We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great retreat”
other travelers have booked this property
Sea Views from Atlantic View Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sea Views from Atlantic View Cottage
The Bright and Sunny Kitchen View from the Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
Sea Views from Atlantic View Cottage
The Bright and Sunny Kitchen
View from the Kitchen
The Kitchen has 3 windows making it very sunny
The Twin Room Converts to Superking
Master Bedroom with Solid Oak King Size Bed
The Spacious Family Bathroom
Sea Views from Atlantic View Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Great Bernera, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mikehayne...
Nyaungshwe, Myanmar
2 reviews
“Great retreat”
Reviewed October 9, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We had a great stay at the cottage, warmly welcomed by Anne, with great recommendations of what to do in the area. We enjoyed the beautiful coastal walk on the island (and managed a swim!) and ate some great food, all from locally made produce. It was well worth the drive and the ferry journey, such a special part of the world.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuck96
london
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage in a great location”
Reviewed September 25, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Just returned from a lovely week at this cottage. Great location, well decorated and great little touches. The cake on arrival was very welcome and Anne was very helpful with the details on the cottage as well as ideas for places to visit. The walk to Bostadh beach was great and nice to be able to do from the cottage itself. Loved the Isle of lewis overall even with the very changeable weather. Cottage is incredibly peaceful and warm. Would definitely go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david28kn...
Settle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well equipped and comfortable accommodation in beautiful, peaceful location.”
Reviewed August 31, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Atlantic View Cottage was everything we were expecting. The cottage was clean, modern and very well equipped; the WiFi was very useful, as well as being able to keep up with emails it also enabled us to research potential places to visit. After the inevitable long journey to get there it was very kind of Anne to meet us at 10pm to show us around the house and answer any questions, she also left us some beautiful cake and fresh flowers. The cottage has great views onto sea lochs with a fantastic range of birds and wildlife. The coastal walk from the doorstep is amazing and ends at Bosta Beach with it's own reconstructed Iron Age house. It's also just a few minuets drive to Bosta Beach from the house. As artist's the location had so much to offer and we were lucky enough to be able to paint every day. We slept very well in the very comfortable bed and, apart from the odd sheep or bird, absolutely no noise. We highly recommend Atlantic View Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The situation of the cottage
Liked least: Having to come home.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B
1 review
“look no further!”
Reviewed August 19, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This cottage is beautifully maintained is in a great location and has a charming and helpful host. As good as it gets and i am pretty choosy!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MazzaBee
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superb!”
Reviewed July 23, 2016 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed at Atlantic View Cottage for 7 nights from September 26th 2015 and were delighted with every aspect of this beautiful cottage, situated in an idyllic location. Two workmen were giving the outside of the cottage a fresh coat of paint but they in no way affected our enjoyment of the cottage and were friendly and polite when we greeted them and complimented them on their handiwork, they did a great job!
Anne was a great host and the home-made cake which greeted our arrival was delicious. The cottage is superb, the views from the kitchen windows are stunning and sitting on the garden bench to watch the sunlight was just perfect. We had a slight mishap when a poorly executed parking manoeuvre meant two wheels ended up in a ditch alongside the parking bay and the other two wheels lost contact with the ground, however disaster was averted when Ann's lovely neighbour spotted our plight and brought his van to drag the car back on to tarmac, for which we were very thankful. The beaches on Lewis and Harris are stunning and residents are friendly and welcoming, if we return to Lewis, I would want to stay at Atlantic View Cottage again, because it is one of my favourite holiday cottages ever!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the cottage and the superb location
Liked least: Not seeing any otters!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisrmor...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We were looking for peace, seclusion and immersion in the natural world and Atlantic View ticked all the boxes.”
Reviewed July 11, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were looking for peace, seclusion and immersion in the natural world and Atlantic View ticked all the boxes.
It is a self contained croft on the Island of Great Bernera, fully refurbished to a high standard and with natural light filling each room.
The central heating was efficient and responsive, if the room temperature required a boost, and there was hot water on demand at all times - just the thing for a hot shower or bath after a long walk. The kitchen is well equipped which worked well for us as we preferred to eat at home at the end of a day out walking.
There are views of the sea from the kitchen and a seawater loch lies just behind the property.
From the cottage there is a coastal walk up to Bostadh Beach at the top end of the Island, crossing two bridges from which you can watch the tide flowing at a pace in and out of sea lochs.
A car is essential if you want to get out and about, and bring your food supplies for the week with you as the local shop stocks bare essentials only. (The community shop at Timsgarry, Uig, is nearest good supermarket). Stornaway has both a large Co-operative and a Tesco.
Anne Ryan, the owner, is relaxed, informative and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and home comforts such as good central heating + hot water
Liked least: There is nothing adverse to report.
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edraupp
North Hampton, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A perfect getaway on Lewis”
Reviewed June 16, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We wanted to put our feet down on a place about which we were writing, to know something about the area, and to be able to write. Anne and Chris gave us the opportunity in this lovely home to do what we came to do. Two spacious bedrooms. A kitchen with modern appliances for cooking, laundry, and dish washing. A fast wi-fi. A well-stocked book shelf for all ages, along with a selection of DVDs. We were enormously pleased with our two weeks at Atlantic View Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Solitude
Liked least: Too short a stay
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing