We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch!”
Review of Judge Bean's BBQ

Judge Bean's BBQ
Order Online
Ranked #6 of 163 Restaurants in Brentwood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Description: THE BEST BBQ EAST OF TEXAS When you come to Judge Bean's, we want you to feel at home. We want to you to get good, home-cooked food straight off the pit, side dishes that will make your mouth water and and an experience that is unique to our place. That's a tall order, but it's a promise we do our best to make good on every day we open the doors. At Judge Bean's, a lot of folks say we have our own vibe. And that is true. We're not your typical BBQ joint. We're better than that.
Restaurant details
Description: THE BEST BBQ EAST OF TEXAS When you come to Judge Bean's, we want you to feel at home. We want to you to get good, home-cooked food straight off the pit, side dishes that will make your mouth water and and an experience that is unique to our place. That's a tall order, but it's a promise we do our best to make good on every day we open the doors. At Judge Bean's, a lot of folks say we have our own vibe. And that is true. We're not your typical BBQ joint. We're better than that.
Reviewed November 11, 2018 via mobile

I'd give this place 5 stars for the service alone! I had called ahead to see if they were busy because of a football game. They said to come on in. I asked to sit at the bar and I was immediately family! I had the bartender choose an entre for me. Everything was amazing... Pulled pork, brisket, fried okra and mac & cheese. That's the green beans in the photo, very popular side here. I wasn't crazy about the smoky flavor and was allowed to swap them out for the fresh mac & cheese. Can't wait to go back and try the ribs, homemade fries and wings!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank renat6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 356 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2018 via mobile

Best brisket I’ve had in a long time. Very tender and not loaded with fat. Cole slaw, green beans, potato salad and cowboy beans were all excellent. Good fries, too. The waitress was friendly and efficient and even offered us to-go cups of drinks.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank cabushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2018

On a hotel staff recommendation for a good BBQ nearby, hubby and I tried Judge Bean's. We've got nothing to compare it to with regards to local BBQ, but we thought the food was decent. The service from Erica was excellent. We ordered a 1/2 rack of ribs, side potato salad & green beans, Smokehouse combo (pulled chicken, brisket) with sweet potato fries and turnip greens, couple of beers and wine. A basket of tortilla chips & warm smokey salsa arrived at the table upon seating. The salsa was excellent with just the right amount of heat.

Ribs - meaty and flavorful
Potato salad - Good flavor and texture
Green beans - Overcooked and bland, but hubby liked them
Pulled chicken - Relatively bland and dry until BBQ sauce added. Appeared to be chicken breast meat. A combo of breast and thigh would help the dry factor.
Brisket - Excellent. Tender, not overcooked, good flavor
Sweet Potato fries - appeared to be baked, very good, not over-seasoned allowing the natural sweetness to come through.
Turnip greens - Not overcooked, but bland and boring. Was hoping for something more "southern" (like bacon) in flavor.
There was a white dipping sauce which went well on the brisket and fries. It had a hint of horseradish and was quite tasty. The red wine (dry) which is a boxed blend was very drinkable.

Total bill came in around $44.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cosmopolitan802756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2018 via mobile

After a 6 hour drive this place hit the spot. Pulled pork was great (not surprising) but the fish tacos were unexpectedly fantastic as a lighter option. Sides including corn, greens, black beans and potato salad were all good.

Things are moving/busy but overall ambiance is mellow and friendly. Service was prompt, helpful and billing went quickly.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank 1949hodad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2018 via mobile

The title really says it all. Externally, it looks like a shack with a tin roof. Inside it is buzzing with lots of customers being served by servers who are permanently rushing. The food is fantastic. This is what barbecue is all about. The brisket is to die for. The pork sublime. I could go on but you are getting the message that this is the best BBQ I have ever tasted. Try the spicy BBQ sauce - fantastic. If you are in Brentwood, go there and give yourself a really cheap, fantastic meal.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank sgdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Judge Bean's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Judge Bean's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing