We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stylish, comfortable accommodation in attractive...”
other travelers have booked this property
The house, the loch and the sea beyond from the hill opposite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house, the loch and the sea beyond from the hill opposite
The open plan living area The living room in winter
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
The house, the loch and the sea beyond from the hill opposite
The open plan living area
The living room in winter
The dining room
Kitchen
Front door
Secure store
Downstairs bedroom 1
upstairs bedroom 2
Upstairs bedroom 3
Upstairs shower room
Downstairs bathroom
House from across the loch
Little Bernera
Bosta Beach
Bosta Beach
Iron age house at Bosta
Stornoway looking quaint
Northern lights from Bosta beach October 14
Bernera standing stones with Bernera bridge behind
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Great Bernera, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Gordon M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stylish, comfortable accommodation in attractive location”
Reviewed October 22, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Loch View proved to be our best holiday rental in the Hebrides in terms of our requirements.
We are fussy clients and want to be able to wander the hills and beaches in inclement weather, then return to a welcoming, warm and designed interior. We enjoyed the results of thoughtful planning which produced the outer store area where wet gear is stowed, a sheltered porch for boots etc and a proper coat rack to hang heavy outdoor gear. The addition of the tumble dryer within the utility room is so important for quickly completing a mid-week wash, ready for the next day's excursion.
The interior palette, room arrangements, kitchen equipment et al more than satisfied our fastidious tastes.
During our week, we concentrated our attentions between Uig Sands and the Butt of Lewis, enjoyed visiting Blue Pig and Borgh Studios, went Coastal Rowing with RowFlo on Loch Carloway, bird-watching at Loch na Muilne and Loch Stiapavat, beach-walking at Uig, Traigh na Berie and of course Bosta, and eating local produce from The Scallop Shack, Miavaig and fresh crabs supplied by Derek, local fisherman. From the cottage, we watched golden eagles and ravens overhead, starlings and wrens in the garden (and the Bernera wrens are a recognised sub-species) so at Loch View if you were inclined towards a 'lazy' morning, the wildlife comes to you!
A full and delightful week.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Lovely.”
Reviewed October 12, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We chose to stay at Loch View after seeing an article about the property in Coast magazine and we were not disappointed. This has to be the nicest self catering accommodation we have ever stayed in. The house is immaculate, clean, warm and fully equipped even down to coffee, tea, herbs, spices etc. all the things that make your stay so relaxing and comfortable. If you are looking for somewhere peaceful, clean and thoroughly relaxing look no further. Thank you Sally and Richard for sharing your home with us.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C66
central scotland
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Luxury living in an idyllic location”
Reviewed September 15, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

What can I say that has not already been said - this is the finest holiday home that we have ever stayed in and we've been to a few! We booked the house to celebrate my husband's 50th birthday and travelled with family. With 6 adults in the house, you still felt that you had your own space and we loved every minute of our stay. The photos don't do it justice, you have to see it to believe it.

The house was so well equipped with literally anything that you might need. Instructions for all appliances were supplied so there was no issue there.

House was ideally situated for exploring both Lewis and Harris. We were out every day discovering glorious beaches and breathtaking scenery.

We had a fantastic holiday and Sally could not have been more helpful. We were in contact by email and phone, nothing was too much trouble.

This is a gem of a holiday home and would not hesitate to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrs Shona...
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in astounding setting”
Reviewed September 15, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Probably the nicest self catering cottage we have stayed in, superbly laid out and fully equipped, very restful decor & some of the most comfortable furnishings ever experienced by us. The view and the peaceful surroundings are second to none, a wonderful find.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PipingShr...
Westborough, Massachusetts
1 review
“Land of my heart!”
Reviewed August 14, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We have stayed in a lot of self-catering cottages over the last 28 years of visiting Scotland (four times on Lewis!) and I have to say that Loch View is one of the finest we have ever encountered! Sally and Richard have provided absolutely everything needed for the ultimate stay in their beautifully decorated house on Great Bernera. It was a pleasure to arrive from the states and have an organized, comprehensive guide to the workings of all the UK appliances, locks, etc. The house was immaculate, quiet, and spacious with an extrordinary view out on to the rocky hills. The walk to nearby Bosta Beach was energizing and the weather so warm and sunny we could swim in the gorgeous turquoise water. Sally was incredibly helpful and always available via email for any questions. We made daily visits to all parts of Lewis and Harris including the the extensive beach at Uig, standing stones, brochs, the Heb Celt festival, Lews Castle, shopping in Stornaway, hiking the land, and of course sampling the new distillery at Tarbert, Harris. The only thing I would do differently is book more than one week! Fabulous!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mat845
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Loch View...stunning in every way!”
Reviewed August 6, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

A stunning house- an idyllic location close to beautiful Bosta Beach. We have 3 children and the house had more than enough room. The bedrooms were great- really comfy beds and very well furnished. There was a bathroom downstairs which was really useful when coming in from the beach.

The living are is what makes this place really special. We found ourselves gazing out to the loch all the time...the colours of the sky and the water changed all the time. The house has been very tastefully decorated. It's spotless- really clean and modern but still retains character. It felt like a really special place to stay. There is everything you need- we did wash clothes in the utility room and the house is so well stocked with essentials that staying there was a dream. There was outdoor furniture and even fishing nets for the kids. There is a stunning fire but we never used it because of the high quality central heating system.

The owners stayed in contact with us but were never intrusive and were really helpful offering advice about things to do. There is a good welcome pack that was also sent through electronically beforehand- really useful so we knew what to take etc.

It's a good base for seeing the famous Callanish Stones, the famous Broch and Blackhouses. There's so much to see and do and a bit of reading before you arrive is useful. The weather was great. There was some rain...and by rain I mean the stuff that really soaks you through! But there was also lots of sunshine and we all actually got sunburnt!

There is so much we learned whilst we were there... it's such an amazing adventure. The kids loved the ferry rides, we all loved the amazing beaches...Bosta was so lovely and perfect for us. There's an interesting tide bell and an Iron Age house to look at there too- if you get bored of the turquoise water and clean white sand! If you're prepared to explore like we were there are stunning beaches at places such as Uig and a bit further on Harris the beaches rival the best in the world. Luskentyre, Scarista and many others make you wonder why people ever use a passport!! Oh...and you'll probably be the only people on these beaches too!!! It's difficult to believe the pictures but it's true- those beaches take your breath away.

The Chessmen at Uig and plenty of other great museums offer things to do if the weather isn't perfect. Stornaway is lovely and bigger than we anticipated. 2 big supermarkets and plenty of shops. The Arts Centre is great- lots to do and good cake! The Hebridean Hotel in Tarbut offers amazing home cooked food. The kids meals were £6 each...a drink, a starter, a main course and a pudding- all home made and fantastic quality. They also do brilliant pizzas.

If you're looking for an amazing adventure, staying in an idyllic location in a stunning cottage this is for you! Huge mountains, fascinating history, warm and friendly locals who are really helpful, world class beaches that are never busy, views that take your breath away and peace and quiet.

After a week we all felt really relaxed and happier as a family- you couldn't ask for anything more really.

We can't recommend this cottage enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JubilyJoe...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect secluded location”
Reviewed July 31, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Lovely new built property fitted out to a high standard. Location is beautiful with Bosta beach less than a mile away and stunning views from the cottage itself. Would definitely stay there again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing