We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was great - except the breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Watertown
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Watertown
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
“Everything was great - except the breakfast”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for two nights this past week. The lobby, guest room, and bathroom were all clean. Super location. Nice sitting area outside the front lobby. Enjoyed the complimentary beer/wine and chips and salsa. Based just on those things it is great place to stay. Breakfast however was another story. Potatoes were cold and rubbery. Eggs were awful. No 2% milk the second morning and the jug of skim that was on the counter curdled in my coffee. The waffles the first day were good - second morning tasted a bit "off". To top it off I took the time to complete the online survey when I returned home - mentioning all of the above- and got an (auto)reply from Jeri saying they were "thrilled we enjoyed our stay". Obviously no one is reading the surveys - or they just don't care? As a rule we love the Country Inn and Suites so this experience leaves us wondering.

Room Tip: You might want to get a room a little ways down the hall from the elevator - it was quite noisy - so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJ111084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWARNE, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Watertown, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
I am sorry you did not enjoy our breakfast. I truly do hope you return. It is our goal to please all of our guests. Thank you for sharing your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    48
    21
    3
    4
See reviews for
79
32
7
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2012

My work colleagues and I recently stayed here for a work trip, and it was home away from home! The staff is friendly, and the general manager, Jeri, was great to work with in coordinating our room block. I wish we could have stayed longer! The rooms were extremely clean and a double queen standard room had plenty of space. Thank you so much for a welcoming stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany7911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWARNE, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Watertown, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay in Watetown. Please visit again soon.
Take care and travel safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starbuck, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Great place to stay! Spent 3 nights there while working out of town and rooms were very clean and staff was very friendly. Great breakfast in the morning. Going to bring my family there soon for a family vacation in the sponge bob room!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyA689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWARNE, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Watertown, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
I apologize , I did not get back to you sooner. Thank you for the nice comments & we certainly do hope you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Stayed here Sept 2011 on our way to Minnesota, just made reservations to stay again. Got a great online deal by booking early, too. Clean hotel, friendly staff, good breakfast. Just don't ask the older lady at the front desk for a "nice" restaurant, she'll tell you they have a VERY nice Denny's. :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willnotacceptanyname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWARNE, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Watertown, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is always great to hear from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I've been staying at this location for about 12 years. Jeri continues to improve the appearance and comfort. The staff is always friends and welcoming. It might be a year between my stays yet I am recognized each and every time. When you travel like I do.....its nice to feel like you're HOME.

KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharOlli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWARNE, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Watertown, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Your comment was awesome to receive. Thank you. It certainly made our day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

The room I stayed in was a suite, with a Bedroom separated from the living/kitchen by a wall and a door. Most suites I've been in we're basically all one room. This hotel is very convenient to everything, and the rooms are very clean and well maintained. Breakfast is more than a Continental type, and slightly less than a full service restaurant. I would recommend this hotel for your trip to Watertown, SD.

Stayed June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Conniesat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWARNE, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Watertown, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. Thank you for the very nice comments. It is always fun to receive great comments & I will certainly share this with my staff.

Thank you
Jeri Warne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Had a suite for $99. Very large, clean and comfortable. Two flat screen TV's and very large living room with vaulted ceiling. Would for sure come back if traveling on I-29. If you like IHOP it is a hop skip and a jump (no pun intended ).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivafood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWARNE, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Watertown, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you so much for the wonderful comments. You are always welcome here & we all hope you do return.

Jeri

G/M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Watertown hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Watertown
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#4 of 11 in Watertown
108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Watertown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Ramkota Hotel & Watertown Event Center
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Watertown
Days Inn Watertown
#2 of 11 in Watertown
265 reviews
2.3 mi away
Super 8 Watertown
Super 8 Watertown
#11 of 11 in Watertown
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Watertown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Watertown

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Watertown
Address: 3400 8th Ave SE, Watertown, SD 57201-9193
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Watertown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Watertown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Watertown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Watertown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Watertown
Watertown Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing