We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent venue for visiting this beautiful...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Seaview House

Seaview House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Seaview House
Front of Seaview Looking down on Seaview House from the Valasay to Bosta walk route
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Seaview House
Front of Seaview
Looking down on Seaview House from the Valasay to Bosta walk route
Looking over to the Uig hills
Tobson village
Looking over to Valasay
Upstair View
Hall/ Stair
Hallway
May 14 update of sitting room
Sitting Room View 2
Kitchen
Kitchen
Main Bathroom Luxury Spa/Steam shower
Bunk beds
SuperKing Room View 1
SuperKing Room View 2
Double Room
Double room En-suite
Twin Room
Twin Room En-suite
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Great Bernera, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rob B
1 review
“Excellent venue for visiting this beautiful corner of Lewis”
Reviewed June 16, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Seaview is a very comfortable well appointed house. It coped very well with 8 adults staying there for a week with excellent provision of catering needs and comfortable bedrooms and lounge. It is just 200metres from a lovely beach with great views over Loch Roag and not far from the Callanish stones and the iron age house. We used it as a base for sea kayaking and it was very well positioned for a number of trips. It is well looked after and has all you need for a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giblets
Bolton, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Even The Midges Didn't Bite!”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Seaview House for a week in July and we wish we had booked for two. The place is absolutely lovely, the setting stunning and the support from Anne and Maureen, who lives nearby was exemplary. Seaview house has three double/twin bedrooms each with its own bathroom and that was the major plus for us. It was exceptionally clean and tidy and looked as if it had been recently redecorated. We are mostly walkers so we did the Great Bernera trail (in two legs) and walked across to Bosta Beach one day.

The weather was so good that we ate outside a couple of evenings and not a midge in sight! The only slight downside is that there wasn't a barbecue because it would most certainly have been used.

Great Bernera is a good place to stay to visit the rest of Lewis and we also toured Harris. Be sure to stock up on food because there is only a small local shop nearby. The Tesco's in Stornoway is dreadful, the Coop much better and there is a wonderful butcher next to it.

By the way, there is no mobile phone signal at Seaview house and the WiFi is (as expected in such an isolated place) painfully slow. I was very happy with that though as noone could mither me!

I'd go back to Seaview House tomorrow!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house itself and its setting
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pcq01
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Outstanding.....”
Reviewed May 30, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage has everything and more and the location was perfect for us, its only about a mile and a half from Bosta Beach which has plenty of parking, Iron Age House, and one of my favourite beaches on Lewis, the views and sand are stunning and we mostly had it to ourselves, we shared if with a friendly film crew one day. Its a great spot for getting around to other locations too but you don't have to venture far if you don't want to. Cliff beach and the dramatic waves at Ness beach was lovely, we also visited the Stones and the Blackhouse Village, we enjoyed a picnic on the beach there at the bottom of the village, well worth doing and watched a stunning sunset with our children at 10pm in T'shirts, amazing!!!!
The owners of the cottage Mr & Mrs Macdonald were so helpful before we came, nothing was to much trouble. The bonus was we saw a Deer and Golden Eagle within a couple of miles of the cottage. We will be back and I'm now going to enjoy my last evening with a glass of wine outside taking in the beautiful view from the veranda. Thanks so much..ps the children (and me) loved the all singing dancing bath - bubbles, lights & steam :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & beautiful cottage
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Reviewed August 5, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Montrose
Reviewed May 3, 2013 for a stay in December 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing