We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very reasonable budget hotel in a convenient spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Watertown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2011

The hotel seems newer and not as worn as many hotels in this class can get. The staff is very friendly and helpful and this hotel has a strong set of rules that are meant to discourage anti-social behavior that usually leads to a bad experience for travelers. It ensures a good night's sleep. The hotel is owned and managed by a small Midwest based investment company that also owns about a dozen other hotels which are all listed in a booklet in each room. There's also a list of principles and rules in each room that I've never seen at any other hotel. The management is very clearly thankful for the business. The rules are pretty simple... you HAVE to be quiet. If you are there'll be no problems. But this kind of hotel knows they get a lot of social events/sports teams. While it's good business, it's also very loud and sometimes disruptive business to the other guests. The rules say no running in the halls, no loud parties, no gathering in the common space after 10:30 p.m., etc. They will not hesitate to remove loud parties.
All I can say is THANK YOU. Finally a hotel that gets it.
If you want a budget hotel that is not going to allow rude, obnoxious guests then this is a great place.
The rooms themselves are fairly large with a fridge, microwave and coffeemaker in each room. Beds are decent, carpets not worn. The rooms come equipped with an in room safe. The bathroom does not have the sink/vanity in it. The sink is in the room itself which actually frees up space in the bathroom and makes it much larger and easier to get around in. It also allows two people to get ready at the same time and not have to trip over each other in the microsized bathrooms that some budget hotels have.
The shower works well and has good hot water with a strong flow. The amenities are way too small particularly the soap, which is more like a sliver.
The free WiFi works well and the breakfast room was large and well stocked. They had two make it yourself Belgian Waffle Makers which was the main breakfast item.
The hotel also had one unusual feature. While it is a hotel in the truest sense of the word (indoor hallways with rooms that open indoors), there are four larger suites that are more long term stay oriented that open directly outdoors, which is probably actually a welcomed feature for those guests.
The hotel is located right at the I-29 exit so its super convenient for folks traversing either I-29 or U.S. 212.

Room Tip: For long stays ask for one of the rooms that opens directly outdoors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markmywordz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WTNSalesDirector, Director of Sales at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2011

Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay here at the Quality Inn and Suites in Watertown SD! We do take pride in our establishment and am pleased that this came across to you as the guest. We hope you got to your destination safely and will stay with us again whenever you are in the area.

Best Regards,

Sarah Larson
Director of Sales
Quality Inn and Suites, Watertown SD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 112 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2011

The staff was very friendly and efficient. Our room was very clean and well maintained. It was very quiet despite being close to the freeway. If you ask for a room on the back side it is really quiet as it backs up against a farm field. The breakfast was very good--do-it-yourself waffles and, on the day we were there, sausage patties and eggs with cheese (they vary this menu each day) in addition to cereal, pastries, etc., etc. Across the parking lot is a McDonalds and it is close to the Redlin art center and a Walmart. A very good stay at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jspace63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WTNSalesDirector, Director of Sales at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2011

Hello!

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms and delicious hot breakfast! Do keep us in mind when you are back in this area.
Safe Travels!

Sarah Larson
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Our experience at this hotel was so bad that we had to leave after only a couple hours. The room and hallways had an awful smell and the room was dirty. The staff was friendly at first, but refused to issue a refund when we expressed dissatisfaction. We moved to the Hampton Inn across the street which was terrific in every respect and cost only a few dollars more per night with our AAA card.

Stay away from this place. We have been pleased with Choice Hotels in the past, but this one did not meet our expectations.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyTravel1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WTNSalesDirector, Director of Sales at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2011

I am so sorry to hear about your stay. I am not questioning your experience, but this sounds very out of character. Please send me a message of the day you stayed and who you talked to so that I can get to the bottom of this. Thank you for your review and for taking the time to bring this to our attention.

Sarah Larson
Quality Inn and Suites
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

My boyfriend and I took a weekend trip to Watertown,S.D. in July. We stayed at the quality inn and suites, with a wonderful promotion gotten off the Watertown, S.D. website. We had a great price, wonderful room with jacuzzi, and two nites dining at an excellent restaurant. The staff at the hotel were very helpful and we had a wonderful time.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank gkd624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

We stay at this property 20-25 nights a year. As retired members of the Wyoming Lodging & Restaurant Association we always look at a property with experience of having walked in the manager's shoes. The manager Kathy does everything right! A key factor with a hotel is how well it's maintained. Completly renovated in 2009 the rooms are the size of suites with most with refrigerators and microwaves and some with hot tubs. Love the fact that the sink area is outside the bath area. Complete with a recliner. All well maintained as evidenced by having a full time maintenance man, Mike, on staff who has been there 9 years. In fact, most of the employees have been there for years and take pride in their work. Traci has been on the front desk for 11 years, the same time as Kathy the manager. ALL front desk employees have at least two yers of employment at the hotel.The head housekeeper, Skeeter, has been there 4 years and it shows with spotless rooms. The breakfast is outstanding with the standard fare but also plusses of fresh bananas. Always clean and well stocked. To sum up the outstanding staff one can not forget Wilma, the night auditor, who has worked there 9 years and did I forget to say she is 70 years young! The manager also requires her employees to attend annual customer service and safety training and it shows right down to the warm cookies you are greeted with when you register!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarvArdieCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsd016, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2010

Thank you so much for all the nice compliments. Quality Inn & Suites really does strive to be the best in customer service and we are committed to total guest satisfaction. That's why it is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff's efforts, and takes the time as you did to say thank you. We have enjoyed your stays with us and will look forward to your next visit. We recently became a Platnium property with Choice Hotels and it is only because of the entire staff's dedication and their wilingness to give their very best. Thank you again.

Kathy Kuno and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2009

Upon arrival, greeted warmly and with hospitality that anticipated any questions we might have, offered extra pillows etc. should we desire them, and acknowledged that we were in town for a funeral and went the second mile all around. Room had everything in fine order plus a great flat panel HDTV. Good coffee always available in lobby. Complimentary breakfast had a different hot "special" each day of the week, besides Belgian waffles, hardboiled eggs, and all the usual cereals, pastries, etc.plus every conceivable condiment (including fruit and sugar-free syrups and melted butter). Although a Comfort Inn remains a mid-range choice in terms of "luxury" accoutrements, very "i" was dotted and "t" crossed to an extent that even very upscale chains like the Fairmonts don't often achieve. Even flawless, FAST and free wireless. A delightful experience!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrammaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsd016, manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2009

On behalf of our hotel staff, we are delighted to receive your kind words of praise on your recent stay at our Comfort Inn in Watertown.
We accomadate manyguests each evening, and we strive to make your night's stay a satisfying one. The principal goal of the Comfort Inn is to provide dependable service and clean rooms to all our guests at reasonable prices. Again, thank you for your kind words and your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2009

We were looking for a decent place for just one night which is often what the Comfort Inns are. Not sure I'd pick this one again even though the room was fine.

This hotel is located right beside I-29 which was a bit noisy. But there was some kind of mechanical noise outside that shut on and off ALL NIGHT LONG and made us crazy! If we could have kept the window closed it might have been ok but the room's AC/heater was so loud that we turned it off. It was exceedingly stuffy in the room so we cracked the window open. Trouble was, it was about 30 below outside so it was just a long uncomfortable and chilly night.

The room was very clean and the bed was good with nice linens and wonderful pillows. The breakfast was above average for this kind of hotel with waffles,sausages, cereals, fruit, etc.

Friendly staff with the best choc. chip cookies served in the evening. (Too good I'm afraid.) They recommended the Grainery Cafe just down the street for a casual dinner. It was an interesting opportunity to check out the locals but the food was just average.

Had internet connection in the the lobby area which was good as we couldn't get it to work in our room.

I'd recommend this place if it weren't for the noise.

Very welcoming to our two dogs.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbug356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Watertown hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Watertown
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Watertown
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Watertown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Dakota Sioux Casino & Hotel
Dakota Sioux Casino & Hotel
#7 of 11 in Watertown
52 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ramkota Hotel & Watertown Event Center
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Watertown
Days Inn Watertown
#3 of 11 in Watertown
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 800 35th St Circle, Watertown, SD 57201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Watertown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Watertown
Price Range: $94 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Watertown Quality Inn and Suites you'll find great rooms guaranteed with the service you expect! Conveniently located along I-29 & Hwy. 212 in Watertown, SD and overlooking the Terry Redlin Art Center. All 59 rooms have been completely remodeled in 2009 and you won’t be disappointed in what they have to offer. The hotel is equipped with a pool/hot tub, exercise room, expanded continental breakfast with hot items served daily, wireless internet, business center and guest laundry. Each room offers flat screen TV’s, microwaves and refrigerators, iron/boards, hairdryers, coffee makers and in-room safes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Watertown
Watertown Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing