We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Holiday Inn Express I've been to”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Watertown
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Watertown
Reviewed March 29, 2011

I seek out Holiday Inn Express hotels everytime I travel and this one isn't kept up to the excellent standards as expected. While the pool area is large and has a big waterslide the whole area was filthy, as if it hadn't been cleaned in a week to two and hadn't been deeply cleaned in months. The kind of place you want to wear your shoes to. The hot tub was only warm and had a lot of sand in it and the ledge had black mold and generally poor craftsmanship. The room was clean but I found some candy wrappers behind the night stand whild looking for a plug in for the laptop. Small TV (22"?) haven't seen one of them for 10 years. Ironically, Brookings South Dakota has the best HEI I've been to and it's only about 50 miles south of Watertown. Highly recommend that one instead.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thankyouhaveaniceday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 91 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2010

My fiance and I were drving to Fargo and because the roads were bad, we pulled into this hotel, hoping for a vacancy. GREAT service by Sami, the desk lady. She upgraded us because I am a Priority Club member. Although we were only going to be there for 12 hours, we had a very relaxing time. The room was spacious and clean, TV had cable, and the rooms have FREE internet! It amazes me how some hotel chains still charge for that. Ridiculous. Bottom line, if you want a nice, clean, comfortable place with friendly employees, stay here!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suzb_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

The HEI Watertown is conveniently located and one I visit often for work and when with the family (including a 4 year old). The staff is reasonably efficient and the accommodations and public areas are clean and well-maintained. The highlight of the hotel is the pool. There is a shallow pool with a slide that is perfect for small children; we always have fun there.

I also stay here when working in the area. Watertown has a better selection of restaurants and stores than Brookings. The hotels in Brookings are pricier and tend to be full. During the week, the hotel is pretty quiet.

Management might focus on the pool area which is showing some serious signs of wear and tear, including some rusting metal and cracked plastic in the kiddie pool. They also have some less-than-hard-working staff. The Saturday night pool attendant did nothing, even as towels ran out and trash floated in the pool. While there is little they can do about ill-mannered unsupervised children, the breakfast staff sat in the backroom talking as the number of tables not covered with crumbs and spills dwindled.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HojaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2010

OK. Let's be honest: Watertown SD is not exactly a metropolis. But it does have a little downtown area with a few acceptable restaurants. Unfortunately this place is three miles away, though close to the Interstate. It's perfectly alright as a motel type place. But it's quite expensive for what it is, and has few facilities. It is at least friendly and clean. It does have a pool with waterslides. I suppose that would make it a good place to stop off on a road trip with children.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Opera-loverOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2010

We stayed here while we were passing through South Dakota and were very happy to find this hotel!! We got there late so the waterslides were not running but the rest of the pool was great. They have a great kiddy pool and my three year old could play without me worrying or hanging onto him constantly! The lobby and breakfast area was very nice, as well as the rooms. The staff was super nice and helpful!! I would recommend this place to anyone staying in Watertown!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Celiamarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2010

We have stayed in this hotel on many occasions and have always had a very positive experience. We stayed here again on our way home from a week in New York City. Had planned to drive all the way but the weather was bad so decided to stop for the night. The staff were very welcoming, the hotel was clean as usual. The only problem we had was watching a movie, it kept stopping. We did manage to get the whole movie in after a few interruptions and the desk staff removed the charge immediately. We have never had any problems staying here, and in fact when we stayed here in the summer on our motorcycle trip, the staff went above and beyond. They had us park the bike right in front of the front desk window. Later in the evening when my husband went down to get something from the bike, I guess security did not know it was his bike and were there immediately. Would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank camsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2009

This is a very clean and well-maintained hotel with an excellent pool for kids (waterslides, toys, etc.). The continental breakfast is good and the staff are friendly and helpful. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SkilledFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Watertown hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Watertown
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#4 of 11 in Watertown
112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Watertown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Ramkota Hotel & Watertown Event Center
9.1 mi away
Dakota Sioux Casino & Hotel
Dakota Sioux Casino & Hotel
#5 of 11 in Watertown
55 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Watertown
Days Inn Watertown
#3 of 11 in Watertown
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Watertown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Watertown

Address: 3901 9th Ave SE, Watertown, SD 57201-9104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Watertown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Watertown
Price Range: $115 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Watertown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Watertown is home of the Terry Redlin Art Center, Mellette House, and the Bramble Park Zoo.Conveniently located near shopping.Gaming just minutes north of I-29.Watertown municipal golf course just west on hwy 212. Features include 140 ft. water slide with splash pool, sports pool, children's enchanted pool, large whirlpool and arcade. Winter Hours:September 1st thru May 31st Sunday 8 am to 11 am, Monday through Thursday closed, Friday 5 pm to 10 pm, Saturday 8 am to 10 pm. Summer Hours: June 1st thru August 30th Sunday 8 am to 11 am and 5 pm to 10 pm, Monday through Friday 5 pm to 10 pm, Saturday 8 am to 10 pm. Free deluxe breakfast, free local & 800 calls, free high-speed wireless and hardwired Internet access. Well equipped exercise room, meeting room, guest laundry, and business center. Located at exit 177 on I-29. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites offers 66 rooms with 24 suites and an elevator. Visit Watertown, SD and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Watertown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Watertown Hotel Watertown
Holiday Inn Watertown
Watertown Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing