We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmet Tacos!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Local Taco

Local Taco
Ranked #34 of 143 Restaurants in Brentwood
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Bar scene, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gourmet Tacos!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Their dishes all seemed well crafted and the taste was amazing! I loved this place! They make their own sauces. Service was a little slow, but the place was very busy. It's hard to find a seat during the lunch rush.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Noel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    53
    34
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ARKANSAS
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Went to Local Taco on a Saturday afternoon while on a visit to Nashville. Good Guacamole. Good Korean Beef Taco. Chicken Enchiladas were excellent as well. Would recommend if you're in Nashville/Brentwood.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ratv4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Major disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Local Taco had a lot of promise when it first opened, especially since Brentwood has always lacked in great restaurant options. The location is sub-par, but the open air seating (either outside or inside, depending on whether the garage door-style windows are up) is definitely a plus. But sadly, over time, Local Taco has continued to diminish as a place I'd consider taking my family, much less out-of-town guests. We went to have dinner there last week and had to wait about an hour, which seemed ridiculous considering it was 7:15 on a Wednesday night. To make matters worse, their waiting area is basically non-existent. With three kiddos, and a heat factor of about 90 degrees, waiting wasn't exactly ideal, but we have always loved Local Taco and were committed to sticking it out. Once we were seated - inside, but with windows down and the A/C presumably blasting - we realized that we were still hot... the A/C wasn't working well in the back and the fan over our table was broken. It took an hour to get our food, and the order was missing my son's quite simple quesadilla... which meant we had to contend with a rather upset - and by this time, exhausted - two year-old. When all the meals were finally all on the table, neither the waitress nor the manager ever apologized for the heat, the exceptionally slow service or the fact that they had forgotten one meal altogether. The food was decent, but unfortunately it already has a rather low rating in some of our family members' books, so this experience was sort of like the proverbial nail in the coffin. And after almost $60 for two child-sized quesadillas, a salad and an enchilada plate, I don't think those nails are coming up anytime soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Boothe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
287 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Tasteless Mexican”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

I had the ten hour brisket and queso cauliflower and jalapeño cole slaw. Brisket - ok. Cauliflower - no tast. Jalapeño cole slaw - tasteless. We had the queso to start - tasteless. My daughter had the fish taco with Mexican rice and Cuban corn. Fish taco - ok. Cuban corn ok. Mexican rice - did not like. My wife had the tequila chicken lime - ok. The server was good.

Big disappointment. Don't waste your money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rkaemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Ohio
Level Contributor
147 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great taco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We had fish tacos, excellent!. Cool open atmosphere. Good prices and service. The salsa and chips were good too. We will be back

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vdubfixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Local Taco also viewed

 

Been to Local Taco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing