We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winner 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Winner
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Winner
Litchfield, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Winner 2012”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The room and property were very well cared for. The check in was pleasant and efficient. The breakfast area and meal was very complete, pancake make vs waffle maker, and the worker was courteous and asked if we had everything we needed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    21
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
13
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Very nice front desk staff. The pool was nice, but the hot tub was not working (I overheard some kid say that someone ???ed in the hot tub - I think he didn't know what he was talking about, but if that was the case, I am glad it was closed.) I liked the non-slip surface at the pool. The pool towels ran out and the front desk person brought in regular bathroom towels - twice, so there would be enough. She seemed to genuinely enjoy how much fun the kids were having in the pool!
Breakfast was really nice. Large seating area. Laundry was a welcome extra, too!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sultan, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

The lady at check in was extremely pleasant. The rooms were very nice, clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was very good as well. Can't think of anything negative about this hotel. Oh yeah, the pool and jacuzzi were better than expected as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed here one night. It is generally a good hotel, but our room showed signs of lack of maintenance and marginal housekeeping. The bathroom had paint and wall board peeling and the tub was not clean in some areas.

We rented a King Suite, but it lacked some features of King Suites at other hotels in the chain. There was no easy chair, only a couch, and it was a bit crowded. Shampoo in the bath was partially used by a previous guest.

And, like many Holiday Inn Express hotels, the desk chair was such that it was impossible to use a laptop on the desk. The chair simply does not adjust high enough. So, while they save money in purchasing a cheap and crummy chair, this customer is not going to stay in their hotels unless it is all that is available in a particular place.

See pictures illustrating the problem.

Apparently this chain thinks people travel like when they started over 50 years ago and assume nobody uses laptops on a desk! Except they had a very useable ethernet lan available in addition to wifi. Doesn't make sense. Somebody in this chain - and for sure this hotel - just doesn't understand what travelers need these days. And, I suspect they just don't care or they would not do such stupid things.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johndeereguy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Winner, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear johndeereguy59,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on your recent stay. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. I'm deeply sorry you were not satisfied with your room accommodations. It is regrettable we fell below your expectations. I have taken note of your comments and I will make sure that this will be looked into and be forwarded to the departments involved. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you give us a chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Glad we chose Holiday Inn Express for our stay at Winner. Carla helped check us in and later chatted with us while we were waiting for our room and again next morning in breakfast area. Such a nice lady. Room was fresh and clean. Slept great. Carla suggested Holiday House for dinner and steak dinner was great. Great breakfast choices and plenty of them at HIE. Great rate for out one night stay also. Only negative was slight delay waiting for clean room and it was already after check in time 3 PM. Was worth the wait. Thanks Carla and all staff there!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimeTravelerToo2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Dalles, ORegon, USA
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Strolled into Winner early evening and delighted to find a Holiday Inn Express. Good rates. Nice staff.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gulf-to-gulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

My family and I stayed here as a stopover on a long road trip. We were very pleased upon our arrival. The hotel was very comfortable, clean, and quiet. The breakfast was very good, and included a wide variety of options. The employee behind the desk was very friendly while checking-inn.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 44Heavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winner
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Winner SD
Super 8 Winner SD
#2 of 2 in Winner
78 reviews
0.3 mi away
Warrior Inn Motel
Warrior Inn Motel
#2 of 2 in Winner
15 reviews
23.1 mi away
Gray House Motel
Gray House Motel
#1 of 2 in Gregory
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Winner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Winner

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Winner
Address: 1360 E Highway 44, Winner, SD 57580-1324
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Winner
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Winner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Winner 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the award winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, Winner, SD. Located on the scenic drive to the Black Hills & Mount Rushmore in America's heartland, you will be surrounded by beautiful rolling hills, tranquility, gorgeous sunsets, and abundant wildlife. The Winner Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is located in the Pheasant Hunting Capital of the World. We even have a kennel for your dog! Nearby, the Missouri River provides world class walleye and bass fishing as well as recreational boating and skiing. Big game hunters will appreciate the abundance of deer and antelope. Conveniently located near many dining options and other recreational activities, the Winner Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is the place to Stay Smart! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Winner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing