We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely lodgings, friendly informative owners”
other travelers have booked this property
Valasay is seen here on the left.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Valasay is seen here on the left.
This is the view from the double bedroom window looking over the Kyles of Valasay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
85 reviews
Valasay is seen here on the left.
This is the view from the double bedroom window looking over the Kyles of Valasay
Valasay showing the tidal sea loch
The house at 25 Valasay
The well equipped kitchen has everything you would expect and perhaps some things you wouldn't
This photo looks up the Kyles of Valasay from the main part of our croft.
There's an amazing sense of calmness at Bosta that I can't quite describe.
On the Bosta walk from Valasay
This aerial shot shows the view
The master bedroom has a king size bed made from solid oak.
The twin room has views of the back garden and croft land
The view from the master bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Great Bernera, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 85 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Neil F
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely lodgings, friendly informative owners”
Reviewed May 10, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were greeted at the gate by Ann and dog Riley. Ann was lovely, had cake for us on arrival, which was a really nice touch. Ann showed us around and gave us some information to help us have a good time. The lodgings were very nice and well equipped.
When we arrived at Tarbet we had a ride around Harris first. Beaches were amazing at both Harris and Lewis, scenery changes around every corner. We had a lovely time, also very lucky with the weather. We did a lot of miles both on foot and by car, we enjoyed walk to Bosta from the croft (can be boggy in places)

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon H
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable stay in outstanding location”
Reviewed April 13, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Stayed here with wife and two children over the Easter hols.Found the cottage very warm, comfortable and clean. It was appointed to a very good standard. The owner was very helpful and willing to suggest ideas for things to do. Friendly dog (Riley) who loves playing catch with tennis balls !

The location was great with some excellent local walks and beaches to visit. It is also not too far from the likes of Uig, with outstanding scenery, even on a bad day. Local shop offers the basic essentials so no need to continuously go over to Stornoway - shop in Uig offers a greater range (and great cakes in the community centre).

All in all, a great stay...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire H
Isle of Skye
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A beautiful and well equpped place in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed November 6, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed for a few days in October 2014. We were made very welcome by both owners. We were very late coming from the ferry which was delayed by about 9 hours! It was very comfortable and well equipped. The weather was very bad but we had a good few days on Lewis, Their dog was very friendly and amenable too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane C
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“As far West as you can go!”
Reviewed October 1, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had a warm reception from Anne who explained how the house worked and gave us tips on good local walks etc. Owners were then very discrete and we hardly saw them. House was warm, comfortable and adequately equipped. Situation was superb and just as we wanted and as described in adverts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: slightly wonky front gate!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chewits
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A lovely house in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed September 12, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Myself, my wife and our 2 year old son spent 4 nights at Valasay. The house is lovely and had all we needed. The location is stunning. We watched the sun rise in the morning from the kitchen and the sun set in the evening from the living room. There is a river right outside and hills in the distance. The view really is entrancing. Stornoway is 45 minutes away. There's a lovely turquoise water beach 5 - 10 minutes away. Callanish stones are closeby also. There's a small petrol station/food shop in Bernera, which is ideal for when you first arrive after a day's travel.

The owner Anne was very hospitable and showed us round on our arrival. It was clear that she would help us in any way she could. She left us some lovely cake and fresh flowers.

All in all the stay was brilliant. A place to go and switch off from the world but if you miss the town and what it offers it is only 45 minutes away.

I rarely give 5 stars but this place deserves it and I would go again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: None applicable
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howluckya...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“If you are looking for a home from home, along with peace, quite and relaxation, Valasay Croft is a perfect place.”
Reviewed September 8, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Lewis is an ideal place to unwind.
We stayed for a week and although we covered the majority of the island, there is plenty left to do and see when we return. There is much ancient history, wonderful landscapes and bracing walks on fabulous beaches that compare with Australia's finest.
Valasay cottage, is an ideal base, Stornaway being 40 minutes drive away. with two large multi national supermarkets to purchase your provisions.
The owners of the cottage are keen that you have all the information you need to make the most of your stay. The house is clean, very well equipped, cosy and warm. Very nice to be welcomed on our arrival with fresh flowers and an awaiting teatray, complete with cake!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal V
Dilbeek, Belgium
1 review
“Very comfortable house with great views”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Very nice, clean, well equipped and comfortable house with great views on the loch. Very friendly and helpful owner. Good starting point to visit Great Bernera and surroundings (Callanish stones, Bosta Beach, Dalbeg beach, Blackhouse village, Uig Sands, fishing, walks, etc).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing