We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic again”
other travelers have booked this property
Valasay is seen here on the left.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Valasay is seen here on the left.
This is the view from the double bedroom window looking over the Kyles of Valasay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
93 reviews
Valasay is seen here on the left.
This is the view from the double bedroom window looking over the Kyles of Valasay
Valasay showing the tidal sea loch
The house at 25 Valasay
The well equipped kitchen has everything you would expect and perhaps some things you wouldn't
This photo looks up the Kyles of Valasay from the main part of our croft.
There's an amazing sense of calmness at Bosta that I can't quite describe.
On the Bosta walk from Valasay
This aerial shot shows the view
The master bedroom has a king size bed made from solid oak.
The twin room has views of the back garden and croft land
The view from the master bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Great Bernera, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 93 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
kedesh
cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic again”
Reviewed June 19, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Our 7th stay at Valasay and a wonderful time again. We just love the place. Everything you need and wonderful friendly hosts in Anne and Chris. We even got a week (bar 1 day) of sunshine!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just being there again
Liked least: Weather not bad enough to use the 'real fire' !!!
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacie W
Harrison, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, with great views of mountains and sea.”
Reviewed October 21, 2011 for a stay in October 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed our stay here a lot. The set-up was very comfortable for two couples traveling together, with a good-sized and well-equipped kitchen, living room with coal-burning fireplace and comfy couches, two bedrooms, and one full bath. The beds are comfortable, and the cottage was very cozy during a chilly week. The view from the windows is indeed stunning! The location is great for touring around Lewis and Harris, as well as for walking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and location.
Liked least: No real down-side here.
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascobay5...
Portland, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“The Valasay Croft house has it all!”
Reviewed October 19, 2011 for a stay in October 2011

We couldn't have been more pleased with our experience on the Island of Lewis and Harris. Staying at the Valasay Cottage made it all just perfect. Not only is the house the perfect refuge after a day of being "out and about" in this rugged, history filled, and amazing island, but Chris Ryan -- the husband of Anne who charmingly runs the self catering cottage -- is an excellent tour guide in his own right. We spent three full days touring with him and found him an interesting and well informed source on all that is Lewis and Harris.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The well appointed comfort of the cottage.
Liked least: Nothing comes to mind.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar
Reviewed September 10, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Preston
Reviewed September 3, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with young children
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manchester
Reviewed August 18, 2011 for a stay in June 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leicester UK
Reviewed August 18, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with teenagers
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing