We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude Hostess started the night!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wild Iris

Wild Iris
Reserve with OpenTable
Wild Iris is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 141 Restaurants in Brentwood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Town Center Way
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Rude Hostess started the night!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

After arriving in Brentwood (weekend of the Nashville marathon) we chose Wild Iris because it was close. We arrived a little before 6pm. Keep in mind the time! Before 6 pm. The restaurant was not full - had several empty tables. The hostess "greeted" us with what can only be assumed to be the usual "How Many?" - 2, party of 2. She looked at her reservation list and said (add the appropriate TONE here) "Can you get out by 7:00?" I assume she was expecting a great influx of business in an hour! We replied that yes, we could eat in an hour, so she allowed us to have a table.
After being seated our waiter (nice guy) came to the table and said "I understand you are in a hurry". We replied that no, we were not in a hurry but had been told that our table was limited to an hour!
He did not rush us (at least not too much). We observed at least 4 empty 2 tops and 3-4 tables for 4 - all remained empty during our 1 hour stay. From my spouse, as we try to remember the food (memory is overwhelmed by the rude hostess) - he says food was good, not spectacular. We obviously did not even think about dessert!
FYI- As we left BEFORE 7:00 - there was not a waiting crowd at the door! You know, 1 person can really ruin your dinner sometimes. Hopefully the Wild Iris management team will offer some training to this young lady.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank hrs1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    60
    16
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denville, NJ
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice business lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Great food...packed dining room...stellar service!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank woofdoc31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Tasty and Pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

A friend and I decided to try Wild Iris since we had not been there in years. This restaurant was recently recommended in Nashville Lifestyles magazine as one of the top restaurants in the area.

We both had a glass of wine (I still don't like paying over $10 for a glass of wine) and we shared the artisan cheese plate. I had the pecan encrusted salmon and my friend had the pork chop. My salmon was good. No extraordinary but good. My friend said the pork chop was spicy. While she likes spicy it was, apparently, a little too much. We shared a piece of chocolate torte cake for dessert.

With tip included, my total bill was about $50.

Will we go back? Yes but want to try other options in the area first.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dixiebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
115 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

While in Nashville for a TN Titians football game, we asked the hotel staff about a restaurant in the area. They said they had heard good things about Wild Iris.

Our visit was a wonderful restaurant experience. The room was very intimate, the waiter was knowledgeable, the menu was interesting and the food and wine were perfect. It was not an inexpensive experience, but it was well worth it. We enjoyed every facet of the experience.

The location is in a small, upscale shopping area. We needed GPS to find it.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Goman94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Have eaten here in the past”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

The food is very good and the service was terrific. Did not stop on this trip, but it is an excellent restaurant

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bill_Rocketscientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wild Iris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing