We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super nice place”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Watertown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dakota Sioux Casino & Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Watertown
Albertville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Super nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Loved this hotel. We checked in and asked if they had any suites available to upgrade to and the lady at the front desk said they had one available but we would have to pay the extra. That was fine. The rooms are reasonably priced. Very nice room. It has a separate bedroom which works great for us since my husband gets up before me. Great coffee also.

Room Tip: We have only stayed in the suite on the 5th floor. Very nice and would stay there again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alwaysmaketime2travl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    21
    6
    7
    1
See reviews for
8
18
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

We were in town for a wedding and was excited to find a hotel under $90 a night. Dakota Sioux is about 7 miles outside of "town" in a field all of its own. It is clean, little casino with a great breakfast buffet and a fun atmosphere. We were pleasantly surprised that the hotel did not smell like smoke at all and you could not hear anything from the casino. Our room was on the first floor and we were concerned about smoke and noise but we had absolutely nothing to be concerned about. The casino is fun. Mainly slot machines with a poker room and Blackjack tables in the afternoon/evening.
Because it was our wedding anniversary month, we signed up for the free Player's Club and each got a room rate of $35/night (otherwise it was $45/night), $25 each in free play and $2 off a meal, which meant the $7 breakfast buffet was now $5 - can not beat those free deals!
We only had one problem - the front desk staff does not give off a welcoming vibe. There is no greeting, no "how can we help you," no "is everything going well?"....just blank stares at you until you start talking and then you feel bad that you have interrupted their reading for the day. Every single other employee is extremely friendly and helpful...just the front staff could work on their personality and customer service. They are the only reason I did not give Dakota Sioux 5 stars.
With all that being said, if we are ever in Watertown, SD again, we will most definitely stay here!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tg1915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights. All employees thruout hotel and casino very friendly and service oriented.Had loud,rude neighbors 1st 2 nights but they compensated by moving us on 3 rd night to the only available rm which was a beautiful suite. Received some comps for first time visit and also for my birthday month.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolez512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencer, Iowa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

This hotel is a little out of the way, but the rates are good and the staff is great. I did reserve a non-smoking room but didn't get it. No matter how much the cleaning staff sprays down a room, there is always that residual smoky odor that is offensive. But the room was clean the beds were fantastic. I particularly appreciated the open view of the prairie from the upper most floor. I can't say enough about the staff - talk about accommodating. They get an A+ for smiles and effort! The food was just okay - they kind of like to overcook it, but being the only place in 10 miles it did the trick. The decor was attractive for a casino hotel, and it was easy to find your way around. There was even a kid's game room. If felt very safe and comfortable there. Out of the way, but worth the venture. Be sure to drive north on some of the backroads and see the countryside. Lots of local history and places to see.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor and NON SMOKING
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daveofspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

We were on a road trip driving back to Winnipeg after visiting our daughter who goes to university in OK. A very economical stop! Do not believe the directions of the GPS. Ours took us on a very round about gravel road route. Great stop, friendly staff, clean room. If you can limit yourself in the casino, a great bargain. We happened to be there on a Monday during the NFL season and we got free beer and snacks!!! A prefect one night stop on any road trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brett2216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRANDON SD
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

If the month is you birthday month or anniversary you should check their web site for perks. $35 room, free drinks, free slot play etc.

Pros: Pervious reviewers complained about hard beds. We found the king bed very comfortable, not hard at all. Great staff, very friendly and helpful. Found the slots loose made out fine using their money. Good shower, quiet room.

Cons: Average food. Don't expect great ambiance in the "steak house". If you order red wine their definition of "room temperature" is 80 degrees, not the 55-62 that is correct. Lighting in the room is dim. We experience this with many hotels lately and if traveling much we take along our own bulbs.

Room Tip: This is a 5 story hotel built in 2006. You should not have trouble obtaining the room of your choic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MZHUSKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stay here at least 3-4 times a year on our way to our lake cabin. Be prepared -- this casino is literally out in the middle of farmland, about 4 miles off the interstate. We think it's part of its charm. The road is paved, the exist well-marked and it's an easy drive.

The hotel rooms are clean, comfortable and well cared for. There's no charge to use the in-room safe and the friendly staff accommodates our request for a "quiet room at the end of the hall." This casino often runs specials on their rooms. We paid under $50/night for rooms in May, July and August. They sometimes also given coupons to casino club members, which simply involves signing up.

We enjoy playing the slots, getting a good night's sleep and leaving refreshed. Food is adequate at the cafe and a snack bar. Nothing exceptional but fine. If you leave early in the morning, there's nowhere to get breakfast before 7 a.m. but they offer coffee and juice. We pack a snack and are on our way.

We're regulars and would recommend this hotel to travelers on I-29.

Room Tip: Rooms at the north end o the hall seem quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nebtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Watertown hotels
8.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Watertown
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Watertown
7.8 mi away
Ramkota Hotel & Watertown Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Watertown
8.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#4 of 11 in Watertown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
8.4 mi away
Super 8 Watertown
Super 8 Watertown
#11 of 11 in Watertown
3.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakota Sioux Casino & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakota Sioux Casino & Hotel

Property: Dakota Sioux Casino & Hotel
Address: 16415 Sioux Conifer Road, Watertown, SD 57201
Location: United States > South Dakota > Watertown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Watertown
Number of rooms: 93
Also Known As:
Dakota Sioux Hotel Watertown
Dakota Sioux Casino And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing