We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely amazing”
other travelers have booked this property
Valasay is seen here on the left.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Valasay is seen here on the left.
This is the view from the double bedroom window looking over the Kyles of Valasay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
95 reviews
Valasay is seen here on the left.
This is the view from the double bedroom window looking over the Kyles of Valasay
Valasay showing the tidal sea loch
The house at 25 Valasay
The well equipped kitchen has everything you would expect and perhaps some things you wouldn't
This photo looks up the Kyles of Valasay from the main part of our croft.
There's an amazing sense of calmness at Bosta that I can't quite describe.
On the Bosta walk from Valasay
This aerial shot shows the view
The master bedroom has a king size bed made from solid oak.
The twin room has views of the back garden and croft land
The view from the master bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Great Bernera, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 95 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Alice C
1 review
“Absolutely amazing”
Reviewed December 28, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

A holiday of a lifetime, The croft house was immaculate and like home from home, We were made very welcome by Anne and we greatly appreciated the welcome tea and cake that had been left out for us on our arrival. Even though we had two back to back storms we enjoyed every minute from sitting by the log fire to reading the local books on the History of the Islands.
The Whole Island is visually breath taking and a place of great beauty.
Callanish Stones are a place of such natural beauty serene and peaceful

Date of stay: December 2016
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigal090
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed November 7, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This is , without doubt , the best appointed holiday house we have ever visited. All fittings, furniture, beds and bedding and kitchen equipment were of the highest quality and complete in every sense....The property itself is in a quiet, secluded position with only the sound of the sea, sheep ,and breeze to lull you to sleep. There is plenty to do and see on the island even in the off season and the scenery , particularly for those from inner cities is spectacular. We cannot recommend this holiday rental too highly.

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The general ambiance
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfontcarl...
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Sweet snug nest”
Reviewed September 10, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Our family was so pleased to arrive at Valasay after a long day of traveling to find a lovely and snug home away from home. The house is well situated and very well appointed with beautiful art lining the walls and a kitchen full of cooking equipment, even a small salad spinner!
There is a wonderful and well posted coastal path to Bosta Beach that begins across the street and the Callenish stone circle is only a 20 minute drive away.
The peat fire was a very cheering reward after a day of exploring and the resident dog is a charmer, well behaved and eager to play!
Because Stornoway and groceries are 40 minutes away, it is best to fill the larder on the way from the ferry so you have plenty to choose from for a few days.
The Co-op is a good grocery and carries some of the local smoked salmon, crab and scallops and there are 2 specialty food shops, Delights is one, that carry special ingredients and cheeses for those who like to cook.
All in all, Valasay was a dear memory in our travel diary and we hope to come back again some day.

Date of stay: September 2016
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirstymac...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, warm house in great location with very helpful hosts”
Reviewed August 9, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Booking and getting directions all went very smoothly. Delicious cake on arrival.
Lots of helpful suggestions for places to visit. The house was very well equipped and very comfortable. Great location with fantastic beaches nearby. We thoroughly enjoyed all the local seafood - and Stornoway black pudding. Some fascinating historical sites. Really enjoyed the tranquillity. Weather could have been better but it didn't stop us getting out and about. Will consider investing in wetsuits as the water is very inviting but pretty baltic

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notter360...
Thun, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful house in a stunning area”
Reviewed July 24, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a wonderful week stay in the Valasay Crofthouse!
The house is very well equipped and specially in the kitchen, wou will find anything you need for cooking.
Anne is a very friendly host and gave us perfect suggestions what to see and find on the Island. The crofthouse is perfect for nature lovers, who are seeking tranquillity and wildlife at its best!

Date of stay: July 2016
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildlife...
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful holiday cottage in amazing location”
Reviewed June 5, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We've just returned from a stay at Valasay croft house and couldn't recommend it highly enough. The location is lovely - peaceful and beautiful. We toured most of Lewis and Harris from the cottage, and although there were some longer drives, it was a lovely peaceful base to return to at the end of the day. Whilst it feels very remote and wonderfully quiet, Stornaway was only about 45 mins away, Callanish is only about 15 mins drive, and even the southernmost part of Harris was less than 2 hrs away.

We were met by Anne (and Riley the dog) on arrival, with tea and some gorgeous cake, and plenty of advice and useful information for our stay. Riley greeted us every morning and evening when we returned - he's a very friendly 'meeter and greeter' for the property, but whilst we always felt advice or help was available if needed, otherwise we were left to enjoy our holiday as we wanted. The costal walk to Bostadh beach is a lovely walk with amazing views, and there is plenty of wildlife in the vicinity (we saw snipe, cuckoo, divers, black guillemots, golden eagles and many other birds nearby). The cottage is very comfortable, clean and cosy. There were lots of books, wi-fi access, a big TV, comfortable beds and a well-equipped kitchen. We were very fortunate with a week of amazing weather, so didn't spend much time inside, but it would have been equally comfortable had it been a wet week. It was an excellent base for our holiday and we would happily return in the future.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and peace and quiet
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williamsC...
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Serenity Now”
Reviewed October 27, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The setting is as beautiful and serene as they come with nary an intrusion from the outside world. The perfect place to get away from it all and unwind from a hectic, everyday life. The owner Anne along with her roving ambassador Riley the dog were on hand to welcome me and give local advice. Fresh cake and flowers waited inside a warm and generously furnished home (heated bathroom floor!). Wonderful views from the living room will have you constantly peering out the windows at the ever-changing skies and scenery. Ideally located to explore the rugged western coast.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful serenity
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing