We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“peaceful,calming and lovely”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Valasay Cottage

Over the footbridge to Valasay cottage from your dedicated parking area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Over the footbridge to Valasay cottage from your dedicated parking area
Large new fully-equipped kitchen with dishwasher and 2 stoves (1 electric & 1 multi-fuel) Multi-fuel stove burns wood & coal for traditional croft-house cooking. Makes terrific scones & stew
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Over the footbridge to Valasay cottage from your dedicated parking area
Large new fully-equipped kitchen with dishwasher and 2 stoves (1 electric & 1 multi-fuel)
Multi-fuel stove burns wood & coal for traditional croft-house cooking. Makes terrific scones & stew
Master bedroom. New bed. Generous cupboard / storage space. New dressing & bedside tables. Clock.
Second bedroom. New beds, bedside tables & sitting chair. Mirror. Generous cupboard & drawer space.
Lounge / Sitting Area With Large TV and Multi-Fuel Stove
Alternate view of lounge
Bathroom with new furniture (2016). Electric shower, bath, basin and storage cupboard.
Looking from lounge to new front door. Wooden flooring, coat hanger, shoe holder and umbrella stand
Large enclosed mature gardens with all day sun and plenty of sitting areas providing stunning views.
Footpath leading to Valasay Cottage
Sheep are normally in the field next to the cottage and are quite friendly
A view from the front garden
Photo from the footbridge outside Valasay Cottage
Outside the cottage at dusk
Another view from the footbridge
View Outside The Cottage on The Footbridge
View of cottage from the footbridge
Fabulous Bosta Beach - Only 4 miles away
View of Valasay Tob from nearby hills
Bosta Beach and Viking Mill
View out the cottage over the sea
Highland cows on Bosta Beach - Only 4 miles away
Uig Sands, only a short drive away. A massive expanse of golden sands. Great picnic location.
Plentry of coves to explore in the surrounding area, most with either sandy or shingle beaches
A misty morning view from the cottage
from the rear of the cottage you can access the Great Bernera walk with spectacular views
a statue commemorating the Viking Chessmen discovered on nearby Uig Sands (beach)
Please enjoy your stay!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Great Bernera, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
derekr145...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“peaceful,calming and lovely”
Reviewed May 18, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

cottage has everything you need, garden wildlife ( wee bunnies and their mum and dad, loads of different birds ) was lovely to watch as we sat chilling out. the causeway over to the cottage caused us no problems, constantly stopped whilst crossing just to admire the views. LUCKY with the weather which was a bonus. Sunsets at the back of the cottage were amazing, loads of photo's of them. Perfect place if you want to escape from the outside world. only down side was travelling when you wanted to go anyplace but on hols so no rush and got there eventually.
Had a wee problem with no hot water but Kenneth managed to get it sorted and kept in touch in case we needed anything else, 1st class service from him.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErinM83
New Haven, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Post-Engagement/Holiday Retreat!”
Reviewed January 7, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My boyfriend proposed to me on Christmas Day and booked Valasay Cottage for a week as a nice surprise to celebrate our engagement, my birthday, and New Year's. The weather on Lewis was pretty bad, so we didn't really feel that motivated to go outside. (With that said, we did visit Callanish, which is very close by.) However, Valasay Cottage is so delightful that neither of us wanted to leave!

Between two adults and a medium-sized dog, there was plenty of space. (I imagine that it would be perfect for a small family too, as there are two bedrooms - one containing a double bed and one with two twin beds.) The cottage itself is very clean and had pretty much everything one could need, including digital TV with a built-in DVD player, kitchen supplies, a pod coffee machine, a dog bed and bowl, candles, fluffy towels, and a nice selection of books, board games, and DVDs. There was even a Wii! We couldn't get the wifi to work, but to be honest, we didn't really try or contact the owners about it either. We kind of liked being cutoff from the outside world! However, other reviewers have said that when they contacted the owners, they were able to sort it out very quickly. Stuart had a lot of fun using the wood-burning stoves in the living room and kitchen. (I had a lot of fun feeling consistently warm!)

The owners were also very helpful, communicative, and overall, wonderful hosts. They helped make our engagement celebration very special. And, when our package got rerouted to their home near Aberdeen a few days before we got to VC, they immediately had it sent to the local post office and we were able to pick it up the day after we arrived!

The grounds themselves are lovely. We were hoping for Northern Lights, which I imagine would have been easily visible at VC due to how dark it gets at night, but alas, it was very overcast and there were no major solar storms on Lewis while we were there. Oh well! This didn't impact our stay at Valasay Cottage as we had a truly fantastic experience. If we return to Lewis, we'd definitely want to stay here again.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JStone197...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage in a lovely peaceful location”
Reviewed August 24, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Very impressed with the cottage, very well presented, cosy and very clean. It's location is stunning, so very peaceful too. Close to lovely countryside and beach walks. We are nature enthusiasts so delighted to see local wildlife. Owners extremely helpful, great communication and information.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2016
Thank you for the feedback. Glad you enjoyed the well-earned break!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yargdivad
Edinburgh
1 review
“Excellent Cottage - Remote but well equipped and welcoming”
Reviewed August 4, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The cottage, whilst remote was well presented, well equipped and very clean and a good base for visiting the islands with a great beachnearby. Perfect for a getaway. Would advise picking up most groceries en route in a large Town such as Stornoway. Wi-Fi signal was welcome especially with teenagers. Would recommend

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 9, 2016
Thank you David, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston
Reviewed July 25, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfy beds - we all slept like logs!
Liked least: Intermittent Wifi but that's standard for a remote location so we weren't too upset!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2016
Awww.. Thanks Michelle. We are so happy you and your family had a great time
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Carol M
Brora, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage - Great Location!”
Reviewed January 27, 2016 for a stay in October 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We visited in October and although the weather was wet and windy we had a terrific time visiting the local beaches and coves.

The cottage is extremely private with views out over the inlet, we did manage to catch a glimpse of a seal! I understand a new kitchen is being put in early 2016.

Recommend this property for a short break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: October Weather!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 2, 2016
Thanks Carol, glad you had a great time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone E
Neumagen-Dhron
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2017
Thank you Simone! We try hard to make things perfect for our holiday-makers

Take care
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing