We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for the kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Watertown
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Watertown
watertown, sd
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fun for the kids”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We rented this room to take the grand kids to their indoor waterpark. The kids age 9 & 10 had fun on the large slide. The pool isn't very large but the kids still enjoyed it. There is a nice swim area for kids 8 & under, with a slide and waterfalls. The room was nice and clean. Breakfast was well supplied with the usual offerings. Quick check in. 4 wristbands for the pool area were supplied. You don't need one if you aren't going to swim, but can still enter the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katmint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    30
    16
    5
    10
See reviews for
43
11
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were in Watertown for a family funeral. The staff at the Holiday Inn Express were amazing. Very genuine, accomodating, friendly. The rooms were clean and had everything we needed. Thank You for helping to make a stressful situation much less stressful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank codeswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell, South Dakota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We requested our 2 rooms to beside each other since my parents joined us on this trip. When we got there the front desk lady said she put someone inbetween our rooms. With having a 13 month old that goes to bed by 8pm, I wanted our rooms next to each other so I could take the video baby monitor next door to visit with my parents and still watch and listen the monitor. She said we could go up to the second floor and be next to each other and still have a king room and a dble queen room that we reserved. When we opened the door to our non smoking room, the smoke smell rolled out of that room. While checking in I had to initial where it stated that i will be charged a $300 fee i we smoke in our nonsmoking room, that person that stayed in there before us better of paid for it because it was a miserable night for us. My husband is allergic to smoke and my 13 month old and 3 year old have never been around smoke so I didn't know how they would all react. My husband said to get our swim suits on right away and go down to the pool so he can let the front desk know how bad our room smells and that they need to purify the room while we swim. When we got back to our room you could tell they purified the room but when we left to eat supper and came back the room smelt so bad like smoke again so we went swimming again to get out of our room. That night when we all fell asleep, my youngest daughter woke up coughing for 4 hours straight and my husband couldnt breathe well all night. Messing with someone's health is a HUGE no-no, especially something that can kill you, second hand smoke. If it was just me and my husband then fine but when it is my childrens health that is being effected then we have problems. I work very hard to keep my children safe. We asked about switching rooms but there weren't any close ones around my parents room. Now I just have to wait and see what the next step is.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angardem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Watertown, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear angardem,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please accept our sincerest apology for the over-all issues you had during your stay. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. We have sent you a private message to obtain some additional information. Thank you for staying and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Watertown hotels

Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Just stayed one night at this hotel to visit my husband who is working in the Watertown area for a few weeks and had a fantastic time! My older daughters (8&7) loved the waterslide and pool and the area for the younger kids was perfect for my 3 year old. My husband and I were able to relax in the pool area for hours while the kids played. The pool area was also very clean and well taken care of.

The rooms were nice and clean with new carpet, bedding and TVs. Everything in our room was spotless. No fridge or microwave in our room (2 queen) but we didn't end up really needing it so that wasn't a big deal.

The breakfast area is very nice and they had one of the best selections for continental breakfast that we have had in awhile. The pancake machine was a huge hit with the kids!

Overall a very nice, clean hotel and if your kids are younger and love the water like mine, probably the best choice in hotels for the Watertown area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay_K_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stopped here as a half-way point on a trip specifically for the indoor waterpark. My toddler twins are too short for the big waterslide but the kiddie section was perfect for them. And the water was heated which was a plus for Mom and Dad. The only complaint was that I noticed the teenage lifeguard seemed more interested in her iPhone than watching kids on the waterslide.

The hotel was full, but we did not hear noise from above or out in the hall all night, room was spacious, beds were great, bathroom was clean, and the continental breakfast was excellent. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I was expecting too much...we had called ahead to find out if they had a waterslide and yes they did. Well we would only get there a little before ten - would it still pay. She said the pool was open till 11:00. We get there around ten and get ready for the slide only to find it shut off at 10:00 and so we asked about it and she said it would only go back on at 5:00 pm the next day. So we were hooped. This was the only reason we came here. It is a hotel that has been rebranded to a Holiday Inn Express. I am surprised that it qualified. It is has a vinyl siding look and is short on floor and wall insulation (can hear traffic above you and in the hallways), typical of the cheaper hotels. The hostess apologized for the waterslide not going for us but didn't do anything about it. The shower in the morning was cut short because the water was only lukewarm. If your at all fussy about pillows, bring your own if you are staying here, ours were lumpy and worn out. Breakfast was good - biscuits and gravy was something over and beyond what we were used to from other places. General impression of this place would be to make as much profit as possible without much regard for customers. Amenities page in the binder stated "refrigerators in the rooms" which was not in the room we had. You will be happy with this place if you don't expect much.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StakeLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Watertown, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear StakeLover,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. I am glad that the breakfast served during your stay lived up to your expectations. I would also like to apologize for any inconvenience the pool closure caused you and your family. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Watertown, South Dakota Holiday Inn Express! We found the hotel to be very clean and well appointed and considering the number of guests it was very quiet! Furniture was dated but clean and in good shape.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rushmidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Watertown hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Watertown
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Watertown
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#4 of 11 in Watertown
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Ramkota Hotel & Watertown Event Center
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Watertown
Days Inn Watertown
#2 of 11 in Watertown
277 reviews
2.8 mi away
Super 8 Watertown
Super 8 Watertown
#11 of 11 in Watertown
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Watertown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Watertown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Watertown
Address: 3901 9th Ave SE, Watertown, SD 57201-9104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Watertown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Watertown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Watertown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Watertown is home of the Terry Redlin Art Center, Mellette House, and the Bramble Park Zoo.Conveniently located near shopping.Gaming just minutes north of I-29.Watertown municipal golf course just west on hwy 212. Features include 140 ft. water slide with splash pool, sports pool, children's enchanted pool, large whirlpool and arcade. Winter Hours:September 1st thru May 31st Sunday 8 am to 11 am, Monday through Thursday closed, Friday 5 pm to 10 pm, Saturday 8 am to 10 pm. Summer Hours: June 1st thru August 30th Sunday 8 am to 11 am and 5 pm to 10 pm, Monday through Friday 5 pm to 10 pm, Saturday 8 am to 10 pm. Free deluxe breakfast, free local & 800 calls, free high-speed wireless and hardwired Internet access. Well equipped exercise room, meeting room, guest laundry, and business center. Located at exit 177 on I-29. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites offers 66 rooms with 24 suites and an elevator. Visit Watertown, SD and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Watertown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Watertown Hotel Watertown
Holiday Inn Watertown
Watertown Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing