We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful house in a stunning area”
other travelers have booked this property
Valasay is seen here on the left.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Valasay is seen here on the left.
This is the view from the double bedroom window looking over the Kyles of Valasay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
92 reviews
Valasay is seen here on the left.
This is the view from the double bedroom window looking over the Kyles of Valasay
Valasay showing the tidal sea loch
The house at 25 Valasay
The well equipped kitchen has everything you would expect and perhaps some things you wouldn't
This photo looks up the Kyles of Valasay from the main part of our croft.
There's an amazing sense of calmness at Bosta that I can't quite describe.
On the Bosta walk from Valasay
This aerial shot shows the view
The master bedroom has a king size bed made from solid oak.
The twin room has views of the back garden and croft land
The view from the master bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Great Bernera, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 92 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
notter360...
Thun, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful house in a stunning area”
Reviewed July 24, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a wonderful week stay in the Valasay Crofthouse!
The house is very well equipped and specially in the kitchen, wou will find anything you need for cooking.
Anne is a very friendly host and gave us perfect suggestions what to see and find on the Island. The crofthouse is perfect for nature lovers, who are seeking tranquillity and wildlife at its best!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildlife...
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful holiday cottage in amazing location”
Reviewed June 5, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We've just returned from a stay at Valasay croft house and couldn't recommend it highly enough. The location is lovely - peaceful and beautiful. We toured most of Lewis and Harris from the cottage, and although there were some longer drives, it was a lovely peaceful base to return to at the end of the day. Whilst it feels very remote and wonderfully quiet, Stornaway was only about 45 mins away, Callanish is only about 15 mins drive, and even the southernmost part of Harris was less than 2 hrs away.

We were met by Anne (and Riley the dog) on arrival, with tea and some gorgeous cake, and plenty of advice and useful information for our stay. Riley greeted us every morning and evening when we returned - he's a very friendly 'meeter and greeter' for the property, but whilst we always felt advice or help was available if needed, otherwise we were left to enjoy our holiday as we wanted. The costal walk to Bostadh beach is a lovely walk with amazing views, and there is plenty of wildlife in the vicinity (we saw snipe, cuckoo, divers, black guillemots, golden eagles and many other birds nearby). The cottage is very comfortable, clean and cosy. There were lots of books, wi-fi access, a big TV, comfortable beds and a well-equipped kitchen. We were very fortunate with a week of amazing weather, so didn't spend much time inside, but it would have been equally comfortable had it been a wet week. It was an excellent base for our holiday and we would happily return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and peace and quiet
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William S
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Serenity Now”
Reviewed October 27, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The setting is as beautiful and serene as they come with nary an intrusion from the outside world. The perfect place to get away from it all and unwind from a hectic, everyday life. The owner Anne along with her roving ambassador Riley the dog were on hand to welcome me and give local advice. Fresh cake and flowers waited inside a warm and generously furnished home (heated bathroom floor!). Wonderful views from the living room will have you constantly peering out the windows at the ever-changing skies and scenery. Ideally located to explore the rugged western coast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful serenity
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela M
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Scenery”
Reviewed October 19, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Beautiful scenery, beautiful house with everything we could of needed, travelled with my husband and 18 month old son and once we had toddler-proofed the property we had an excellent stay, my son enjoyed being out in the lovely garden and playing with the owners dog who is just lovely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view - just stunning
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen T
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful holiday cottage in a fantastic location!”
Reviewed August 17, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

If you want to relax and get away from people, traffic & noise, and if you're into walks along the coast, quiet beaches, boating and archaeological sites, then you'll love it here. We've just returned from a one week stay at Valasay Cottage (wish we'd booked for two weeks) and we're so glad we made the effort to get there. The cottage is at the end of a road on the island of Great Bernera and seems very far away from the rest of the world, which we loved. In fact, the major supermarkets are only a 45 minute drive away in Stornoway and there is a local shop selling basic items a mile away from the cottage. Although the weather wasn't great for the week we stayed, we did get a couple of days of sunshine, and even in the rain, we enjoyed the 11km walk directly from the cottage to the beach at Bosta. The Callanish Stones and visitor centre are about a 20 minute drive away and the fabulous beach Traigh Na Beirigh at Cnip, is about a 30 minute drive. There are lots of historical and archaeological sites up and down the west coast of Lewis, and the drive down to Harris takes just over an hour (or a couple of hours to the southern most tip). As for the cottage itself, it is very well equipped and comfortable. It's extremely spacious, bright, clean and well thought out with comfortable sofas, lots of books and games, a huge TV and free wifi. The beds are comfortable, and the views from the cottage are wonderful. The owner, Anne, who lives next door, is very helpful with information about things to do in the area, but other than that, she leaves you alone to get on with your holiday unless needed. Altogether an excellent place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patricia...
gosport
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday stay with added bonus of an adopted pet.”
Reviewed August 9, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Very warm welcome from Anne and lovely cake on arrival. Comfortable cottage with every facility we could need. Superb views from bedroom windows-so much so we did not draw the curtains at all so we could see the view as soon as we woke up. Enjoyed cooking the ultra fresh mussels and scallops we bought at Miavaig and chatting to Anne about island life Playing with the dog was an added bonus..

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GovagYess...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely House in a Stunning Location”
Reviewed August 5, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Valasay Crofthouse provided us with a perfect base from which to explore both Lewis and Harris. We received a very warm welcome on arrival from the owner Anne who gave us many suggestions for places of interest that we could visit. The house itself is a real home from home, it is comfortable and warm, furnished and decorated to a very high standard and the kitchen cupboards even contained some helpful store-cupboard essentials. The house itself is situated in a tranquil but stunning location.
All in all, we both found it a great relaxing place to return to after our long days out exploring the island and could easily have stayed there for a lot longer than a week. A lovely house in a beautiful part of the island!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing