We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfortunately Closed in June 2017”

Wounded Knee: The Museum
Ranked #4 of 8 things to do in Wall
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Wounded Knee: The Museum Located at 207 10th Avenue, Wall, South Dakota. Open mid-May through mid-September, seasonal hours, call for current hours
Reviewed August 13, 2017

We stopped by the Wounded Knee Museum, but despite when they predicted it would be open, it still was being remodeled, or constructed, or whatever. It was closed when we visited in June, 2017. It is right off of I-90, and I would have loved to have gone inside, but instead we drove to the Pine Ridge Reservation and visited a visitor center there, that was an excellent visit due to an amazing woman who spent well over an hour chatting with us, and teaching us.

Thank mrliterature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woundedkneemuseum, Public Relations Manager at Wounded Knee: The Museum, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2017

Wounded Knee Museum at Wall,SD will open August 22, 2017, our hours will be
Tuesday thru Sunday 10:00 AM MST - 5:00 PM MST
Closed Monday
Thank you so much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"native americans"
in 13 reviews
"story boards"
in 4 reviews
"downtown wall"
in 4 reviews
"pine ridge"
in 4 reviews
"main street"
in 3 reviews
"south dakota"
in 7 reviews
"admission fee"
in 2 reviews
"massacre"
in 32 reviews
"exhibits"
in 21 reviews
"history"
in 47 reviews
"tragedy"
in 6 reviews
"heartbreaking"
in 4 reviews
"illustrations"
in 2 reviews
"insight"
in 2 reviews
"government"
in 3 reviews
"badlands"
in 5 reviews
"interstate"
in 2 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 134 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2017

We were in Wall for a couple of days, but this museum seemed to be closed the entire time, which was disappointing as I was looking forward to learning more about the Native American culture.

Thank Robin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2017 via mobile

The address listed for this museum isn't accurate. We attempted to go their but the building housed something else.

Thank Teresa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woundedkneemuseum, Public Relations Manager at Wounded Knee: The Museum, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2017

The Museum is in the final stages of rebuilding and expansion. We plan to reopen late August 2017. For the latest recorded information, you may call us at 605-279-2573. We apologize for any inconvenience and thank you for your patience and understanding. We appreciate your support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2017

After being in the area several times, visiting forts and learning about the Native Americans I was very much looking forward to this museum. I can't believe their website doesn't indicate that they're still closed. BIG disappointment after driving over from Rapid City with a friend.

Thank twilbur2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2016 via mobile

After reading "Bury Me at Wounded Knee" in preparation for recent trip, looked forward to this museum. Maybe next time. Driving to the actual Wounded Knee site was an emotional and cathartic experience -- especially on a rainy day.

1  Thank johnrK5476KR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wounded Knee: The Museum also viewed

 

Been to Wounded Knee: The Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing