We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bigger than you may think”

Wounded Knee: The Museum
Ranked #3 of 7 things to do in Wall
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Wounded Knee Museum will be closed for the 2016 season. Due to reopen May 2017. After the fire in September 2012, The Wounded Knee Museum exhibits were reconstructed and displayed at a temporary location, but will be returning to their original location in Wall, South Dakota with an expected opening date of May 2017. We will be expanding our displays and exhibits. The Wounded Knee Museum opened in 2003 to share the events leading to the massacre at Wounded Knee in 1890. We appreciate your continued support, understanding and prayers during this transition of rebuilding. We look forward to seeing you in 2017!
Cottage Grove
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bigger than you may think”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This museum in Wall, SD has an outstanding collection about the famous Wounded Knee
Massacre. It gives you a good understanding of what happened and the repercussions
that followed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardHCottageGrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    45
    9
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ravenna, Italia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The new location is just across the Wall Drug.
The museum is quite small, but very informative.
The staff is friendly and interested in your experience.
Worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stefano1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Level Contributor
474 reviews
171 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Incredibly moving”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The first time we went to the museum, on a Thursday, it was closed, but we went back the next day and found it open, with no one inside other than the guy in the gift shop who sold us tickets. If you're looking for a museum full of artifacts, you won't like this one, as it has none. What it does have, however, is a moving video and well-done panels of information on the massacre. Like so much of the White Man's treatment of Native Americans, the museum deals with an event that's indefensible. It's hard to say that we liked this museum, but we did think it has a powerful impact. I suspect that the only visitors will be people who already know that Native Americans got the shaft from the invaders of their country. You won't find the museum a lot of fun, but it is something everyone should see.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank psychprofessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very interesting.”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I found this museum to be very informative. There is a short film narrated by Native Americans and then the displays go into greater detail about what really happened at Wounded Knee. All in all, a very interesting place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Norm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Friendly”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

One of my goals of this trip was to introduce my kids to Native American history. The museum, recently moved after a fire at their old building, was sparse as far as artifacts (many were lost), but the attendants wanted to make sure we missed nothing. Admission was free.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dtmguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wounded Knee: The Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing