We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Watertown
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Watertown
Certificate of Excellence
edmond,ok
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice, clean hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Nice, quiet hotel. It seems like a better place for the older adults than a young family with kids. The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean. The beds were ok, I felt like I sank a little in the middle of the bed and I am not a heavy person. Overall, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oceangirl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWARNE, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Watertown, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for stating our hotel was clean. The staff does work very hard to maintain & they will appreciate a positive reply.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    44
    21
    3
    3
See reviews for
77
31
7
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watertown, South Dakota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were in town celebrating our 25th Anniversary...we have always been very pleased with this chain. The room was ok...non-smoking, but I am guessing at one time it was a smoking room. You just can never get that smell out. We opened the window and it was tolerable. The breakfast was the most disappointing. For being on the weekend, I was expecting a little more. We have always had some sort of eggs or meat staying at County Inn, but there was not a single one scrambled or boiled. Only had instant oatmeal....not very many choices of bread....the fresh fruit did not look very tasty considering the oranges were the color of lemons and not a single banana. I had to go for the yogurt with frozen fruit. Since I'm not into eating bread/carbs, I guess I like to have a bit of protein in the morning, so that made it disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Stac1155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWARNE, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Watertown, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
I only wish I knew what so so meant. It is our goal to please & if for any reason someone is unhappy, I would be so happy to fix the concerns they have. So sorry for any inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

My Father just passed away and His last trip home was the sadest thing I have ever been thru. We were on our way back home and physically and mentally exhausted. We seen this motel and pulled in. Jim was most kind and soon we were in a beautiful and wonderful room!! And sleeping! The beds were so comfortable and when we checked the Gals at the front dest were so nice! A wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pkl06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWARNE, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Watertown, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
We all are so pleased you found a place of rest. Very sorry to hear of your fathers passing away. Our prayers will be with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Very warm welcome by front desk clerk. She even called our room to make sure everything was good. The smell of freshly baked cookies made us feel like we were at home.....they were on the check-in counter along with coffee! They also had a welcome reception with beer and wine! Clean and comfortable rooms. Nice breakfast with a lot of variety. Great stay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWARNE, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Watertown, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you so very much for your support for our hotel & staff.
I will certainly share with the entire staff.
It is always nice when someone makes our day & you did. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was definitely a good value. It was clean, nicely furnished, and very good service.
Two problems with this stay. First the fresh fruit. It was old and blighted and should have been thrown out. Second, the bed coverings. Fitted sheet, top sheet, and then comforter. There should of been an intermediate blanket, like other hotels I stay at, I woke up hot several times.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank extrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWARNE, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Watertown, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
I am so sorry to hear of your experience with our internet. Please except my personal apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knife River, Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We needed to get out of a terrific spring snowstorm and found a perfect refuge at the Country Inn and Suites. Reasonable price, welcoming staff, and one of the cleanest rooms we've had in a long time. The desk staff called soon after we arrived to make sure everything was in order. This is a great place to hunker down for the night on your way to the Black Hills.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KnifeRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWARNE, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Watertown, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We are so pleased you were safe & enjoyed your stay. I will share this review with the entire staff. You made our day as well.

Thank you for all your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was a very good motel but I could not get an internet connection. I have found this same problem at other Country Inn & Suites which is why I don't frequent them more often. Otherwise the motels are great: the rooms are great, the beds are great, the locations are great, the bathrooms are great...but i need an internet connection.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eugene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWARNE, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Watertown, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We are so very pleased you enjoyed your stay. I do need to apologize for the experience you encountered with the Internet, please except my apologies. I will look into this issue. Thank you again for the great positive feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Watertown hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Watertown
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#4 of 11 in Watertown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Watertown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Ramkota Hotel & Watertown Event Center
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Watertown
Days Inn Watertown
#3 of 11 in Watertown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
2.3 mi away
Super 8 Watertown
Super 8 Watertown
#11 of 11 in Watertown
3.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Watertown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Watertown

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Watertown
Address: 3400 8th Avenue Southeast, Watertown, SD 57201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Watertown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Watertown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Watertown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Watertown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Watertown
Watertown Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing