We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plains Motel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Certificate of Excellence
Mankato, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We spent a night here on the way to the Black Hills and got 3 rooms for our whole family. Clean, comfortable and such a friendly staff! We had our dog along, and she had made a bit of a mess on the sheet we had covering our back seat in the car. I asked at the desk if I could purchase an old sheet from them. The manager came up with an old sheet and said if we didn't mind a couple rips it was ours! no charge. Very considerate and helpful. Recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mutti_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwplains, Manager at Best Western Plains Motel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments. More than happy to get a used sheet for you. I hope ther est of your trip went well and we hope you come see us again.

Thank you

Jackie Heathershaw
manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    225
    101
    32
    19
See reviews for
272
222
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Benicia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Not all Best Western hotels are clean and comfortable. Fortunately, this was one was. A good deal for your money. We liked it the last time we stopped in wall, so we stayed there again. The staff was friendly and helpful. Great stop for a cross country trip.

(When you have two Best Westerns near each other, then one of them could be old and run down. Check the pricing and reviews before you book.)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwplains, Manager at Best Western Plains Motel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
We apprecaite you taking the time to respond to our survey. We hope you had a great vacation and appreciate all comments good and bad. We hope to see you again in the future.

Jackie Heathershaw
manager
Sept 11, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Each chain has an ethos, as does Best Western. For the Best Western chain, this is one of their better properties. Though there are many choices in Wall (fewer in the winter as many close down, as does this one for a few months), most of the properties are older. This one is no exception. However, as motels on the plains go, this one has been kept up to date. It appears that they upgrade and replace on a regular basis.

My room was clean, the air conditioner worked well and did not have the musty smell that many single room air conditioners in this region seem to have, and the bed was comfortable. I was on the second floor. There is no elevator, but I usually take the stairs even when on the 4th floor of a Fairfield Inn.

I have stayed at several motels in Wall through the years. This is one of the best the town has to offer. Friendly staff, indoor and outdoor pool (both are smaller pools - I don't use the pools), I will stay here again.

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong as far as I can tell. All the rooms seem equal in quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hiddenshutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwplains, Manager at Best Western Plains Motel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your great comments and taking the time to write them. We like all comments given and use them to help improve ourself for the next customer. Hope your vacation was great and you come see us again sometime.

Jackie
manager
Sept 11,2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
594 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is probably the nicest hotel in Wall. The parking lot was empty when we got there in the early afternoon and I was surprised, but by the evening it was packed to the gills. The front desk person was nice but not overly friendly or talkative. I'm guessing it's been a long summer with thousands of tourists coming through there.

The breakfast was great, in the adjacent pool room, with all sorts of things that we've all come to expect (eggs, oatmeal, waffles, juices, coffee, cereals, etc.) I didn't use the pool but there were some kids in there enjoying it on this hot day. The room was good with a sink outside of the small bathroom, and I mean small. The main drawback is that if you're standing at the sink you're right there in the middle of the room and it's a bit awkward. I would rather see the sink moved to the wall outside of the bathroom in the corner and then slide the beds over towards the window. The current layout is pretty awkward to be doing your sink duties right there in front of everyone in the middle of the room while they're watching tv.

There isn't a lot to say about this hotel, other than it was clean and quiet. It's not cheap at $100 for a basic two-queen room but it's the best one in town so it's worth it. I usually don't like motels with doors opening to the outside like this, but there isn't much choice in Wall.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottyG777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwplains, Manager at Best Western Plains Motel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. We use all our comments to help better ourselves for customers in the future. We hope you had a great vacation and come back and see us again sometime.

Sincerely,

Jackie Heathershaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Was going to try to drive through, stopped for gas and noted I was getting tired. After looking online I picked this hotel. Staff very helpful, gave me a room on first floor. Bed clean, comfortable when I laid down. Bathroom clean and fridge worked well. Was able to walk to subway and back and felt safe.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kgeorge16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwplains, Manager at Best Western Plains Motel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to comment and hope your vacation was a good one. We use all comments to help better us for the next customer.

Jackie Heathershaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan, usa
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

That is what I call this type of hotel. If that is all you are looking for, then you will be OK. Do not expect much else. This hotel also has two levels, exterior entrances and NO elevator. Not too many places to stay in this area. It is probably at least as good as the other hotels which is not saying much. The rate is high for what you get due to the lack of other accommodations.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ldwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwplains, Manager at Best Western Plains Motel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments. WE use all comments to help better our service to everyone.

Jackie Heathershaw
manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed here twice this last month. First time was on our way out west. Room was on lower level outside. Next to dog walking area. Was a family room. Lay out was convenient, bathroom separated two room. Room was very old and needed updating. Overall, room was fine for overnight stay. Since, first experience was okay, decided to stay on our way home. Completely different experience. Got to room which was to the left of the office. Had to go up dark stair way inside where only three room were located. Inside was extremely old and smelled. Closet in room was used for cleaning staff storage. Floor was dirty, had dirt/food everywhere. was supposed to be a family room, no refrigerator, or television in second bedroom. Very old furniture. We were just looking for a room that was clean to spend the night in. As soon as I went to look at the sheets in bedroom, noticed flies everywhere. On headboard, on floor, even in sheets. Some were flying many were dead. Small dead bugs on mattress as well. Larvae was on box spring. Management came to check and noticed many more dead bugs behind bed. Pulled down sheets, to find yellow stains all over and more flies. Other beds were stained and dirty as well. Room was disgusting. Checked out immediately. Hotel needs to renovate and clean! Would not go back to this hotel. Wall as a city overall is just a pit stop. Not a place to spend much time. Best western did respond promptly to issue. Hope they will take better care in cleaning and put some money into fixing rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smm2518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwplains, Manager at Best Western Plains Motel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Sorry for such and unpleasant expereince. It is not our regular service and we our glad that you were refunded your money plus given an extra $150 dollars for your iconvenience and extra rewards points for you to stay again at Best Western. That is normally not policy but we want all to know we take care of issues.

Thank You
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wall
0.1 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#11 of 11 in Wall
265 reviews
0.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Wall
Travelodge Wall
#9 of 11 in Wall
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Wall
Super 8 Wall
#4 of 11 in Wall
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plains Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plains Motel

Property: Best Western Plains Motel
Address: 712 Glenn St., PO Box 393, Wall, SD 57790
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Wall
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wall
#4 Family Hotel in Wall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plains Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plains Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plains Hotel Wall
Best Western Wall
Wall Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing