We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This was the best thing about Wall.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Plains Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN Plains Motel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona
Level Contributor
122 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“This was the best thing about Wall.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

Great location, easy walk to Wall Drug, also near the Wounded Knee museum. Nice pool/spa and fitness room. Continental breakfast was better than BWs we've been in. Good doughnuts when we were there. Suggest reservations this place was full and was turning folks away. Room was clean and had a nice recliner in front of the TV which my husband loved. Staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    203
    91
    31
    18
See reviews for
247
200
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trenton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2010

We were very pleased with this motel. The town of Wall is basicly the Wall Drug Store.
The Plains is centrally located, clean. The rooms are nice sized, the beds very comfortable and I loved the 5 pillows. The included breakfast is OK. There were hard boiled eggs, pastries, oatmeal, biscuits and gravy, some fruit, coffee, tea,cereal.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quilter534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
729 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2010

This motel is well located for visiting the Badlands. The facility was very well maintained, and our room had nicely been updated. The room was not large, but I don't expect large rooms in cold climates. The room was clean and quiet with a comfortable bed. Our King was a good choice, because we got a comfortable recliner instead of a second bed.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJandTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTH DAKOTA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2010

Very accomodating service and room was very neat and clean. Swim area was very nice and accomodating for my needs. Excellent stay!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BDCORKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iowa city, iowa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2010

we've been travelling through Wall a lot, but never stayed a night there. and this time we could not make it to Rapid City. usually staying in BestWestern, we found it there. that motel is clean and very nice. everything we asked for, we got: ground floor and quite room, hot breakfast. personnel is friendly and really helpfull, especially lady in the breakfast room. that was such a great stay!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenfromIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2010

We traveled through Wall and stayed with the Best Western Plains, and it was outstanding! The front desk was courtious and pleasant, the rooms were clean, the breakfast was great, and the indoor pool was heavenly! I don't know what some of these other people are talking about. Our stay was great!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simonsgurl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

We stayed here as part of a cross-country vacation, and it was a poor experience that made me glad we weren't there long. The hotel itself was OK (clean, basic rooms, OK breakfast, and an arcade with some old videogames) but there was one big drawback about the hotel itself - if you were on the second floor (as we were), you had to carry your luggage up the stairs. Not good. If there was some accommodation or elevator that woudl've helped us avoid this, none of the staff we encountered seemed to know about it. Moreover, when we checked in, the staff quite abruptly told me I didn't have a reservation, then - wait, you do, or rather you did, but you cancelled it. I said I hadn't and showed her the confirmation and reservation I'd printed out (we had booked literally a dozen or so hotels for this trip, which we'd planned for years and years - I brought documentation of each reservation just in case......this was the only place I needed it). They said 'that's from when you booked it, but you should have another from when you cancelled it.' I again said I hadn't cancelled, and they gave me the stink-eye. I asked how and on what date the cancellation had been made, and the front desk staff became almost combative - they couldn't say when it had been cancelled, and 'guessed' that if I made the reservation online, I had cancelled it the same way. After all this, I said fine, obviously you don't have the reservation, but do you have any open rooms for the same price? They said they had plenty, and gave me one for the same price I had booked one - so why give me such a hard time and be so rude when you can just give me another room and there is no actual problem? An uncharacteristically bad experience at a Best Western (we stayed at two others in the chain on this same trip, and they were fine).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nd826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjhshaw, manager at BEST WESTERN Plains Motel, responded to this review, April 20, 2010
We are sorry you did not recieve the service that you deserve as our customer. We will use your comments wisely and try to improve on customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wall
0.0 mi away
MainStay Suites Rapid City
MainStay Suites Rapid City
#16 of 51 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.3 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
0.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#11 of 11 in Wall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel 6 Wall
Motel 6 Wall
#10 of 11 in Wall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Plains Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plains Motel

Property: BEST WESTERN Plains Motel
Address: 712 Glenn St., PO Box 393, Wall, SD 57790
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Wall
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wall
#4 Family Hotel in Wall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Plains Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plains Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plains Hotel Wall
Best Western Wall
Wall Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing