We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service - never going back”
Review of The Grainery

The Grainery
Ranked #43 of 70 Restaurants in Watertown
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible service - never going back”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We went to The Grainery for Father's Day. They had a buffet. Our waitress didn't tell us when we got there and ordered that the buffet was ending in 20 minutes. Each person got half a plate of food and the buffet was empty. We then were informed that the buffet was ending in 15 minutes and that they would not refill the buffet. Waitress had us order other food and charged for both the buffet and the other meals. We asked nicely what could be done since we didn't get even one buffets worth of food and were told nothing could be done. We were charged $13 per buffet plus everything else. Horrible service. After being treated like that will never go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Alli29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    18
    11
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“very good service”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had dinner here on the night of our stay in Watertown, South Dakota and found our server to be very attentive, and the food to be hot and filling.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rushmidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clark, SD
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Often a line on Sundays, but turnover is fast”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Fast service, wide selection of sandwiches, dinners, & breakfast is served all day. Generous portions, usually full parking lot. Staff knowledgeable of local attractions.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank GustafClark_SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Delaware
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant and good location”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Just off I-29 and right next to the Holiday Inn Express. The menu selection was impressive and moderately priced. Service was very prompt and good. Recommend the bison burger!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, South Dakota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“meh”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The service was pretty good, but awful forgetful. I had a pulled pork sandwich and it was tasteless if you could find the meat around the big piece of fat that was in there. Lets literally say the sandwich was 8oz, then that would mean that I had 6oz of fat in my sandwich. Why complain? I just wont go back. i have been there several times before and I haven't been impressed any of those times.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grainery also viewed

 
Watertown, SD
 

Been to The Grainery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing