland, and the noodles were brown rice instead of the white rice noodles I've always had in this dish. It was salty and not very good overall.

The second visit was better (the asian chopped chicken salad was OK - not great) and the service was a lot better given we got there at 11:15 instead of 11:30.

Overall, I'd skip this place for lunch.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank jimmc299012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    25
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quick fast good”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Quick fast good. Try the Mongolian Beef or the Orange Chicken. It's all good and they serve beer to boot.

Helpful?
Thank Susan65_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Could be much better”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Pei Wei is one of these restaurants where you pick your meal, pay, then have it delivered to your table. The restaurant is tight and noisy. Typical conversation is impossible in the restaurant, as the acoustics makes the noise build.
Prices, for Chinese / Vietnamese food is on the higher side (Think $25 per couple if both order their own entree and soft drink. Think higher if you add appetizers.) Many entrees are large enough for two.
Do not recommend the Carmel Chicken. One would think it to be sweet, it is not, and is very spicy... Surprise spicy, as the heat wont hit you until after you are almost completely finished. Most unpleasant.
Had an issue with our order, and the waitstaff balked at taking it back. Half our order came out a full 5 minutes before the other half.
Go find a Panda Express. They are better priced, and tastier.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jalaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashvillle
Level Contributor
523 reviews
388 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
“Value, service, food quality - they have it covered!”
Reviewed February 1, 2011

We have never had a bad meal here and actually not even a mediocre one. On most occasions we choose to dine in but on a couple of occasions we have ordered "to go" at their separate entrance and have been incredibly pleased with the food and the accompanying plates, silverware, condiments, etc

You first order your entree and drinks at the counter, pay for your meal and then are given a number for your table. Shortly thereafter, a server brings the food to your table with a smile and "is there anything else I can get you?" There are fortune cookies and take out containers on the drink bar so you can package your own.

Our favorite dishes are the noodles and chicken or shrimp. The kids' portions are incredibly generous and my 10 and 14 year old daughters are full afterwards. You can interchange white, brown or fried rice or even thai noodles in any of the dishes.

If you have a large group, there are several tall top tables that can be put together so that everyone can share in the food and fun.

As another reviewer said, why pay for P F Changs with you can get the same food (same company owns both restaurants) for less at Pei Wei?

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
338 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
“Just didnt do it for me”
Reviewed February 10, 2010

I've had Asian food before and ive liked it. In fact, i got the Chicken Pad Thai which ive had before but it was different and really didnt appeal to me. Just a personal opinion though. The place was packed for lunch so obviously people love it and i can say the floor manager was a good guy and had control of everything. Decently priced and id give it another shot, just didnt impress me right off.

G Man

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GMan5431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pei Wei Asian Diner also viewed

 

Been to Pei Wei Asian Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing