We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spiritual journey.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wounded Knee Massacre Monument

More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A small monument to the natives killed in the Wounded Knee massacre.
california
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Spiritual journey.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Could not visit the Pine Ridge Reservation without visiting Wounded Knee. One cannot visit this very sad and spiritual place and not leave unchanged. The road getting up the hill is a little hard to navigate so we parked halfway up and walked the rest of the way. The cemetary surrounding the mass graves has many old graves as well as some recent. Sadly this sacred place is not well kept which is too bad as these many souls should be respected. Bless these souls that were so wrongly murdered.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank trip_lady15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    40
    16
    18
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Sad place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

This was a necessary emotional stop for me as I visited SD. The site is off the beaten path, has limited signage, and could stand upgrades. However, I'm glad I went there and thought about what this country has done to our Native Americans.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrea Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
541 reviews
257 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Not worth a 240 mile detour though”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Went out of my way to view. Clearly more famous in UK owing to old Western films than in USA. In fact the USA treatment of Native Americans reminded me of Australians and Aboriginals ; not happy with the past but of sight is out of mind .It dioes move the soul when you know what happened . This was the take away thought and perhaps was also valuable experience in case I got confused ,Something very sad about the whole thing.Even the Tripadvisor review template cheapens the whole thing - food for sale ,buggy parking just all seem irrelevant to some place . i

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Spartan, but if you're not moved, check your pulse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

The memorial and mass grave at the site is not a tourist trap at all and has not been developed, which is just the way I want it. Usually, there is someone in attendance at the gravesite, and also at the museum, which is a circular hopi at the base of the hill with interesting historical sayings inscribed on the walls. Native crafts are for sale across the road, and in the museum itself. Many of the residents showed great dignity, which made an impression on my kids, considering this is one of the poorest areas of the US. One of the sellers invited us to camp on his land next time we visited, and they treated us like family. We were invited to a Sun Dance, but had to leave the area before it took place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank dtmguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Visiting Wounded Knee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

It was heartbreaking but important to visit this sacred spot where so many needlessly lost their lives.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank ImTLC4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wounded Knee Massacre Monument also viewed

 

Been to Wounded Knee Massacre Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing